We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location, so much character”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Grenier

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
15 century townhouse, Le Grenier (The Loft) is up at the top.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
15 century townhouse, Le Grenier (The Loft) is up at the top.
Breakfast over the roof tops of Sarlat
Walk out onto the square
Lounge area
Looking down from the mezzanine
Cosy bedroom under the eaves
Lounge area with window looking over the roofs of Sarlat
Relax after the sights
Warm cosy evenings
Cosy romantic evenings
Breakfast before sight seeing
Kitchen equipped for all your needs
Stairs to the Mezzanine
Relax and plan your day on the mezzanine
Bath and shower to relax after your day
soak in oak beamed bathroom
Romantic evening views through the window
The 15th century stone spiral staircase
The alley where Le Grenier entrance is located
Walking out of the apartment into the square
Ariel view of Sarlat showing where the apt Le Grenier is located ( Red Dot)
View from the window
Sarlat at night on your doorstep
take a picnic and enjoy the sights from the river
Superb chateaux
Browse in Sarlat market
Wander the fabulous Gardens
Fairytale Chateaux
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Andy B
1 review
“Perfect Location, so much character”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Le Grenier is a fantastic location in the centre of Sarlat. Down the stairs and you're pretty much on the main square in the historic centre. That being said it's nice and quiet in the apartment.

The apartment itself has so much character with the old oak beams, the mezzanine floor etc. It is also well equipped with washer, dishwasher, hob etc. The stairs are a little difficult on the way up if you bring a couple of large cases like we did but Barry is very helpful and if you have weekend cases it would be a breeze.

Paula and Barry are extremely helpful. We brought a hire car so they met us at the train station and showed us where to park for free, gave us advice on tourist sites, bought us in some groceries before our arrival due to our late arrival time and are easily contactable if you need anything.

I would recommend Le Grenier to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review and we are so glad that you had a good time at Le Grenier and Sarlat. The stairs can feel daunting on your arrival with luggage but that is why we are there to help. Really glad that you enjoyed being in the centre of Sarlat and stepping out onto the cobbles on Market day is a real experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amberwill...
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Wow! Slap bang in the very centre of beautiful Sarlat, the apartment is wonderful and we felt like locals with just having to tumble in and out of bed and onto the main square every day. Le Grenier has plenty of space for two and all the facilities you would need. We stayed for 7 nights and were so sad to leave. Thanks to Barry and Paula who welcomed us on arrival and helped carry our cases up the stairs. Yes, those stairs! But don't be put off by a little exercise as it made us feel not so guilty eating all those wonderful meals in town especially at Le Bistrot (50 meters away) and L'Addresse. Enjoy!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy that you had a great time in Sarlat and enjoyed the restaurants... I hope you will return one day to sample more of the superb area....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed this beautiful region.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pearl-Joh...
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magical, you must stay here!”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We spent 5 wonderful nights in Le Grenier in Sarlat. We arrived after a five hour drive from Paris burnt from the road and short on sleep to be greeted by our wonderful hosts Paula and Barry. They directed us to a free parking lot close to the apartment, helped with the luggage and provided a very welcome bottle of wine. The apartment is magical, I kid you not. Set in a medieval building you have a birds eye view of the old town. The bedroom is curtained boudoir. Don't miss the outdoor market held on Saturday and Wednesday. Try the walnut tarts, they are to die for. If you like to sit out in the evening and enjoy a beverage, try Jimmy's Bar just across the square. Friendly waitstaff and a great place to watch the world go by. Again, Paula and Barry, thanks for everything.
PS: the Wifi was great.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad that you had a great time and enjoyed the superb Sarlat market, and of course watching the world pass by from the cafes... I hope you had a good trip down south and maybe we will meet again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessa K
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“My favourite place to stay in Sarlat”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Located in one of the medieval rooftops directly on the village square this place can't be beaten for location, value and charm. With the lovely stone walls, fully equipped kitchen, views across rooftops, gorgeous sunny aspect, large open plan layout and an additional mezzanine level to relax in... sometimes I found it hard to leave. However with the markets luring me to the ground level twice a week and so many laneways to explore and wander I managed to satisfy all of my needs. A few other fantastic features that make this more of a home than a stopover is the wifi, satellite TV, huge comfy bed, large bathroom, washing machine and a welcome bottle of wine waiting for me on arrival. The hosts need a mention as they are simply wonderful and always offering to help to make the visit the very best it can be. I consider them friends and they are a fabulous example of old school hospitality and humble good will - just great and good people. This is my second visit of 3 months in the winter and it will most definitely not be my last. I just love the place and consider it my home away from home. This little Australian will be rushing back as soon as she can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy that le Grenier has helped you feel at home and relaxed and that you have not only enjoyed staying and living in a part of history but also embraced the Sarlat /Dordogne way of life with shopping in the markets , walking, photography, painting,exploring the history of the region and not forgetting the restaurants and cooking the local fayre in le Grenier. We look forward to seeing you back not only as a guest but as a friend
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing