We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Very nice small place to visit in 2/3 hours

Very nice small place to visit in 2/3 hours You can visit the all center walking around in 3... read more

Reviewed 4 June 2017
306alex
,
Turin, Italy
A nice walk in a quiet atmosphere but you have to be able to walk in steep streets

The town is very clean and you can see several interesting places like the place that apparently is... read more

Reviewed 2 June 2017
Mario44globetrotter
,
Austria
Read all 313 reviews
  
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
124
141
45
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
141
45
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2015

The Cathedral in the city square is a don't miss. The river walk was relaxing. The parking was inexpensive and readily available and free on Sunday. We stayed in the area five days and visited the city center twice. It also features a monument to being the center of Italy. Not sure how they calculated that. People were friendly to us and shopping was easy. We were in the area for five days visiting Saint Francis sights in the region. Nice town.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank lud2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

You could hear the conversations as you entered the main piazza. People standing around talking and joking.Limited to very small cars but silence was wonderful and was only broken by the sound of conversation. It will be wonderful when the construction work finishes

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2014

We ended up visiting on Sunday, so many thngs were closed, but we were able to go into the church. Amazing!

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank Kim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Cathedral is worth a visit. Rieti is a city surrounded by ancient walls. Some work going on in the centre but still lots to see. Unfortunately the underground doesn't open for visits very often so best to check beforehand. Take a look at the shops in Via Roma, stop off at one of many bars or restaurants. Piazza S.Rufo is said to be the centre of Italy.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank Glenys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have travelled to Rieti a number of times as is one of the larger towns close to the Sabine Hills, where I live. I have always appreciated the beauty of the historic centre and how alive it feels. It has an amazing 16 km bike/walking trek that takes you near the river and within the historic centre of Rieti and its surrounding historic walls. The central piazza is large and has many beautiful historic buildings within the nearby streets. The real hidden gem within the historic centre that my husband and I discovered the other day, is under the Cathedral of Santa Maria Assunta. The church itself has been redecorated but has some original frescos on the walls. The real treasure, however is found in the crypt, under the altar and below ground level. It dates back to 1100's and has beautiful frescos on the walls, plus amazing and intact archways plus a decorated central ceiling. It is like walking back in time and completely peaceful. If you go to the historic centre of Rieti, don't miss this hidden medieval crypt.

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank ConvivioRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews