We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Surpassed expectations in every way!!”
Beautiful historic home brought to life, ensuite bedrooms, private pool, WIFI, parking, UK TV.......
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful historic home brought to life, ensuite bedrooms, private pool, WIFI, parking, UK TV.......
Sarlat holiday home -view from the pool towards the house & outside dining area with gas BBQ & shade Main house - King double, dual aspect windows, ensuite shower room, ceiling fan, heating, wood floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Beautiful historic home brought to life, ensuite bedrooms, private pool, WIFI, parking, UK TV.......
Sarlat holiday home -view from the pool towards the house & outside dining area with gas BBQ & shade
Main house - King double, dual aspect windows, ensuite shower room, ceiling fan, heating, wood floor
10x4m South facing heated salt water pool with Roman End - no added chlorine & better for your s
Beautiful south facing house located in a tranquil setting on the edge of Sarlat & Beynac.
Full size chef designed kitchen, granite worktops, stone floor, range cooker, full size dishwasher..
Ensuite shower room for the twin bedroom with expose chimney breast & oak beams.
Sarlat holiday home - wonderful space and views. South facing terrace with parasols if required.
Apartment kitchen looking through to living room
Comfortable living area with exposed stone walls, oak beams, oak flooring, log burner, British TV
Ensuite shower room for the twin/superking room with a walk in shower, toilet & sink.
House King bedroom with comfortable 5ft memory foam pocket spring mattress & ensuite shower room
Quality fully fitted solid wood kitchen, granite tops, dishwasher, waste disposal, range cooker.....
Apartment kitchen
Apartment ensuite shower room
Apartment ensuite shower room
Ensuite shower room
Swimming pool with shallow & deep ends, south facing stone terracing, 6 sun loungers & paras
Beautiful Beynac, Sarlat, La Roque Gageac, Castelnaud & Domme are all within a 3-10 minute drive
The Dordogne river - a day spent canoe past the Chateaux is a must or take a leisurely boat trip.
Magnificent Beynac
Our nearby secret river swimming & picnic spot, virtually empty even in July & August!
Sarlat holiday home - comfortable accommodation for your friends & family in a spacious 16thC home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
dnanicetr...
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Surpassed expectations in every way!!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were fortunate to stay in this fabulous property for 11 days and we are still trying to come to terms with our departure!!

We are an extended family - my husband and I with our 8month old baby girl, my 23 year old step son, his girlfriend and my mother and father. This property ticked all the boxes for each and every one of us!! It is simply stunning.

It has been lovingly restored to an extremely high standard. My father is a master builder and excels in property renovation and was so impressed with our fairytale holiday home. The house feels like it is in the middle of nowhere, yet is only 5 mins from the beautiful medieval town of Sarlat. A perfect combination! My mornings with coffee and croissants enjoying the view and silence will be forever memorable.

What stuck us was how perfect the property is for families who also enjoy their own space. It is big enough yet you can still enjoy each other's company. Perfect!!

If, like I do, you are trawling trip advisor and holiday websites looking at accommodation - stop now! Book this one - you will not regret it. I promise!!

We rarely return to the same place twice but look forward to staying in another of Hamish and Xanthe's properties.

Couple of specifics:
Kitchen is extremely well stocked - you will miss nothing!
Unbelievably comfortable pillows and mattresses - top quality.
Pool is tranquil, perfect family size with lovely temperature.
Hamish and Xanthe are lovely people, very knowledgable and will help make your holiday extra special without being intrusive.
Damage deposit returned immediately.

Thank you for a wonderful first family holiday with our darling daughter. You have left a lasting memory in all of our minds!!!

If anyone has any questions, feel free to msg me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrkao
Killearn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location with friendly and attentive hosts”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We rented this house with some friends (4 adults, 4 children) and had a wonderful stay. In easy distance of Sarlat, but we a completely rural feel. We were blessed with stunningly good weather (low to mid-20's) and were in the pool every day (a bit brisk but in the sunshine it didn't matter). The kids also loved the animals (chickens, the cat, Jack and Truffle the Jack Russell terriers, and the stray racing pigeon who hung around for much of our visit). Xanthe and Hamish were excellent and amiable hosts, offering farm-fresh eggs and plenty of good tips about the local amenities. The house itself was comfortable and atmospheric - we were the first guests to use the new downstairs apartment (finished only minutes before our arrival) and it was finished to an excellent standard. We would be glad to go back ...

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmgrills
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing home in authentic French countryside”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed in this house for a week in November and had the most authentic French experience! This area has amazing scenery and every morning when I looked out our window I felt like I was living in a dream! The house is in immaculate condition and the country landscape is so peaceful. The booking process for this property was incredibly easy and Xanthe was super fast at responding to emails and answering any of my questions regarding the property as well as information on the area. The rental rate is great value for $. It works out to approximately 32 euros pppn.There is a beautiful open concept living/dining area and a huge newly renovated kitchen. We spent many nights cooking our own dinners and drinking cheap wine with the wood fire burning in the background!! This is the first time we rented a vacation rental online and we were relieved to find the house look exactly like the photos. I was very appreciate that Xanthe and Hamish were available to answer any questions we had during our stay. They left us a great list of markets to visit throughout the week as well as guide books and restaurant recommendations in the area. This was all so useful to make our visit more enjoyable. The week stay went by too fast and we did not want to leave. I hope someday we can return to this area and if we do I will be sure to stay with Hamish and Xanthe again!! I would recommend this rental to anyone looking for a relaxing French country getaway, but its still close enough to many towns for restaurants and shopping. This area made me fall in love with France. You are lucky if you have the pleasure to stay in this beautiful home to enjoy your vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the scenery and authentic stone house with modern amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLisa...
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fairytale maison with all modern conveniences!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This gorgeous 16th century house just outside Sarlat was a delightful place to stay! We were 3 adults traveling throughout France, and we all agreed this was our favorite place of all. The exterior and tranquil meadow setting looks straight out of a fairytale, but the interior is most certainly designed for the 21st Century lifestyle. The place is HUGE, with a gorgeous gourmet kitchen fitted with a professional chef gas range, dishwasher, granite counter-tops and large refrigerator/freezer. There is also a very well-stocked spice cabinet that we enjoyed rummaging through. :) We certainly enjoyed making dinners here after a full day of sight-seeing. There is a large living room with plenty of comfortable seating and a cozy wood-burning fireplace that the owner and his son were kind enough to light for us one chilly evening. They also had a large selection English TV stations--very considerate for we English-language travelers! And the bedrooms were the most comfortable ones in Europe that we stayed in, each with ultra-modern bath and shower ensuites. The beds were VERY comfy too.

This is definitely a fantastic place to stay, and you should consider it if you have a large group (3 or more), if you're trying to save some cash by eating at home (while enjoying charming 16th Century ambience), or if you want a place with easy and quick access to Sarlat itself and the surrounding attractions.

Our hosts were great. Quick to respond to queries, they keep a beautiful house and were very friendly. The booking process was efficient and simple. Our stay at La Buguette was much too brief and we hope to someday return for a longer stay, perhaps in the summertime next so we can have wine outside and enjoy the beautiful country view and pool!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 16th Century character with modern conveniences
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4kings121...
Terrigal, Australia
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“...beautifully equipped country home, friendly and helpful hosts...”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We recently stayed at Xanthe and Hamish's newly renovated rental home just a few minutes outside the gorgeous old town of Sarlat in the Dordogne region of France. I had made an earlier enquiry to rent another vacation home belonging to them, which was unfortunately already booked. Xanthe kept in touch with me offering various other suggestions which was very kind of her, and then offered this newly finished home to us which had just become available. We all adored staying here. The home was beautifully finished without being precious, which is a relief when staying with 4 young children ! My kids were very excited to have English speaking TV channels available, and availed themselves of the books and games provided as well. The booking process was seamless and responses to emails were quick and informative. We would have no hesitation in recommending this property to others, and thank Xanthe and Hamish again for making us all feel so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, amenities
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing