We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic location and great place to stay while walking the GR10”
Review of Hotel du Lion d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Lion d'Or
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cauterets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2017

This Logis hotel was such a great place to stay on our GR10 walk. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was so comfortable and spotlessly clean. It was so warm and cosy after a long day walking in the cold rain from Lakes Estaing over the Col d'Ilheou (2242m). We would definitely recommend this place to anyone, not just hikers.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jans0438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Lion d'Or
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2017

We picked this hotel to stay in because of it's high ratings on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. A real treat. I have stayed in many hotels but I have never encountered such a lovely friendly family as the one that runs this hotel. Tomas on reception spoke perfect English and couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. He advised us on walking in the area and was so informative. The breakfasts were delicious with real coffee, real freshly squeezed orange juice , and delicious pastries and croissants. We ate in on one of our three nights in Cauterets and the food was wonderful and there are all sorts of quirky mountain related items dotted around the public areas and restaurant . There is a lovely terrace with plants, water feature and amazing tortoises where you can have a nightcap. The room was comfortable and large with a delightful ambiance and we had a perfect stay. Free WiFi was the icing on the cake . Can't fault this place for such friendliness and an overall highly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

Our family group of 7 LOVED this charming hotel full of antiques, exposed stone walls, and the best hotel breakfast ever! We had 3 rooms. Wifi worked well. Staff were very nice and helpful. The little courtyard was full of flowers, tables and...turtles (!) our 12 year old daughter enjoyed playing with them. Breakfast was exceptional with homemade yogurts, breads and jams. Fresh bakery croissants, pain au chocolat, and espresso machine. Fresh squeezed sweet orange juice- deli meat and cheeses- it was yummmm. Games available in the quaint den with fireplace. I'm so glad we stayed in Cauterets- so close to the waterfalls and Pont D'espagne. Plus the little village is so cute with shops and quaint corners. We ate at Cafe Ski Bar twice- delicious regional specialties, games to play- decorated like a swiss ski chalet. Highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jennyv1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel full of character and charm. The hosts went out of their way to be helpful and friendly; the breakfasts were fantastic and included proper coffee and a range of homemade cakes. The room was toasty, comfortable and spacious with plenty of room for our ski gear. Can't recommend highly enough and we'll definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

2017 will mark the 4th year of staying at the Lion D'or and a 6th year of visiting the area for skiing. The Lion D'or is a perfect hotel, in a superb location. The rooms are spotlessly clean, housekeeping everyday keeps the room in pristine condition throughout your stay. Rooms have excellent bathrooms with plenty of hot water and excellent water pressure, Nespresso coffee machine, TV etc. The hotel is charming and rustic. This family owned establishment seeks to ensure a comfortable stay and is frequented by many return guests year on year. Breakfast is superb, with home made cakes and preserves, hot chocolate, coffee, boiled eggs, freshly squeezed orange juice. We take the half board option as we like the comfort of coming back from the mountain, having a drink in the the town and then heading to the hotel to change and have an apperitif at the hotel bar, which is well stocked with some interesting local appero options. Dinner is excellent, with generous portions, the menu is displayed on the blackboard each day as you come down to breakfast letting you know what awaits you on your return from the mountain. Pont D'Espagne is a very beautiful location for cross country skiing, with mountain skiing accessed via the cable car to the mountain slopes. Literally nothing at the hotel is too much trouble. A real homely atmosphere, in traditional surroundings with some beautiful antiques and artifacts throughout the hotel. The added benefit is that this hotel is located across the street from the lovely town spa.

Room Tip: If you select a superior room you will have more space.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christmascake2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cauterets hotels
0.1 km away
Le Bois Joli
Le Bois Joli
#5 of 8 in Cauterets
81 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Residence Le Lys
Hotel Residence Le Lys
#3 of 8 in Cauterets
93 reviews
0.3 km away
Asterides Sacca Hotel
Asterides Sacca Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cauterets
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Les Edelweiss
Hotel Les Edelweiss
#4 of 8 in Cauterets
97 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel & Residence Balneo Aladin
0.4 km away
Hotel Le Pas de l'Ours
Hotel Le Pas de l'Ours
#6 of 8 in Cauterets
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lion d'Or

Address: 12 rue Richelieu, 65110 Cauterets, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Cauterets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cauterets
Price Range: $135 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lion d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel with plenty of character, built in 19th century. The Lasserre family has been receiving guests for 4 generations and look forward to welcoming you. The carefully chosen decor adds a sense of romance to the atmosphere. The hotel has been completely refurbished and, although it has all modern comforts, its traditional charm and warmth have been preserved. Nearby: hiking/skiing in the Parc National des Pyrénées, Lourdes , Gavarnie, col du Tourmalet... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Lion D'Or Cauterets, France - Midi-Pyrenees

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing