We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a peek inside is allowed”

Basilica di San Salvatore
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We have been fortunate in the past to be able to fully wander around inside Basilica di San Salvatore but this April when we visited only a peek inside was allowed. Due to earthquakes in the region in recent years there is some structural damage, for the public's safety the entrance was guarded, we could only step inside a metre or so to view the interior. Basilica di San Salvatore is said to date back to the late 4th century and built in the style of a pagan temple. It is located just outside Spoleto city walls and stands high on the hill overlooking a well visited local cemetery, worth visiting.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank kpiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pagan temple"
in 2 reviews
"unesco"
in 2 reviews
"austere"
in 2 reviews
"walls"
in 5 reviews
"interior"
in 3 reviews
"art"
in 3 reviews
"centuries"
in 2 reviews
"century"
in 4 reviews
"frescoes"
in 4 reviews
"town"
in 3 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2018

Usually, if any UNESCO site exists in the city, tourists will know about it immediately at the station. The signs will show us how to get to this attraction. Everything is different in Spoleto. We'd realize about it, if we don't read about it before. Why? The Church of San Salvatore is closed and the city authorities probably decided not to bring the tourists to frustration. It is really very modest. The reason of closure is recent earthquake as I understood from the sheet on the wall.The Church was built before the ninth century. The place was not chosen accidentally. Concordius, a Martyr of the era of Marcus Aurelius, according to legend was buried here. The Christians built a Church, presumably in the III-IV centuries. What we see is the result of the reconstruction of the Church by the Longobards- cruel barbarians, who conquered Italy for a while, and then they fend off subsequent invaders. The art of the Longobards is austere, almost primitive. The only thing that decorates it is the Roman fragments. What we don't see inside? There`re not frescoes inside. Only the Roman columns, which the Lombards used as architectural elements. I think we can survive without it. The facade is the original. VIII century. Fans can visit the town cemetery nearby. It is designed in 1837 by Ireneo Aleandri. It's certainly not Stalieno, but Spoleto's not Genoa.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank VadimM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We took the walk up to Basilica di San Salvatore and walked the grounds. It is a beautiful structure. It is the oldest church in Spoleto. The doors and windows are very ornate and historic.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank lollygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

This is history brought to life. According to nowadays standards it is sort of bare but when time and conditions are taken into account it makes a Lot of sense. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Alexsandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Spoleto is an enchanting walled city full of attractions within the walls -- but do NOT miss the highly important (and UNESCO designated World Heritage site) outside the walls. Thankfully, almost nothing was done to "improve" the church over the centuries and it is possible to appreciate the austere simplicity of its architecture. Don't miss the nearby St. Ponziano (which was ruined by later "improvements") whose crypt is AMAZING!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank bunnyjlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basilica di San Salvatore also viewed

Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Basilica di San Salvatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing