We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
174
141
51
19
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
141
51
19
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach reception staff are swimming pool great rail journeys staff were exceptional smaller room half board at the hotel organic breakfast old world style beach town the air conditioning cinque terre main building people watching original building public rooms are italian hotels
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We stayed at Villa Balbi for 4 nights and it’s been a joy. The building‘s charm can be felt as soon as one enters the door or parks the car in the private parking area.
We were immediately checked-in and the front desk team as kind enough to explain everything the hotel has to offer (private beach for a fee, beach towels, parking, etc...)
Breakfast buffet was good and offered sth for every taste. We received a complimentary room upgrade and were of course delighted about it.
Rooms, the hotel itself and bathroom were clean.
A place that we’re looking forward to returning to in the future.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom_Taper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

This was one of the nicest hotels we have every been to - and we have been to quite a few! It is actually a Palazzo!!! As soon as we arrived in the car, a very nice hotel person came outside to help us with the luggage and parked our car in a nice spot. The lobby is amazing, chandeliers, high ceilings beautifully painted, luxurious and wonderful. Check in very quick, we were expected and everything was prepared for us. The lovely old style room was wonderful, with a huge comfortable bed and nice bedding. The bathroom was totally new and modern AND fresh towels twice a day. We also got new towels at reception every day for the beach. Everything amazingly clean and ALL the staff members extremely friendly. The breakfast outside under the wonderful trees with the exceptionally nice staff and excellent selection of organic produce was simply wonderful. The bar was also great - nice old style Palazzo look with a wonderful outside area - great for people watching. A very nice bar man who mixes great drinks! The location of the hotel is also brilliant: 20 m to the beach (with their own beach area - well worth paying for!), bars, authentic restaurants, lovely small shopping street full of life and nice things just round the corner. AND the hotel was very very quiet. We will go back!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnkeE222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We spent there one week and we had a very good stay.

Service is great and the hotel is very clean. Location is unique, and the hotel has a big park with a pool. Breakfast is ok.

However, the hotel is in line with other Italian family run hotels with the usual cons. Some suggestions:
- Very limited time for breakfast (until 10). Please extend to at least 11
- Please change towels when a customer sit for breakfast (many towels had stains from previous users)
- Bath products are of a very poor quality

In any case: DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FMLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

At the height of summer the hotel was very busy and yet as soon as you walked through the doorway or into the garden, it was impossible not to relax. Eating every meal under the shade of the trees in the garden was just lovely, pesky insects notwithstanding (I don't think I've ever come home with quite so many bites on my legs!), and our room, although decorated in traditional Italianate style, had everything required, ample storage space and what looked like a brand new bathroom. We were at the end of a corridor and were not disturbed by other guests coming and going.
The staff were, without exception, friendly, smiling, happy to accommodate any request, and able to remember your likes and dislikes: they deserve a special mention. Our only small quibble was with other guests who 'bagged' loungers near the excellent pool but left them unused for half a day or more, effectively stopping us from sitting by the pool at all upon our return early afternoon.
If we return to the area we would be extremely happy to stay at Villa Balbi once again.

Room tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the open-air restaurant if you don't want to listen to the live evening entertainment.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopefultraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Beautiful grounds, quite big pool in spacious garden, super service. Lovely to have breakfast in garden! Old world style, some of the» modern»elements
dated but overall the impression is good. Central location, close to everything. Suitable for families with kids who needs a pool and some space around it.

Fantastic view from terrace on top floor.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tegeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews