We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding, the best we have stayed in in France!”
A view of the pool with steps for access
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view of the pool with steps for access
A part of the closed courtyard A view of the traditional steep stone roof
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
A view of the pool with steps for access
A part of the closed courtyard
A view of the traditional steep stone roof
In the pool !
The private pool and a part of the sun-bathing area
The first double bedroom
The second double bedroom
The twin bedroom
A part of the large stone living/dining room with traditional fireplace
In the living/dining room
The kitchen with all the amenities
Another view of the kitchen
The covered terrace next to the stone barbecue area
The large sun-bathing and pool area
The technical room for the pool
A view of the surrounding countryside
The stone barbecue area
Around the pool area
The pool area
In the closed courtyard
A part of the covered terrace with Bonzini table football
The Sunday market with many local merchants (Food, ...)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Traveller...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding, the best we have stayed in in France!”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a wonderful house, full of character yet with every modern convenience. Delightful owners who can't do enough for you but are unobtrusive. Very good pool, cleaned everyday and delightful grounds. already considering our next trip.Surrounded by many restaurants all serving Foie Gras and various forms of duck. One very small negative, departure time is 09.00 would be more appealing to be moved to 10.00 especially as you cannot arrive before 5pm!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: French pillows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent property in great location and would highly recommend to other families”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in the property during the last week of July 2015. The property was truly amazing and lives up to all expectations in the photo's. The owners parents live opposite the property and a spoke a little English and were very friendly and helpful. The location is off the beaten track in a lovely small hamlet but is very peaceful and with its own pool it is a great place to relax. The beautiful towns of Montignac and Sarlat are close by with plenty of cobble streets to walk around, shops to browse and places to eat.

We would highly recommend canoeing on the Dordoigne from Loisirs Canoes located at Vitre-Port. The 16km trip from Vitre-Port to Benyac is very easy canoeing and passes some great countryside and picture postcard towns. Allow 5 -6 hours and take a packed lunch and you will not be disappointed.

We were a family of two adults and three children and whilst we have never been back to the same place on holiday on the basis that there are always new places to see, this gite could definitely change our view !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all great
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the week !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenks96
Leeds
1 review
“Beautiful Gite in Stunning Countryside”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here for a week in June 2015. 4 adults and 2 children under 4.

The accommodation, outside courtyard areas and pool area were fantastic and exceeded our expectations from the photos online.

We were treated to very sunny and hot weather and the pool was perfect to cool off in each day - it had wide steps in at the end which also meant the children could paddle without going in fully.

The bedrooms were all large and although no air con the shutters meant the house was always cool and a place to retreat from the heat!

The owners parents lived just across the road and were on hand for any queries or problems we had, although they speak little English we managed to communicate well. The owner was also very accommodating in letting us check in early and check out late to flex around our flight times.

Overall a fab property and we would highly recommend to families. The prices are also extremely reasonable for this size of property in this area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara L
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A wonderful Accomodation in Perigord Noir”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Le Vieilles Pierres
Les Vieille Pierres is a heritage property, located in the Périgord Noir Region with easy access to most tourist attractions in the region. The house has been beautifully restored with all the modern conveniences; gas cook top, dishwasher, washing machine, WiFi, Canal+, etc. The house is very spacious and beautifully decorated and although we were only two, it can easily accommodate six people. This would be a wonderful family vacation spot with its pool, enclosed courtyard and the very large property. Another reviewer mentioned that there was no WiFi but there is definitely WiFi which I used extensively. We felt very well cared for during our stay as every day the pool was cleaned and periodically enquiries were made as to our comfort and any requirements we might have. Requests were promptly addressed. We have recommended this property to family and friends and we will definitely stay here on our next visit to Perigord Noir.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of the accomodation
Liked least: There was nothing that I didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine A
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolute Bliss!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The photo's on the website did not do this beautiful gite justice! As soon as you come through the gates into the enormous courtyard it felt completely private. The house and grounds were immaculate and the private pool was cleaned daily and kept in great condition. There was a covered eating area with lighting where we spent most of our evenings and a wonderful stone built BBQ which we used almost every night. The house was well supplied and had everything needed for a comfortable stay. The owners parents, who live just across the road were incredibly friendly and helpful (although they speak very little english, we seemed to communicate most things I think!!) I would totally recommend this gite to anybody. Although I did not have my children with me there were lots of games and things to do for families and children of all ages. It was central to all the attractions in the area and the nearest town St Genies is only a five minute drive and is a gorgeous quaint little french town which has a Market on Sunday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside areas and pool
Liked least: The shower was off a single bedroom which seemed a bit strange
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing