We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (999)
Filter reviews
999 results
Traveller rating
193
251
252
180
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
251
252
180
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant lake garda central location recently stayed at this hotel fifth floor storage space fabulous location no tea making facilities twin room highly recommend this hotel walk in shower the hotel is clean a lake view room lasagna week stay few minutes walk national holidays
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 999 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2016

The location of the hotel could not be better - about 150 yards from the lake on the main square. Overall, the facilities were good but a bit scruffy here and there. The room was comfortable, lovely firm mattress on the bed and I slept very well, but storage space is limited. We were in room 414 which had a balcony and a wonderful view of the lake. The bathroom was, interesting. It had a frosted glass wall which was a little transparent if we had the light on while we were showering. It also has a frosted glass door which sounds ok but - the door did not fill the door frame and, even at the best possible position, there was a gap of about an inch either side of the door between it and the frame. The door "handle" was a circular hole about an inch and a half in diameter. The restaurant is on the fifth floor. The menu was a little limited, only 3 choices of starter and main course each night, but the quality was excellent. The salad bar was superb. Restaurant staff were very courteous and efficient always with a smile. The one thing that really irritated was the miserable barmaid. Tall, slim she was always grumpy. On one night, I was told that the bar closed at 11pm - no problem if that's what they do. I was finishing my drink at about 11:20pm when she started serving a group of Italians who had just arrived and were sitting on the terrace at the front of the hotel. I went and asked if I could have another drink and was told that the bar was closed. Watch out for her, I've seen other reviewers mention her. Overall I would recommend the hotel for your stay, just be aware of one or two idiosynchracies.

Room tip: Rooms 414 to 418 have balconies and great lake views.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea V, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Dear Mr. Davel,

we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel most of the time – we will also pass your praise for the cuisine on to the cooks. Thank you very much for the photos you uploaded, they give a good impression of our hotel and the surroundings. We are very sorry for the bad behaviour of one of our employees. We passed your feedback on to her and we can guarantee you that such a situation will never occur again. If you decide to return another time eventually, we will absolutely make that bad experience up to you.

Yours sincerely,
Grand Hotel Riva with team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

This hotel has an excellent location and the view from the top of the hotel is stunning. These are the only positive comments. The hotel lacks style and is in a very bad need of a serious renovation. All details like ceilings, walls, carpets, facade should be taken care of. Dirty curtains, not ironed tablecloths at the restaurant. No real coffee at breakfast. The wifi in the room didn't work. The hotel should't have 4 stars.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank izabella636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea V, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Dear Mrs. Izabella,

great to hear you liked the location and the view from the top of the hotel. For the rest, we regret that you could not enjoy your holiday to the fullest. Thanks for your suggestions, we are working on the renovation of the rooms and the hotel in general so that future guests will be excited not only about the location.

Yours sincerely,
Grand Hotel Riva with team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

The hotel is in a fantastic location and our room had one of the best views we could have asked for. That's where the good review ends and the bad one begins.
We arrived around 8.30 pm, after a long day and was met by a very rude and ignorant lady. She appeared not to understand very much English, but this was found to be untrue as the week went on.
After having our room card slammed down on the counter, we asked if the dining room was still opn. She grumbled '5th floor' and when asked where the lift was, she just flung hers right arm towards the corner of the lounge.

The room was very dark and small but the view compensated for the lack of space and light.

The bathroom door is a sliding frosted glass type and does not leave room for privacy and we thought it was quite dangerous. Very little hanging space, only one bedside table and the bed was sat in the middle of the room facing the balcony. The room was 10 foot wide which left little space for walking about.

The dining room staff were very accommodating and no request seemed too much for them. Breakfast was your typical continental style but had very little else to choose from. Evening meal had to be chosen the night before and there wasn't much variety. We went out to eat for 2 of the nights to get a little more choice as by the 3rd night the food was beginning to get monotonous. there was only 3 choices of starters and 3 of main course.
The bar seemed to close around 10pm but one evening we had been out and met up with 5 other English guests and decided we would finish the evening off in our hotel and have some drinks. It was only 10.15pm. Guess who we had to ask to serve at the bar? The very rude lady. She reluctantly served us, and turned the lights off in the bar area which meant we had to go and sit in a corner of the lounge. I have never been on a holiday where I have been made to feel guilty of being English. This lady was so pleasant to other guests but the minute she heard someone speak English, her whole attitude changed. Would definitely go back to Riva but never stay in this hotel ever again. Does she not realise that we pay a lot of money to be guests at her hotel, then to be treated like we were second class citizens is not my idea of a happy holiday. As for the Wi-Fi which they tell you is readily available, depends what time of day you try and is better if you go out of your room and down to the lounge area.

Room tip: Always ask for a lake view 3rd floor or less
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea V, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Dear Mrs. Sue,

thank you for your detailed review! We are happy that you liked the location of our hotel. However, we are very sorry for the bad behaviour of one of our employees. We passed your feedback on to her and we can guarantee you that such a situation will never occur again. If you decide to return another time eventually, we will absolutely make that bad experience up to you.

Yours sincerely,
Grand Hotel Riva with team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

Apart from worries about a five year old's urges to climb the ladder type railings in the Murialdo Suites I personally would give this resort top marks. Three generations loved it! The staff were wonderful, food was of high quality and the choice at breakfast time was wide. They provided lactofree, almond and soya milk and made every effort to meet dietary requirements ( without prior warning). I want to return there as soon as possible!
Gardens, pools, bikes and sailing were additional attractions and the town is a 5/10 minute walk along the lake. It offers pedalos and has one of these little tourist trains ( not much to see but only 2 euros and fun for young and young at heart!)
Further afield cable cars, boats for hire and Verona.
Thunderstorms there are spectacular!

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank annarN4956XP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea V, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Dear Mrs. Annar,

thank you very much for your excellent review and for uploading the photos in order to share some of your happy moments in our hotel. We are very glad you noted our efforts to please every guest individually and benefited from our unique position as a starting point for leisure activities. We are hoping to welcome you and your family soon again to spend another unforgettable holiday at our hotel!

Yours sincerely,
Grand Hotel Riva with team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Good location, very central. The room was clean and well presented although quite a dark room in the evening. Food good With a varied menu. Restaurant staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely return. Maybe not to room on the fourth floor though, restaurant on floor five with tiled floor!

Room tip: Restaurant on floor 5 therefore room on floor 4 a bit noisy
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea V, Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Dear Mrs. Lesley,

we are happy to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your vacation at our hotel and hope to welcome you soon as our guest again.

Yours sincerely,
Grand Hotel Riva with team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews