We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in heart of medieval Sarlat”
Review of La Lanterne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Lanterne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed only one night in La Lanterne in the Tapestry Room. La Lantern is a beautiful medieval building, a stone's throw away from the main square, and we were able to experience the Wednesday market. Despite being in the heart of the town there is no noise from the bustle of the town. The thickness of this medieval building precludes this happening. We received a warm welcome from Roy and Terri and we were given a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrieandTeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 423 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

My wife and I chose La Lanterne as the spot to spend half of our honeymoon in France. What an excellent choice! We were not treated as guests by Roy and Terri, rather they welcomed us into their home like family. By the end of the trip, we felt so at home that it was hard for my wife and I to leave. I remember having to wipe the tears from her eyes because she was so sad to leave this cozy little place behind. Roy and Terri went far and beyond what they needed to do for us as hosts...they recommended places for us to eat, shared in looking at our wedding pictures for the first time, talked to us, got to know us, etc. What a delight it was to stay here. When we return to France, this is a must go to place for us again. We wouldn't miss it! It is also located in a beautiful little alley right up a hill.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Sarlat is beautiful, the foie gras is to die for, and all of this only enhanced by the warm hospitality of La Lanterne! Terry Bowen treats one like family from the beginning to the end. Don't pass up the opportunity to enjoy breakfast in her dining room!

Contrary to what some of the travel guides say, however, Sarlat is not the central hub to start your excursion to other parts of the Dordogne unless you rent a car. Public transportation is lacking.

Room Tip: Pay the small extra charge for a courtyard room, as it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillion7, Owner at La Lanterne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay at La Lanterne.

You raise an interesting point about the lack of public transport in the Dordogne and it is for this reason that we advise our guests that the best way to enjoy the Dordogne is to rent a car. However there are a couple of specialised companies who recognise the shortcomings of public transport in the area and offer a programme of interesting day and half day trips, which ensures those guests without a vehicle can get a flavour of this wonderful area.

We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and are pleased that you enjoyed La Lanterne and the beautiful town of Sarlat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We recently spent three wonderful nights at this fabulous B&B and were treated like family by Roy and Terri. Their welcoming spirit, beautiful house and exceptionally hospitable attitude was so appreciated by us weary travellers! We found the town to be exceptional, but it was also greatly enhanced by our experience at La Lanterne. I cannot recommend this highly enough and we passed along our recommendation to every other traveller we met on the rest of our journey. You cannot go wrong at this B&B!!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms! You can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I don't speak a word of French but that was no obstacle. Terri and Roy Bowen gave great suggestions for places to visit and places to dine. Everyone should come to Sarlat and enjoy this special place and La Lanterne is definitely the place to stay. Within the old city, it is wonderfully located. Terri is truly a outstanding hostess with beautiful breakfasts and refreshing afternoon wine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 km away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
572 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
666 reviews
0.2 km away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
378 reviews
0.9 km away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
952 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Lanterne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Lanterne

Address: 9 bis Rue Montaigne, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: $104 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Lanterne, the most centrally located B&B in Medieval Sarlat, offers comfort and a warm welcome. Four well appointed en-suite bedrooms, tastefully decorated reflecting the history of this beautiful home dating from 1503. A peaceful oasis with its flower-filled Courtyard and beamed Guest Lounge. Complimentary toiletries, welcome drinks, free WiFi, In-room Tea/Coffee. Literally in the heart of the town's historic centre, La Lanterne could not be better situated to discover and enjoy the wonders and delights of Medieval Sarlat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Lanterne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing