We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
276
68
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
68
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the bay infinity pool cinque terre gorgeous views train station welcome drink light lunch rooms are spacious eggs and bacon breakfast was delicious owners and staff lovely town highly recommend hotel hotel is lovely italian riviera great pool private parking
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

This is by far one of the best and most helpful hotels I have ever stayed at. At one of the worlds most beautiful location

Me and my wife try to return once a year, it feels like a home away from home. And the service is fantastic. We have been to Hotel Helvetia in spring, summer, and fall. And we are totally in love with both Sestri and the hotel.

Don't try to save a buck while staying in Sestri, stay here!

Stayed: September 2015
Thank EsecutivoNorvegese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We stayed at this hotel 15 years ago.and were totally delighted with our visit, A gem of a property- a hands- on family run business,,tastefully decorated, deliciously comfortable ,located in one of the prettiest settings on the Ligurian Sea.
Fast forward 15 years later to this early October- nothing has changed-it as just as gorgeous/delightful-actually even better than i remember the first time.And the family , are as hands on as ever- ..Bravo- to a brilliant job and thank you for still providing such a lovely respite -

Room Tip: facing the bay
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank arravale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

We loved this hotel and can't say enough good things about it! You can tell from the moment you arrive that it's run by a family that really enjoys what they do and that they really care about their guests. When we arrived we were greeted with a glass of champagne. Our room had a beautiful view of the sea. The breakfast was delicious! The pool was stunning. I wish we didn't have to leave! We took a day trip to Cinque Terre and we were very disappointed by how busy and touristy it was there-- I'm so happy we stayed in Sestri Levante instead! I hope to return one day soon :)

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jules1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

This hotel is a true gem, beautifully located at the end of the Bay of Silence. Compared to Portofino and Cinque Terre this place is actually more stunning and far more secluded. The couple owning and running the hotel are extremely helpful and charming, also a very nice staff. The owners helped us booking and spotting the best restaurants in Sestri and surrounding villages, all of them excellent. The pool is beautiful with heated water and sea view! We had 2 very nice rooms, perfectly cleaned. The rooms were next door to each other, a great solution since we travel with 3 kids. We stayed for 1 week and would definately like to come back. Strongly recomended!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anders R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Sestri Levante is a charming and relatively unspoilt destination and the Helvetia takes the prize for the hotel with the best location in town - on the aptly named Bay of Silence. It's expensive but everything lives up to or exceeds expectations. How nice to be given a complimentary bevvy on arrival rather than having to get stuck into unpacking (their g and ts are generous to a fault by the way). The staff are all wonderful. So attentive and un-intrusive that you quite forget how expensive it is. Quite the reverse of what you find in more Americanised 'International' hotels. It's a family run hotel and has been for 90 years and they have resisted the temptation to expand in size or in the range of things that they do really well.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have a great view but you have to put up with the noise of the sea lapping gently on the shore
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ed_smith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews