We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel . . . But.”
Review of Hotel Dei Duchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dei Duchi
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2007

There are many things to praise about this hotel. I stayed there for two weeks in late April and my room, apparently in the basement (downstairs from the reception hall) actually looked out from about a two-storey height on to the ancient Roman theatre. The chef was excellent. In the two weeks I did not have the same meal twice, and each meal was cooked to a very tasty perfection. The waiters and the one waitress were friendly, efficient, and helpful. The room was pleasant, with a writing desk under a large window, and the bed (a single) was quite comfortable. BUT . . . the weather was not at its Italian kindest, and the hotel was, not to exaggerate, too cool for comfort. The central heating had been turned off. When I wanted to get warm I had to recourse to the hair dryer in the en-suite bathroom, as did many of my companions! My group leader asked for the heating to be turned on again, as pretty much every one of our group complained of the cold. But the manager refused. His excuse? That to turn it on would require the services of a heating consultant! We all believed that this was a blatant lie, and that the hotel was following some belief that one does not need heating after a particular date on the calendar.
So be warned if you intend to visit this hotel in the spring or autumn. Ensure that central heating will be on during your visit, or otherwise choose some other hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AlBedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dei Duchi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 139 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2006

My husband and I booked this hotel at the last minute while on vacation in Rome. We arrived by train and a quick local shuttle up the hill. What a pleasant surprise. The hotel was a small, intimate place in a perfect location, just off the main square in the center of town. The staff gave us a warm welcome and they were very professional, articulate and eager to please.

The bellhop opened the shutters to reveal a wonderful view of Umbria and then surprised us with a flowered balcony. The room was modern, spotless and had all the amenities. The breakfast the next morning was equally as nice. In fact, we met a couple traveling in Italy at a local restaurant that asked us where we were staying. They stayed at the hotel because of our recommendation and the next morning commented that it was their best value in Italy.

Spoleto is a wonderful stop while touring Umbria. The locals are friendly and the sights are outstanding.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Veryseasonedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2006

A more modern hotel in a very old town but with nice views from rooms and dining room. We had a room with a nice balcony overlooking the patio. There was a big deck for gathering and viewing the countryside. The room was quite large for Italy and the bathroom was nice. Breakfast was included and was very good. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to people going to Spoleta. The location is also excellent, there is an elevator, bar, large lobby and a parking lot. I can recommend La Barcaccia, Osteria del Matto, Restaurant San Lorenzo, and L'Angolo Antico. All of these restaurants are within very close walking distance to the hotel.

1  Thank bettyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni-mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#1 of 29 in Spoleto
427 reviews
0.5 km away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 29 in Spoleto
532 reviews
0.2 km away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#6 of 29 in Spoleto
555 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Clitunno
Hotel Clitunno
#14 of 29 in Spoleto
421 reviews
0.4 km away
Palazzo Dragoni
Palazzo Dragoni
#7 of 29 in Spoleto
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Spoleto

Been to Hotel Dei Duchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Duchi

Address: Viale Giacomo Matteotti 4, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Spoleto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
#5 Family Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range: $139 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Duchi 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dei Duchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Duchi Hotel
Dei Duchi Spoleto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing