We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
28
46
17
8
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
46
17
8
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

After spending a hectic week sightseeing in the heart of Tuscany we were all 'cultured up' and needed to relax for a week. La Coccinella at San Vincenzo fitted the bill and more. A small hotel with great charm just a minute's walk to a beautiful sandy beach. There is a private area on the beach with parasols and sun beds exclusively for the use of guests of La Coccinella at no cost. There are beach bars nearby. For evenning meals the Blue Marlin on the main road is a must and you get 10% discount for being a guest at La Coccinella.
There is plenty of room in the car park and there is a small pool and some nice garden areas to relax. The staff are very helpful and friendly, especially Emilie the spotty dog! The staff do not speak much English but are patient, and with lots of hand waving and bits of French and Italian we got by. A smile says welcolme in any language.
Breakfast is very nice and you can sit on the verandah in the sunshine. You can boil your eggs to your liking in a water boiler with wire egg dunkers.
We were the only English at the hotel, and I think the only English in San Vincenzo, but we met with a German couple who spoke good English. They have been to La Coccinella every year for the past 20 years! This speaks volumes in any language.
The room was modern with air conditioning and a balcony overlooking the gardens. The bathroom had a good shower. The rooms were cleaned every day and the towels changed.
San Vincenzo town is about 15 minutes walk away and is a lovely place with lots of shops, bars and restaurants. J Thomas bar serves specialist cocktails and overlooks the marina. A good place to relax in the evenning.
There is a railway station and we travelled to Rome for about 16 Euros each way per person.
I would love to stay at La Coccinella again and would definately recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel or overlooking the pool would be prefered.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRDNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Comfortable and pretty quiet hotel with friendly staff and it's own beach (need to walk short distance). Hotel is not on a beachfront and there is no view from the room. Hotel parking is not always available but there are some off street parking. The price was high but I guess it's normal for Italy in August

Room Tip: Ask for the room on a higher floor to have less parking noise
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olyanz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is a small family run hotel in the fabulous little resort of San Vincenzo. A two minute schlep from the beach, it's situated on a quite one way street (but those with young children be warned - there is parking on both sides of the road and no pavement). Two sun loungers and a beach umbrella are included in the price of the room in the hotel's dedicated space on the beach. The life guard in charge of that section of beach will provide deck chairs for other members of your family should you need them.

The beach is gently sloping and the sea is clear and very shallow for a fair distance off shore. There is a beach shower but not many toilet facilities nearby (the only one being attached to a bar a very short way down the beach).

The hotel has a small pool with unmarked shallow end with a few chairs and sun loungers surrounding it. This closes between 2-4:30pm every day and there is very little shade or space around the edge of the pool to relax. It's better used as a space to cool off in at the end of a hot day on the beach.

The rooms are compact but very clean and comfortable with a small balcony with plastic table and chairs. We had a king size with bunk beds for the kids. There was ample storage for clothes and cases. The bathroom was spotless with small shower, washbasin, toilet and bidet. The downside was there was no storage space for toiletries.

There is no restuarant at this hotel. The breakfast was a buffet style with ample choice for all appetites. The hotel has some kind of disciout deal with some nearby restuarants but treat these with scepticism and check ratings on Trip Advisor first.

We had a great time here and despite the limited language skills of the owner and his wife we managed to get by with our limited Italian and lots of sign language. We'll definitely go again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juanita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed three nights at La Coccinella, it was a pleasant stay with great weather and clean facilities. The owners do not really speak English and so it was lucky I was able to speak enough french to communicate with them. i would only rate this hotel as a 3 star at the most however, as accommodation is basic but more than that, the breakfasts were not great. In particular hot drinks came from a vending machine which produced soapy tasting coffee and hot water not hot enough to make a cup of tea. Fresh juice was also made from concentrate and therefore not fresh. This was very disappointing. I also have to note that we reviewed the hotel through the website we booked with and gave it a similar review and have since then received a very sniffy email directly from the hotel saying that calling the breakfast poor was offensive and arguing that they speak french, german etc and that was that enough?! They also un-necessarily mentioned the accidental breakage of 2 wine glasses that fell from the flimsy plastic table and chairs on our balcony. Accidents happen, we would have happily paid for any breakages and did not appreciate the backlash from our honest review.

I would not discourage people from going to this hotel but would also emphasise its being a 3 star hotel and simply a satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblychocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2008

We arrived in San Vincenzo after a busy visit to Rome. It is a pretty seaside town. The location of the hotel is a minute walk to the beach, about half a block. I had translated the German trip reviews on Trip Advisor to find this place.
We really enjoyed our stay here. We thought the room was adequate and enjoyed our balcony which had a nice breeze that blew to it so you could cool down from the beach, it was hot at the beach!
They have umbrellas and chairs at the beach and there always seemed to be enough for everyone. The beach was gorgeous, such a beautiful shade of blue. The breakfast was nice, they had hardboiled eggs which was a nice change, cheese, meat and rolls and of course the regular sweets etc.
The guests were a mixture of Germans/Austrians/Italians and a group of Americans. We enjoyed ordering cold beers and wine and sitting on the balcony from the bar and the prices were reasonable.
At the end of the day my daughter enjoyed a evening swim in the pool while I sat, read and enjoyed the quiet.
We had a couple of great meals just blocks away, as there are a couple of restaurants nearby.
At one restaurant we ordered the seafood pizza and the shellfish came with all it's shells on. mussels, clams, prawns etc., we had a good laugh and it made for a great picture.
We really enjoyed San Vincenzo and enjoyed our stay at La Coccinella. A nice family run establishment with lots of character and pleasant energy.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews