We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
56
18
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
18
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clean rooms evian water delicious food nice view surrounding hills velke sheets swimming summer wellness nature pools english
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We've enjoyed 4-night wellness model that included a massage, cosmetics and rasul, plus unlimited entry to all the facilities of Lanterna and Horal hotels. The kitchen is able to provide gourmet experience, and it shows in the quality of the "ordinary" food as well. Very friendly staff. Definitely a holiday idea to consider!

Room Tip: The rooms to the south have a nice view, but may get a bit hot in summer.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CZERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

i have stayed at both hotel lanterna&horal on several occasions. for that region, you simply can't find any better. they have been slowly expanding and upgrading their services and offerings. the staff is polite, generally helpful, and there is plenty to do in the surrounding area, if you love nature. the facilities are modern, the atmosphere relaxing and there is something for almost everybody. if i can offer up only a few downsides, the walls were a bit thin and the staff didnt fully explain to me how the chip-bracelet/billing (for wellness) system worked, and where is the breakfast. as with many czechs, the staff can speak some english but they are shy to do so, so be sure to ask (in simple slow words), because the answers tend to be shorter than longer. and if you love sauna, do try the honey-sauna-ritual!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I was in Lanterna for one night business trip. I've seen nice website but I didn't expect that kind of quality, as I was many times disapointed. But ! The real experience is even better then I've seen on the pictures. Complicated route to the hotel, because of the location (mountains) is acceptable, but leave Lamborghini at home. Better some jeep. Lobby fine, contemporary style, very friendly staff - sometimes maybe to much, but ok :). When you looking closely on the structure, you will get the feeling, that the building itself is very old. It is, but reconstructed fantasticly, modernised and all looks just fine. I was surprised from plenty of little details, that made my stay memorable. Raffaelo on the pillow when entering the room ! Candels in spa - spa btw is just fantastic, so is the swimming pool. Excellent idea is relaxing zone - which has a beautiful view from the hotel (all glass). Very good meal in restaurant and acceptable prices. The owner probably have seen many western world known hotels and he tries to put that spirit into this komplex. It works just fine.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaka3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The spa hotel lanterna is probably the best hotel in velke karlovice. Unfortunately this is not saying a whole lot. It has become typical of nicer Czech hotels to charge Western prices with Eastern service and you will find more of the same here. We stayed over the new years holiday which is inevitably the peak season, but still...

The picture in the web site is likely their best and most deluxe room. most of the rooms are very small, but nicely appointed. There is no door service and the one cart will be mostly in use if you come or leave at a normal time.

The restaurant serves quite good fare on the menu, but this is in stark contrast with the buffett breakfast and dinner which almost seems to come from a different, inferior kitchen-- similar to what you might find in a hospoda or pub. There is like a Jeckyl and Hyde chef back there somewhere. I would advise to skip the buffet and order off the menu but this will obviously add to the cost.

The spa is very nice as as a physical design, but the massage room is split with a divider so you can hear the next massage conversation going quite loudly. Services at the spa are similar -- western prices for very rudimentary skilled practicioners.

There is a very very small ski slope close the hotel which was 1/2 open and was entertaining if you don't mind a 30 second ski down. no real cross country in this area, but likely in summer there is nice biking. There is not too much in the area to do otherwise that i could see. Some conferences seemed to be held here,

I would say that this hotel would be great for a relaxing weekend stay if the room was 80 eur/night. As they charge per person per night this much, its hardly worth it. In contrast, our stays in Austria were much nicer, with better service, better skiing and at a lower overall cost. As VK is about 4 hours from Prague, I can hardly see any reason to return here as there are so many better options

Room Tip: go for the bigger room if you can get a good price, otherwise dont go at all.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steveprague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Lanterna Hotel is situated in a protected environment area of the hilly region in the Eastern part of the Czech Republic.

The Lanterna Hotel is intented for calm relaxation, resting, and wellness holidays. It is a non-smoking hotel. All the equipment is new, clean, tidy, and the entire facility is well kept. Our room was very comfortable, clean, and scented with French parfumes. The heart of the hotel is a spa and wellness center offering a warm whirlpool, a sauna, an infra-sauna, a steam room with some herbal essence, a cooling pool, cooling terrace and a relaxing indoor pool with some water attractions like a waterfall and bubble geysers. Guests can enjoy a variety of massages using Pure Fiji cosmetics based on natural exotic oils, and beauty/cosmetic procedures as well. There is also a relaxing quiet room for resting after a sauna or massage, to have tea, fruit juice or fresh fruit (tea is served free after each massage) while enjoying the beautiful view of the surrounding hills and forests while listening to quiet and relaxing music. The spa center is illuminated with dim lights and tea candles.

The hotel restaurants present delicious cuisine, both international and regional specialities, and selected high-quality wines. The cuisine is simply outstanding and we would like to give a big round of applause to the chef!

The Lanterna Hotel offers some physical programmes, both indoor and
outdoor, focused on sports and fitness and for children's entertainment.

All the personel are nice, helpful and friendly, doing their very best to make every guest feel good and comfortable. The hotel staff can be really proud of their work.

The Lanterna Hotel belongs to Valachy resort, so Lanterna guests are welcome to enjoy services of other hotels of the same resort (hotels Horal and Galik). As for partner Horal Hotel, the guests can find there a lot of relaxing and sport opportunities, like thermal pools with a variety of water attractions, swimming pool, golf course (9-hole) and indoor golf simulators, rope climbing centre, squash, bowling, tennis etc. and also a very comfortable wellness centre offering luxury exotic massages performed by native Thai and Sri Lancan professionals. The Galik Hotel is basic and seems to be intended for price-sensitive guests.

We enjoyed a fantastic family holiday in Lanterna and the one and only inconvenience was that we had to leave after one week ...

We can strongly recommend the Lanterna Hotel for everybody seeking calm, quiet and relaxing holiday with spa and wellness service, in a modern, clean
and comfortable hotel with delicious cuisine - simply the touch of luxury for
very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Rooms differ as for the equipment (e.g. whirlpool bathtub yes/no) and guest can simply choose his option when booking the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin7103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews