We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEAUTIFUL LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Pointe du Grouin
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Cancale
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL LOCATION”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed four nights in this hotel. The location is perfect and the views all around the hotel are stunning. One can see Mont St Michel across the bay. The food at the restaurant is top quality and the overall athmosphere of the dining room very homely. The only possible drawback of some rooms ( ours certainly ), is the size of the bathroom and the early traffic to the point. Other than that the place is great and recommendable.

Room Tip: search for a decent size bathroom !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andresonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    72
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
26
118
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

This is my first time leaving comments on such a web site... and I do it because I do not want other people to have another bad experience with that hotel.
For the money paid (84EUR for a double room + 8.50EUR/pers. for the breakfast), I remained very unsatisfied: I could not sleep well because of a very poor mattress (it had probably been used for over 15-20 years; the worse experience I have had for several years) and the breakfast was very limited... I had to ask for more bread and for a fruit... they reluctantly gave me a small banana and a yogurt... I wanted some milk... I never saw the waitress again, so I had to do without.
Add to this critique the fact that:
1. They advertise on the web site a Wi-Fi access (http://www.hotelpointedugrouin.com/frMer.php); well, the receptionist told me that Wi-Fi was not installed and had never been... seems like misleading advertising, doesn't it?
2. The room and bathroom were very small; the bathroom was so badly conceived that after taking your shower, you almost fell onto the water-closet and did not have enough space and hangers to hang your towels.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

This was a last minute reservation so did not do much investigation prior to booking, other than TripAdvisor reviews (which is why I am writing). This was a great spot for enjoying the views of the sea and getting distance from the villages of Concale and St. Malo. The hostess was extremely friendly and helpful. She also spoke English beautifully -- a nice treat! We stayed in a mid-size room -- I think all have views of the sea. We did not eat in the restaurant (are appetites did not arrive until after they were done serving, about 9pm) but it smelled fantastic and it was full of what appeared to be local people. Good sign!
For exercise enthusiasts, it is located along a wonderful coastal trail. We woke in the morning and went for an exhilarating jog along coast -- great way to start the day.
If you are looking for lots of nightlife, don't go here to find it. If you want a beautiful & quaint location on the sea, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timeisprecious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

A nice hotel on a beautiful spot allmost surrounded by sea. Entrance with lots of shining bras, deep blue carpets. We had a perfect room with lits of purple and pink, deep red thick carpet going on in the batroom and the toilet. We chosse this hotel for it's location, from the room you can see the Mont Saint Michel which must be about 35 kilometres away, and it wasn't even a very clear day. Offcourse we will not forget teh walk around Point-du-Groin. There is a good beach "Port Mer" which is a 10 minute walk from this hotel. The breakfast was real French (basic) and served in the back of the big restaurant, it would have been nicer to sit by the windows and have breakfast with a spectacular view.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The breakfast in the back of the empty restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeroenStruyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancale hotels
4.2 km away
La Mere Champlain Hotel Restaurant
4.3 km away
Le Querrien
Le Querrien
#4 of 13 in Cancale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
4.2 km away
Le Cancalais
Le Cancalais
#9 of 13 in Cancale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hotel Nuit et Jour
Hotel Nuit et Jour
#3 of 13 in Cancale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.5 km away
Manoir des Douets Fleuris
3.5 km away
Brit Hotel Cancale - L'Alghotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Pointe du Grouin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Pointe du Grouin

Property: Hotel Restaurant Pointe du Grouin
Address: Pointe du Grouin, 35260 Cancale, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Cancale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Cancale
Price range (per night): $141 - $202
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Pointe du Grouin 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Pointe du Grouin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pointe Du Grouin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing