We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Umbrian Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residenza D'Epoca San Lorenzo Tre
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Todi
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We've been in these cosy little hotel before. Still hasn't lost any of its charm. Didn't stay as long as we wanted to on our Umbria tour this time, but will make up for it next year. We can only recommend a stay in this Umbrian gem. Nice and friendly service, breathtaking views from the corner room, tastefully done period decoration make this hidden away little hotel one you shouldn't miss when you're exploring the beautiful Umbrian surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jens o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2016

We stayed here one night on our three week cycling trip to Italy. Although the B&B was very charming and the host, Maximilian, was most helpful, I have to downgrade this place due to the terribly outdated bathroom. One thing that is very important to us when traveling anywhere, is that it have a nice bathroom. Ours was very lacking.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

As other reviewers have mentioned there are two flights of medieval steps to climb to get to the front door but if you are incapable of climbing them then you should not be visiting an Umbrian hill town.
Do not arrive before 3pm as there are no staff who live in. Max arrives at about 3pm if you are lucky and a nice lady comes in in the morning about 8am to prepare continental breakfast and make the coffee otherwise it is self service.
Max is a walking encyclopedia of Umbria and shows you around the place. The house is full of antique furniture and pictures as it was left as it was when a family used to live here for several hundred years.
The only alterations they made was to put in en-suite shower and toilets and they are very small and basic but acceptable. The beds and bedrooms are huge though.
You all share a table for breakfast so you get to meet your fellow guests.
The highlight for us was the roof terrace which gets the sun all day and has great views down the valley one way and looks up to the Duomo the other.
It is best to park at the main car park which you can locate using Google by entering "Todi parking" and downloading a pdf file. You use the free funicular to the top of the town from where it is an easy walk to the hotel. Max will then give you a residents permit so you can park for free in a separate park near the funicular.
No TV only books. Quiet except for the pigeons cooing in the morning who I would have liked to exterminate! We stayed a week and loved it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rogerbids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Max greeted us and was always very helpful. The rooms are super, ours and magnificent views of the countryside. The upstairs terrace is a real feature, nice to relax on after a day's heavy sightseeing. The whole place feels steeped in history, and the decor is consistent with that. Great location for Todi that's a beautiful little town.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Set down a side street just steps from the main piazza, we entered through medieval doors, and up three flights of aged stone steps to find this little gem of a home, and I mean "home" in every sense of the word. Only a handful of rooms, and sleeping a maximum of 12 people, they were all connected by a central living area and lovely breakfast room. There was also an unbelievable rooftop terrace for our use with views that defy description. Each room also had large windows which afforded the same lovely view. Our ceiling was frescoed, I couldn't decide if I enjoyed waking up and staring at the ceiling or out the window at the countryside.
The staff were family and they went out of their way to grant our every wish... We spent a wonderful and restful 4 nights and look forward to another visit.
The only complaint we could possiby have is that although parking was free, this is a hill town, and unless you are driving a small Fiat or have had a lot of experience parking on hills in tiny spaces, you might consider parking outside the walls of the town and walking up!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evanslink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todi hotels
7.7 km away
Torre Sangiovanni Albergo e Ristorante
0.2 km away
Hotel Fonte Cesia
Hotel Fonte Cesia
#4 of 17 in Todi
267 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Bramante
Hotel Bramante
#7 of 17 in Todi
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Abbazia Ortodossa di San Martino
6.6 km away
Relais Todini
Relais Todini
#1 of 17 in Todi
324 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Tuder
Hotel Tuder
#5 of 17 in Todi
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza D'Epoca San Lorenzo Tre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza D'Epoca San Lorenzo Tre

Address: Via San Lorenzo 3, 06059, Todi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Todi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Todi
Price Range: $145 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza San Lorenzo Tre is primely situated just a few steps away from the Todi Cathedral. It occupies the second floor of a historical 17th century building without an elevator. La Residenza had been the home of the Gagliardi-Pellegrini families for five generations before the owner Marzia Morena opened its doors as a hotel to guests. The Residenza San Lorenzo Tre remains the atmosphere of the late 19th century, with every corner of the house, each piece of furniture, vintage framed picture telling the story of the Gagliardi-Pellegrini family. The central yet tranquil location with the amazing view from the Residenza San Lorenzo Tre makes it an ideal destination for those wishing to spend a relaxing holiday in the heart of the old city of Todi. A stay at the San Lorenzo Tre would be a memorable journey through time for those who seek the bygone era of Italian elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residenza D'Epoca San Lorenzo Tre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Lorenzo Tre Todi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing