We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Castell'Verde(Santa Giulia)
USD 269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shegara(Porto-Vecchio)
USD 294
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Roc e Fiori Hotel(Porto-Vecchio)
USD 445
USD 410
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Giulia Palace(Porto-Vecchio)
USD 624
USD 571
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Costa Salina(Porto-Vecchio)
USD 335
USD 308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Private Hotel(Porto-Vecchio)
USD 330
USD 298
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel le Goeland(Porto-Vecchio)
USD 396
USD 384
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Belvedere(Porto-Vecchio)
USD 431
USD 418
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 1,299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
54
35
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
35
8
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

We booked two standard rooms for our family (5 people and dog). Location of the hotel is not very good compared to their costs. Location to the beach is more 900 meters up a steep slope. To the beach we were forced to travel by car. Breakfast is very poor. Fruit for breakfast was served often tainted. Cleaning was not very diligent. Territory of hotel consists of a building and the area around the pool. Dog in the pool area were not allowed. There is no restaurant. Staff speaks English. Parking is free. I think that next time we are in this hotel we will not stop. There are a lot of mosquitoes. Beach of Santa Giulia is beautiful!!!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

Visited this place in june. The place and garden looked really beautiful. Staff is friedly and service minded. Rooms are clean and simple decorated. I really recomment this place for a weekend get away!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Luc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALIVI20137, Directeur général at Hotel Alivi di Santa Giulia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2015

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to share your valuable experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay, liked our beautiful garden, rooms and appreciated the friendliness of the team. It is with pleasure that we read that the cleanliness of the rooms was at your convenience. We are working hard to ensure the best quality of service. We will share your positive comments with our team and we look forward to welcome you back to the hotel Alivi****. La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

This Hotel does not deserve to be called such as it is more like a better B&B. And the 4 stars, have probably fallen from the sky. To be clear, we spent before already 5 nights in real 4 Star hotel and it was exceedingly good in all aspects. So much greater was our disappointment when we arrived at the Alivi.
More to the point: we stayed 9 nights here and this Alivi hotel was a full disappointment and far too costly for what it offers - even at off season rates. Yet let us start with the positives:

1. Marvellous view from the garden on Santa Giulia Beach
2. A very friendly and helpful assistant receptionist, who unfortunately was not empowered and not always there.
3. Rooms are generally clean
4. Unfortunately that's it!

And now the rest:

1. The pool was dirty at arrival and remained so throughout our stay. The helpless attempt to clean it with a pool-robot, was almost ridiculous as it had to remove the flora which obviously grew throughout the whole winter judging from its opulence. Maybe it is different in high season but this we cannot judge and during our stay it was just disgusting.
2. The pool was not heated which to us defeats the object as an alternative to the sea which was wonderful yet a little cool due to the early season.
3. Reception is available from 7am to 7pm only. This is a no-go for 4 stars. Beyond this hour there is absolutely nobody around and you have to call an emergency number which seams somewhat over the top to call for, when you would like to simply have some hot water for a tea. Unfortunately everything you can access after these hours is the pool area and your room and there is nothing but a standard minibar in your room. So even if you would want to stay longer at the pool and were in need for a towel... Bad luck!
4. The breakfast is a story in itself and is miles below standard. The juices are not fresh, and for a glass of fresh orange (which grow galore on the island) juice you pay 5 Euros on top (per glass) - Bread is served in slices which are mostly already dry. There is no alternative to white bread. The Croissants are in a basket, but during the first days they were counted (one per person) and mind you, they are the small, two bites to eat ones, if you want more it takes 15 min before they are ready. Fruits are only offered as a whole, hence, if you would like to enrich your choice of 2 cereals with chopped fruit, you need to start a real peeling and cutting work and leave a lot wasted - unless you go for one fruit a day. However, unless you ask for it, the choice is limited to apples, grapefruit and oranges (2 a piece)- if you want something else it may be offered to you for the next day, but only if you are lucky to talk to the assistant receptionist. We asked for melon and got it next day as a whole fruit. We asked to cut it for us as this was indeed beyond our ability with the barely cutting knifes you get. We had to ask on two days until they realised that also the other guests were eager to have some. Don't ask for a cappuccino... What you will get is indescribable. For the tea you get water far from boiling hot which makes brewing a decent tea impossible. The people who serve breakfast (actually one only for the first 3 nights) are the same who prepare your omlette, therefore if someone has ordered something, the next guest will have to wait until the eggs are done before she or he can order the coffee. Unacceptable for a 4 star category and even less so for 18 Euro per person per day for the breakfast!
5. The room has very poor lighting - although the closet, toilet and entrance are well lit, the main room has no ceiling light and the bed lights are utterly insufficient. Better do your business during daylight.
6. TV has only a few French channels - we didn't really need it but it was another detail we noticed.
7. Eating something in the garden is forbidden and we got reproached very harshly although the hotel has no restaurant on which you could rely. We were sent to our room for doing our little snack and as we asked for a plate we were put off with a straight NO. Never experienced such behaviour in a Hotel, even less so in a 4 Star. We had better and more flexible treatment in B&Bs.
8. The well praised WiFi connectivity on the official website is a myth. If you are lucky you get some connection in the early morning and then it comes and goes and many times it does not even find the network. If you want to use 2 devices... just forget it! The only place it works more regularly is the reception, but that closes at 7 PM.
9. For the first 5 nights there were no lights at the pool area although many of the rooms open towards the pool at mere 2 meters from the edge. If you have little children, be careful!
10. Beach is at 10-15 min walking distance and if you want to walk with some beach or diving equipment, you probably cannot avoid using the car as the road is very steep and parking places near the beach are not many. We were off season and already had trouble finding a slot.
11. The hotel was difficult to find as the road is not in the car Navigation system and the Hotel does not provide any useful indication on the website. Furthermore, the Hotel sits in the middle of a holiday residential area, which gives you more the feeling of a camping holiday and several terraces and gardens adjoining overlook the pool area. If you are looking for a retreat, go somewhere else.
13. The room cleaners are the same ladies who serve breakfast and prepare your omelette in the kitchen and wear the same clothes for both activities.
14. Rooms are cleaned daily but many times not very accurately; we had once towels replaced with dirty towels, used glasses not replaced, the room door left open once after cleaning (we only noticed in the afternoon as we came back from the beach – fortunately no losses), new face-towels were deposited on the dirty soap plate, sheets were replaced but the new ones had stains all over.

All in all, this was far off any 4 star experience we have ever made anywhere else in the world. For us it was overall disappointing and definitely not worth the price - we cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Massimo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALIVI20137, Directeur général at Hotel Alivi di Santa Giulia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015
Google Translation

Chère Cliente,
Nous avons lu avec attention votre commentaire extrêmement détaillé auquel nous allons répondre point par point. Cependant, à moins que vous n’en fassiez partie ? Nous réfutons le fait que vous vous substituiez à une inspectrice hôtelière.
1&2. Effectivement à cette période de l’année, la multitude de pollens balayée par les vents a altéré pendant quelques jours la qualité de notre eau, ceux-ci restant en surface ni le robot (mis tous les jours dans la piscine conformément aux règles d’hygiène et de contrôle) ni l’épuisette nous ont permis de retirer ces pollens et faire face à ce phénomène naturel. D’autres clients présents se sont baignés sans problème. Effectivement notre piscine n’est pas chauffée, notre eau était à 23° lors de votre séjour en ce début de saison.
3 La personne de la réception est présente de 8h30 à 20heures en ce début de saison.
4 Concernant le petit-déjeuner, nous avons choisi pour celui-ci afin de faire connaître les produits de notre île, des produits identitaires. Nos jus de fruits sont biologiques et sont faits en Corse (le prix n’est pas en supplément puisque nos chambres sont petit déjeuner inclus) nous n’avons jamais refusé une orange pressée (pour information il n’y a plus d’oranges en Corse à cette saison, sinon que des oranges d’autre provenance). Dans la corbeille de fruits, il y avait au choix, des pommes, des pomelos, des kiwis, des bananes, un ananas et enfin des melons que nous coupons à la demande pour en préserver la fraicheur. Les pains (gris ou blanc) sont cuits au feu de bois et faits à partir de farine biologique. Les viennoiseries sont de chez Lenôtre réputation qui n’est plus à faire et nous préférons mettre des mini-viennoiseries (croissants, pain au chocolat, pain au raisin). A votre demande et selon vos souhaits, nous avons acheté spécialement pour vous des yaourts au soja, des tomates cerises…
Nos chambres étant en petit déjeuner inclus, notre petit déjeuner n’est pas à 18 euros.
5. Nous avons choisi pour les chambres une décoration et une lumière intimiste sachant que les gens viennent généralement en corse pour se détendre.
6. Nous n’avons jamais mentionné avoir une multitude de chaines internationales ?
7. Comment tolérer que des clients puissent prendre nos jardins et terrasses pour une aire pique-nique ? Et avoir l’outrecuidance de nous demander assiettes couteaux fourchettes en nous montrant un bruccio frais ? (auparavant entreposé dans notre minibar vidé par vos soins pour y mettre votre nourriture). Au vu de vos connaissances si précises de l’hôtellerie, n’êtes-vous pas sans savoir qu’un hôtel 4 étoiles n’est pas une résidence hôtelière et que les minibars sont réservés aux boissons de l’hôtel. Notre restaurant gastronomique se situe à 800 mètres les pieds dans l’eau.
8. Nous avons testé notre wifi qui fonctionne à toute heure du jour et de la nuit.
9. Nous avons effectivement subi un petit déréglage des lumières autour de notre piscine auquel nous avons pallié rapidement.
10. Comme notre site l’indique, nous sommes à 800m de la plage, 5 minutes pour descendre et 10 pour remonter. La plage de Santa Giulia n’ayant plus sa réputation à faire, dès les premiers beaux jours le parking est pris d’assaut. Nous avons anticipé et offrons à nos clients un parking gratuit et sécurisé réservé à notre établissement.
11. Nous vous avons fait parvenir quelques jours avant votre arrivée, un plan d’accès accompagné d’indications très détaillées pour rejoindre notre établissement qui se situe effectivement dans une copropriété privée, et celui-ci au cœur d’un parc de 02 hectares de végétation. C’est sans doute ce sentiment de nature qui vous a donné envie de pique-niquer dans nos jardins.. ?
12 ?
13. Le personnel de service a effectivement un informe qui sied aux femmes de chambres comme à la responsable du service petit déjeuner.
14. Lorsque vous étiez installés sur les transats de la piscine, vous aviez laissé la porte de la chambre ouverte, et la femme de chambre l’a fermée à clef et n’a fait que son travail. Serviettes : notre petit mot concernant l’écologie dit à nos clients de déposer dans la baignoire les serviettes qu’ils souhaitent remplacer.
Nos 4 étoiles nous ont été attribuées après un dossier dûment rempli et deux inspections faites par des personnes hautement compétentes. Cependant, fort de notre expérience de 30 ans d’hôtellerie de qualité, nous nous efforçons à chaque instant de répondre aux moindres désidératas de nos clients. La direction et l’équipe de réception se fait un devoir de faire un travail de conciergerie considérable (voir autres commentaires de notre clientèle).
Pour vous, nous avons passé de nombreux appels, afin de vous trouver un berger de notre connaissance qui puisse vous accueillir pour vous faire découvrir son activité. Nous avons répondus à vos exigences au petit déjeuner, vous étant trompés sur la date de votre départ, vous nous avez demandé d’annuler la dernière nuit, ceci ne faisant pas partie de nos conditions d’annulation, et après consultation avec booking.com (votre réservation faite par ce site), nous avons convenu d’une façon exceptionnelle de vous faire cadeau de cette dernière nuit. Nous vous trouvons madame, bien peu reconnaissante pour l’équipe qui n’a eu de cesse de tout mettre en œuvre vous donner entière satisfaction. La direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2014

This hotel is in a fantastic location, close to the best beaches in the area: Palombaggia and Santa Giulia. It is supposed to be in walking distance to the latter, but it is a very steep way back! In any case, you will need a car to make the most of this charming region. This location is also quite handy for the best sights in the south of Corsica and just a few minutes by car from Porto Vecchio.

The hotel itself is very well kept. Well appointed rooms and bathrooms, all with very lovely views (whether on the sea or on the “maquis”). The common areas, including the pool, are also very nice. The only downside is the hot water in the rooms, it does not seem to be continuous but coming from a boiler, which means that you might run out of it after a while.

Breakfast is rather simple but of good quality.

Service in general is great, and people are very friendly.

I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebaysole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALIVI20137, Gérant at Hotel Alivi di Santa Giulia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2015
Google Translation

nous vous remercions pour votre avis et attendons avec plaisir votre prochaine visite ,bien cordialement , la direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2014

Our room was large, tastefully decorated and clean. The bed was very hard and the pillows were nasty cheap foam ones. The 'sea view' was more of a sea glimpse. We weren't given a code to enter the residential area that the hotel is located in so had to wait till a passer-by came to our aid, there is no working wifi - despite the rather gruff receptionist promising it was working until it was proved to her not to be, the same applied to the access key to the parking. All in all it's a lovely BnB if priced at 150€ a night but at 285€ it's a horrendous rip-off.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews