We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view, OH MY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The view, OH MY!”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is one of my favorite hotels, as it has the most fantastic, romantic views you could possibly imagine. Eat breakfast looking out at the coast and Mt. Vesuvius? YES PLEASE! The restaurant directly across the street is really yummy too (dont know the name) but the view is just as awesome. We really enjoyed the pool and the hotel restaurant is also very good! The location was really nice because we could just take the free shuttle into Sorrento but enjoy the quiet and tranquility of Sant'Agnello. Loved every second!

Oh and the rooms were nice and clean, but who cares with a view like this!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HeavenAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    289
    51
    18
    4
See reviews for
262
675
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We did need to take a taxi from the train station to the hotel but it was so worth it. The view was spectacular. Hotel lobby and bar is very crisp and modern. The staff was accomodating. The bar items were a bit pricey. We had a room overlooking the Gulf of Sorrento that had a nice but small balcony. There was a mini bar in the room (although we did not use it). There was mention of a fee for putting your own items in the fridge. There was laundrey service available but quite expensive. The 5th floor restaurant was wonderful. The breakfast buffet had a great selection. Dinner was excellent. Everything gets put on your room bill. That was good except when 3 people want to split it and we needed to itemize.
There is a neat key that gives you access to the room, safe,electricity and the lift to the beach.
The shower was strange in that the glass partition only covered 1/4 of the tub and the shower head is positioned strangely. We saw that throughout our stay in different Italian hotels. As Americans, I guess I am just not used to it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMB-9-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Mediterraneo in November 2011, and we LOVED it! We stayed in a room on the 3rd floor, with an ocean view and a little balcony with 2 chairs. The room was nice, a comfortable double bed with a TV and a private bathroom with a toilet and shower. We had included in the notes when we made our booking that we were traveling to celebrate our first wedding anniversary, and when we arrived in our room, there was a beautiful little sketch of the hotel with a note saying 'Happy Anniversary' from the hotel. The front desk staff were very friendly and incredibly helpful (the Circumvesuviana workers were on strike just after we arrived there, and the front desk was helpful in answering our questions and helping us find alternatives!) There is also happy hour every night at the bar, which had great drink deals, free hors d'oeurves, and a very friendly bartender. The hotel also provides a free shuttle into Sorrento, which was very convenient...but the hotel is only about 25 minute walk away from the middle of Sorrento. Our room rate also included breakfast, which was definitely worth it. It had a really large assortment of cold cuts, eggs, yogurt, breads, cakes, pastries, bacon, fruit, etc, etc... We got a great value for having an ocean view, it wasn't the least expensive place around, but ABSOLUTELY worth the money to stay here (and also worth the money for the upgrade to a sea view room!)

Overall, I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing place to put your feet up, drink lemoncello, and look out over the Mediterranean!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABmeetsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

1. Booking & price: we reserved directly with the hotel (it was handled fast and professionaly) a superior sea view room with balcony, at a steep price of EUR 285/night, breakfast included - quite a lot for a 4 star (but hey, what is cheap on the Amalfi coast in full season?). Balcony was not charged (usually it is, at EUR 20/night), as we booked 7 nights. However, this is useless, as it is very, very small and you can only stand in it. No place for chairs and table.

2. Room: size was medium but definitely sufficient, and amenities were ok (large flat TV, good speed and free internet, powerful aircon - there were 40 degrees Celsius outside, mini bar, safe etc.). Room was clean and kept clean every day by maids. There were two let-downs however:
- the less important was the bathroom, not at all up to the four star and this price level standards; although clean, it was dated and cried for an upgrade: tiles, sink, practically everything....
- the most important negative was the noise: although facing the sea, what you actually face is first a busy street (buses, motor bikes, etc) and second a small square where in the evenings large crowds of children and teenagers were gathering, playing, screaming, shouting, until 1-2 AM! I don't know what the italian laws say about such noise disturbances, but for sure the management needs to find a solution for this.

3. Breakfast: it was just fair, nothing fancy, with same usual stuff every morning. I noticed a strange tin cup marked for "staff tip", not usual in breakfast rooms (everybody was ignoring it). There were few tables on the terrace, with lovely sea view and, if you were not lucky enough to get one, you were stucked in the main room which was very hot, as all curtain windows were open and aircon not working. As a separate note, staff had the bad habbit to largely open common space windows during that heat wave, that raised in some parts of the hotel the temperature to unbearable levels.

4. Parking: it was free of charge and apparently large, but in fact very, very crowded, especially in the evenings when apparently locals were coming to dine by the pool. Was not uncommon to not find a free space and then we had to park in the middle, leaving car keys with reception.

5. Location: although on the sea front, the hotel had the noise disadvantages mentioned earlier; nothing much to do around, except a little restaurant in front of the hotel. Town center quite far, but there is a bus stop plus a complimentary shuttle. We used bus only once (tickets can be purchased at reception) to get to the port for our trip to Capri, as there was no parking there. At our return no bus showed-up so we were forced to take a taxi back to the hotel, which costed no less than EUR 20 (for only a few kilometres drive)! Beware.

6. Beach & pool: pool access is through hotel's private elevator and you can get discount tickets from reception, but still some extras for chairs/umbrella need to be paid on the spot. Otherwise, beach is public and very crowded with locals. You can choose either a small strip of black sand or the platform. Although first line chairs on the sandy beach were free, we were denied taking them, being told that are "reserved", but nobody showed up. Anyhow, communication with beach attendants is difficult, as their english is very poor. We preferred to spend more time by the pool and its own bar...You could even get lunch there. Towels were provided, there was no shortage of chairs and air was cooler, from the natural shade of the trees. Pool was a big plus and in the evenings al fresco dinners were thrown there.

7. Sorrento: lively and great little town, with action starting after sunset. Plenty of narrow streets with shops, cafes and restaurants, stunning sea views from the cliff (you can go down to the sea and beach with an elevator). Just stay away from touristy restaurants, busy and with poor service. Just grab a guide from hotel and you'll figure out which are really for you.

Overall, Mediterraneo is a good hotel but I give it only an average rating, as they charge too much for what they offer. They really need to put some more effort to bring it to better standards.

Room Tip: For silence and good sleep better get a room with pool/back view. After dinner music stops it should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Mediterraneo in August 2011 for our honeymoon. This hotel is FANTASTIC! We had a corner room (I believe "classic seaview") on the fourth floor, with a view of the water/beach/lounge area out one window, with fabulous boats and sunsets, and a view of the pool/side street out of the other window. The side street made for great people and moto watching. Huge windows open entirely for great breezes! We let them know it was our honeymoon, and they had complimentary prosecco on ice waiting for us. The hotel has the classic feel you'd expect from looking at the pictures on the website. It's old world feeling, yet updated and modernized. The grounds are kept spectacularly, and there are plenty of places among the shade of the lemon trees to pull up a comfortable seat and relax with your drink.

Staff is wonderful (including front desk and bartenders who had us laughing each evening we spent by the pool), towels aplenty at the pool (if out, just ask and more are quickly provided), clean and gorgeous pool, convenient "internet room" downstairs, beautiful lobby. We rented a moto through the hotel and were able to park it for free in the little parking lot out back. They also provided maps and directed us to downtown Sorrento. We met lovely travelers at the hotel bar who gave us great advice on our Amalfi coast drive, markets, Sorrento.

The hotel is located near Sorrento, but not in the city center. There's a free shuttle to Sorrento we took once, it was convenient. Sant'Agnello is a cute little town with many restaurants right up the street from the hotel - don't take off to Sorrento for every meal, check out some of the places right near the hotel, as well.

Hotel food was wonderful - real, Italian meals; not watered down for American tastes as many hotels can be. Vesuvius Restaurant views are unparalleled, although we only ate there for the half board breakfast. Breakfast food was a good assortment of eggs, cold cuts, fresh fruit, yogurt, breads, coffee, tea, superb juices - eggs were watery everyday, though.

The shower in our room was painfully small. We'd definitely return, but request the superior seaview room instead so we have a jetted bath. Rooms were cleaned beautifully everyday and cleaning staff is friendly and accommodating.

We were so excited for the elevator to the beach! We never actually went down to the beach! We were too busy exploring Sant'Agnello, Sorrento, and the rest of Campagnia and relaxing in the room in between trips. The beach is a small Italian beach, typical for the area.

If booking here, plan to book ground transport before you arrive. DO NOT rely on the circumvesuviana train as the hotel semi-recommends (they state they're near the station). As another reviewer said, it's a 20 minute difficult walk among cobblestones and narrow sidewalks from the train station to the hotel. Finding the train at the estacion napoli is difficult as well. Might be easier for a European or someone used to the Italian train system. We found a bus from the center of sant'agnello to return us to the Napoli airport for our departure flight, hotel staff has the information and got us a cab to the bus station - much easier than the train!

All in all, the staff is accomodating, facilities are gorgeous, and we'd definitely return!

Room Tip: It's worth it to book a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMediterraneo, Director of Sales at Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Valued guest,

we wish to thank you for choosing Hotel Mediterraneo and for your wonderful review on tripadvisor. You catched the real spirti of Hotel Mediterraneo and that is the best prize for us!

We also would like to inform you that 2012 rates are of course alredy on line and NOW more convenient than closer to season. We have early booking promotion and holiday packages. Check our promotion page on our new website; link is just below hotel name in this page.

we look forward to welcome you soon
best regards
Pietro Monti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 km away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.1 km away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 85, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price range (per night): $307 - $1,437
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento sits on a cliff overlooking the sea of Sorrento bay about one kilometer from the city center. It is an easy walk but you can also take our free shuttle. The breathtaking sea view and friendly, personable staff make it the perfect place to spend your vacation on the Sorrentine Peninsula in a 4-star hotel. The Mediterraneo has a pool surrounded by palm and orange trees, a private beach, parking and a free wi-fi connection. Get ready for an unforgettable experience that is surprisingly affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing