We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beethoven’s 9th”

La Cote Saint Jacques
Reserve with
La Cote Saint Jacques is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Joigny
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our enchanting hotel in Burgundy awaits you in Joigny, just 90 minutes from Paris. In a setting that is both decidedly modern and indelibly marked by refinement, the Cote Saint Jacques, our luxury, 5-star hotel, opens the doors of its Relais & Chateaux establishment to you . We invite you to the stay of your dreams, under the sign of absolute relaxation, during which our team will be at your beck and call. Fitted out with 22 rooms and suites, the Cote Saint Jacques hotel offers top line services, such as a magnificent 6 x 12 m indoor pool overlooking a garden, a luxurious spa, a winter lounge with a fireplace, a summer lounge with a terrace, and a boat for rides on the Yonne. Join us, and take time to live and be pampered by the tranquillity and beauty of the grounds. Enjoy all the services of our enchanting, luxuriously equipped hotel, along with our gastronomic restaurant, directed by the masterful hand of Jean-Michel Lorain and his team.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I usually try to specify what I have eaten in restaurants but to do this for this place would be wrong as the whole experience was divine like the 9th...
It was a well orchestrated from start to end playing magic on our taste buds, our eyes, our smell etc.
I recommend to take the fixed menue with the wine pairing as this completes the full experience, I am not sure any dinner will be the same again after tonight

Thank Amnon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csj89, Responsable relations clients at La Cote Saint Jacques, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Amnon F,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your fantastic review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us.
As you wrote it, at the Côte Saint-Jacques, we make a point of honour of pairing wines and dishes in the pure French tradition of sublim Jean-Michel Lorain dishes.
For a unique and more intimate experience, for your next dinner at our Côte Saint-Jacques, we suggest you to book the chef's private dining room, which will offer you privileged views of the kitchen and the incessant ballet of the brigade around the ovens. The best way of awakening all your senses.
Sincerely,
Jean-Michel Lorain and his Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017

We wanted to visit this restaurant since September this year (2017) and we finally ended up going in December. It was a disappointment. First of all, it is in the middle of nowhere, we drove 2 hours from Paris (where we live) to get there.

Since we arrived at 7:00PM and the restaurant opens at 7:30PM, we were kindly invited to sit in the hotel lunge area and had a cocktail and an 'amuse bouche'. Then, the waiter asked us, @7:45PM if we wanted to be escorted to pour table: we gladly said yes, and got up... by the time we did, he was gone, and we would up sitting there for a good 10 minutes before anyone came to ask us what we want. For a Michelin restaurant with pretentions, this is unacceptable in terms of service.

The restaurant is at -1 on the hotel's floor plan: while descending with the elevator, my wife remarked it reminded her of going down to the OR when she had her last surgical operation.

The dishes are well prepared, at least for the main course, but very off balance: basically, you get a chuck of mean with no side (garniture), for some 76 EUR. They could at least have thrown in a third leaf of spinach to the two they forgot on the plate. If you also go for the starters, please take out another 88 EUR for two small scallops (per person). The gentleman next to our table had to put his glasses on to find them on his plate... don't get me wrong, I do not mind paying for quality but this is ridiculous.

For desert, the 3D chocolate that my wife had looked like a nightmare from a spacial geometry class, and was so sweet she could not eat it. My desert, the 'millefeuille' was way too sweet and wound up giving me acid burn, so I wound up taking a pill to try and bet able to digest when I got home. And by the way, the breadcrumbs that were on the desert plate brought pompously to my table by the waiter, and then wiped off in hurry by the waiter...

This place would have potential, if they had any sense of getting the portions and proportions right, but they have no idea. Honestly, go to Le Pret Catalan in Paris or Le Oiseau Blanc, you will pay less, have a hugely better meal, and won't have to drive 4 hours to the middle of nowhere and back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csj89, Propriétaire at La Cote Saint Jacques, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Paul C,
I have read your deplorable comment. I find that your comparison between a dinner that you feel missed and a rape is particularly insulting, both for us, but especially for women who have had to endure this crime of extreme violence.

For your information, Joigny is not in the middle of nowhere, it is a charming small provincial town located ideally on the banks of the Yonne and if you had consulted your GPS it would have indicated to you that it is necessary about an hour and a half to come from Paris!

Your appreciation of your dinner belongs to you, for my part, I think it's your comment that is indigestible and disgusting!
Jean-Michel Lorain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We had a large, comfortable for 2, spaciously isolated. Service was impeccable. The menu had one entry, 2 dishes , cheese and dessert. All perfectly cooked and presented. I highly recommend the mouth watering gellee d'oyster appetizer, the caviar ile flottante, the foie gras poele, the rose desert. also excellent cheese plateau with the superb regalis (perhaps better than roquefort). Wine service was expert and quite responsive (changed a wine we did not like much, even though there was nothing wrong with wine). We were treated to a visit to the kitchen with chef Jean-Michel Lorain. Excellent service with Fabien.

A memorable evening in an establishment clearly aiming to please its clients.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csj89, Responsable relations clients at La Cote Saint Jacques, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Bernard L,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your fantastic review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with Fabien and us.

We hope that we might have the pleasure of your return though, so that we are able to ensure you have such a memorable and enjoyable experience.
All the best
Jean-Michel Lorain & his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Great staff, good ambiance, excellent wine selection and very delicious food. Definitely worth the hundreds of euros you will be spending per person.

Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csj89, Responsable relations clients at La Cote Saint Jacques, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Ralph G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your fantastic review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us.

We hope that we might have the pleasure of your return though, so that we are able to ensure you have such a memorable and enjoyable experience again.
All the best
Jean-Michel Lorain & his Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We have eaten in hundreds of "top end" restaurants around the world. We found the food here disappointing with unusual tastes and flavours which spoiled the dishes. The signature Oyster terrine was unusual; very pretty to look at but, at the end of the day was just oysters. The Zander - a delicate river fish - had too much sauce and "bready" elements in both sauce and as additions. The snail dish was very nice although presentation could have been more refined. The flavours in the lamb were wrong and overpowering. We expected "a dessert" and ended up, effectively, with three.... too much sugar although they were very beautiful to look at and not bad to eat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csj89, Responsable relations clients at La Cote Saint Jacques, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear AJCG,
Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to leave your review. We’re pleased to read that you made a stop in Joigny to have a meal with us.
We are sorry that the dishes you ate were not completly to your liking. However, dishes of our restaurant menu vary according to seasonal produce, Come to discover the new flavors soon.
Best Regards,
Jean-Michel Lorain and his Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cote Saint Jacques also viewed

 

Been to La Cote Saint Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing