We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A REAL GEM of an HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais de Moussidiere
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A REAL GEM of an HOTEL”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

What a wonderful place, hidden down a small track!
Very "Olde Worlde" in its charming appearance but very modern in its outlook. The hotel contains many interesting items of decoration (old but small machinery, for one example) dotted about in corners. The ambience was superb, the food was excellent and the staff friendly, smiling and helpful. We stayed for four nights with a party of 37 others and I did not hear one single complaint; nay, the reverse was true, everyone to whom I spoke had fallen in love with the whole experience. The restaurant staff could not have been more helpful. The extensive grounds would make for excellent strolling that unfortunately we could not enjoy because of wet weather. We could not extend any blame here to the hotel! There is an excellent outdoor swimming pool with surroundings for lazing in the sun; but again we could not sample. Our last morning was met by an electricity failure but that did not phaze the staff who battled on. The whole experience will be remembered fondly for years to come and YES, WE WOULD GO BACK AGAIN. We understood that the "Star Rating" was 3 Superior but we would give the hotel at least 4 stars if not 5. Having read some negative or poor reviews of this establishment makes us consider that things have been changed.

Room Tip: We sampled only one room but it was excellent with plenty of hangers, drawers, safe, super bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidlandsBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    67
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
23
104
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby. East Midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We found this to be a really cute hotel, albeit with slightly eccentric decor in some of the rooms. But that just made it feel quirky and characterful to us.
We were there 4nights and were served a 5 course dinner every evening (incl appetiser and cheese course) and it was some of the best food we had on our trip to France (we also visited Albi and Carcassonne).
I'm quite surprised at the negative reviews - all of the staff we encountered were delightful and couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.
We enjoyed it very much and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DivaDawnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

After reading a number of reviews I was concerned that we had been booked to stay as part of a walking group.

After spending seven days at RDM I can't understand the negative reviews and can only assume that the property has had some changes in personnel or issues with service consistency.

The property itself is quite exquisite and beautifully located just outside Sarlat. The room was comfortable, aircon worked and during our stay we were able to sleep with the window opening. Some may not like the decor, but I thought it was well in keeping with the region.

The staff were pleasant and attentive and dealt with all our queries couteously.

The hotel only caters for breakfast which is standard French style. Other catering is undertaken by a catering company which during our stay delivered 4 course dinners to the highest restaurant standards.

The facilities including pool, bar and wifi are all accessible and in the case of wifi, is provided free of charge.

The only slight negative is that it is not located in beautiful Sarlat, but given the extensive free parking on site and the location near a supermarket it well and truly compensates for the 15 minute walk. Parking in Sarlat is restricted and quite expensive.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HobartResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Me and my husband arrived to this hotel in june 2010 for 6 days.I asked for an extra sheet and a reading lamp that was missing. after a short time we found out that the a.c does not function. it was than 38 c.I came to the reception,
in a very polite way to ask for help with the a.c.what I got was, insulting attitude in the most ugly way.I was told not to ask any thing more and in a simply way -to get lost.
i don't recommend coming to this hotel .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hana_amit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed here for a few days looking forward to the charm of a mansion in the woods, a bit secluded from the madness of Dordogne. What we got was a mixed bag. Nice pool but a dilapidated mad-hatter building desperately in need of some investment. And disrespectful owners. I think you can do much, much better in the area.

Pro's:
1. Location: The Relais de Moussidiere is in a secluded depression off of one of the main roads into Sarlat, making it a great jumping off point for all of your adventures in the area (there is LOTS to do). Less than 3 minutes away, there is even a Casino supermarket when you just need to buy a ball for the kids to play in the pool...

The grounds that the Relais are located in are apparently vast, but we did not explore - it was impossibly hot and humid when we were there.

2. Pool: We were delighted by the pool, which was very pleasant owing to the deadly heat and humidity. An absolute joy for kids and adults alike. There was even some pool service (drinks).

3. Breakfast: Some of the best croissants ever. And the other items in this cold breakfast are top drawer - superb.

4. Owners: The owners generally mean well. They will give you good directions and ideas, although their dining suggestion, Cricketamu's was a flop owing to it being overwhelmed with patrons (the food was great though, just took over 2 hours!). More on the owners in "Con's" below.

Con's:
1. The Building: Others have commented on it, both liking it and not. We did not. While the decor is "eclectic" to be kind, some of the finishings are completely worn, stained, or just ugly. Coconut/hemp "rope" wallpaper, completely stained carpets from the Flashdance 80's era, bathrooms that are from the 70's (in a bad way) that look like they were put together by amateurs. Musty smells, mould in the shower. Horrible!!

Bed was OK though.

The worst has to be our experience with the aircon. Some rooms have aircon - ours did. But because of the faulty installation, the condensed water leaked onto the already dilapidated carpet. Which smelled. The worst was yet to come! As I was in a rush I neglected to tell the front desk. Do you think the cleaning staff reported it (they had to walk through puddles on the carpet!) - no. So when I got back, there was a bigger mess. A plumber was called right away, but the solution was to just put a bucket in place. After enduring this drip-drip-drip torture all night, I asked to be moved the next day. This was done (by me, moving my own luggage), to a non-air conditioned room (ughh, thank god a storm brought some cooler air). I can perhaps forgive most of the above (with difficulty), but the worst was being told that "I" was the cause of this by the female owner, because "I" am an American (I'm not) and this would not have happened if "I" were French (but I am) because French people don't like aircon (but I do). And never mind that this leakage had occurred many times before (from the stains we noticed when we first got there, and as admitted by the owner). INEXCUSABLE BEHAVIOUR.

2. The Owners: See Con's 1.

3. WiFi: Although there is apparently free wifi in the rooms, one of the rooms we were in could not get reception - probably interference from the musty air and leaking aircon!

Conclusion:
This place "has-been". Yes Faye Dunaway stayed here 500 years ago - so what? It's outdated, the owners lack proper manners and there are tons of options in the area. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Canucdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
2.2 km away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
524 reviews
1.6 km away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
281 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
382 reviews
6.9 km away
Hotel La Villa Romaine
Hotel La Villa Romaine
#2 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
204 reviews
1.5 km away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais de Moussidiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais de Moussidiere

Property: Relais de Moussidiere
Address: route de Moussidiere, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price range (per night): $203 - $265
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais de Moussidiere 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais de Moussidiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing