We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like all great things - Timeless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like all great things - Timeless”
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Parsifal as a special treat whilst travelling Europe on a shoestring 9 years ago. Returning with two children we were pleased to see the hotel has not changed. Whilst Ravello seems to be transformed, complete with very upmarket hotels, Hotel Parsifal has stayed true to it's origins. The rooms are quite basic but with everything you need, as you might expect an old convent to be, but the hospitality is fantastic. Staying here you truly get a sense of the history of the building, and the town. The hotel shares exactly the same views as some of it's glitzy neighbours, at a fraction of the price. We will be back for a longer stay next time.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    119
    27
    2
    4
See reviews for
100
372
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My daughter and I arrived at the Parsifal after a long journey that included 5 airports. Exhausted and famished, we were warmly greeted by Antonio with a wonderful bottle of red wine from Ravello and plates of delicious Parma ham, marinated and grilled eggplant and zucchini, buffalo mozzarella and tomatoes! We devoured them while looking out at what must be one of the world's most spectacular views. We were instantly revived! This was my second visit to the Parsifal and thanks to Antonio and family (who operate the Parsifal) it was like coming home.

As others have mentioned, Antonio helped plan our day trips, having intimate knowledge of bus and ferry schedules (and a handy supply of bus tickets) including a suggestion that we might need an alternate plan because he thought the waves too rough to permit the ferry to dock--sure enough he was right.

The food at the hotel was wonderful. Other than our meal upon arrival (which I could have eaten every day), some of my favorites were the eggplant parm appetizer and ravioli stuffed with grouper served with a lemon sauce--heaven!

If you want 5 star furnishings, decor and amenities then for 4 or 5 times the cost of the Parsifal, you can stay at the Caruso (which enjoys the same view of the coast as the
Parsifal). But if a good bed and strong shower and a clean and comfortable room suits you, then by all means stay with Antonio and family at the Parsifal where service, food, location and hospitality is second to none.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pgregory60069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We arrived in Ravello after driving eight hours from Cinque Terra, tired and a little queasy from the twists and turns along the Amalfi Coast. We couldn't imagine having to navigate the roads each time we wanted to venture out of the town and were wary upon entering the hotel. But the stunning view of the Mediterranean and the beauty of the flowers and fountain in the couryard, combined with the welcoming attitude of the staff, took hold. Antonio , the manager, quickly assured us that we could park the car for the rest of our stay and use buses and boats to get to all of our planned destinations. Over a wonderful glass of local wine, he plotted our itinerary and then proceeded to make all of the arrangements for the most wonderful five day stay in this quaint but sophisticated gem of a village one thousand feet high above the town of Amalfi.
Antonio checked with us daily and instructed us on every minute detail of travel. He made suggestions for hikes, restaurants, performances, and sites to see..all of them excellent. Our "room with a view" (E.M. Forrester frequented Ravello) was comfortable and well appointed. The restaurant served delicious dinners and the included breakfast of pastries, cheeses, yogurt, fruits and marmalades (check out the lemon) started the day on the right foot. We look forward to visiting again. Mille Grazie!

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockvilledocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Just spent 8 nights at the Parsifal. It was my second stay after a year-and-a-half away and I'm happy
to say that things just keep getting better and better. It's more than the 5-star location with its stunning
view and the exceptional service offered by Antonio and his family. It's the simple aura of this hotel
that embraces you. The Parsifal has HEART. Lots of it. There's something unique to be found here that
few other hotels can begin to generate. Part of it is the fact that you're in a real 1288 A.D. convent, and even
though it continues to be upgraded, nothing feels manufactured. Its atmosphere is charming and it's staffed by sincerely people who care immensely about how you feel about your stay. It's more than good service, it's as if you're a visitor in their home. All of this combines for a peaceful synergy that touches every guest. You'll probably share this hotel with a more friendly group of fellow travelers than you're likely to find in any other hotel on the Amalfi Coast, maybe all of Italy. The Parsifal brightens spirits with its special magic in a way that posh hotels (charging 4 or 5 times as much) can never hope to do. In fact, it's the only hotel in Ravello that doesn't close down for the winter because there's less money to be made. They have regular guests who want to visit them all year round, so Antonio and his brothers wouldn't think of closing their doors. I do suggest you book early in the high season because the secret is out and the number of repeat guests keeps growing. The world now knows that The Parsifal is simply the best hotel deal in Ravello -- great location,
great staff, great food, great prices, and the biggest heart in town. Ciao, bella!

Room Tip: Room 29 would be my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bbaldwin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We booked their last available room after reading reviews on trip advisor and weren't disappointed. The food and service is excellent. The rooms are quite basic, but comfortable.They can also arrange hikes and anything else you fancy. We hiked into Amalfi and they arranged for a car to meet us with our bags..Great service!

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesn't face the road. There is some traffic noise in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
1.2 km away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.3 km away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
721 reviews
0.4 km away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
726 reviews
0.8 km away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#7 of 21 in Ravello
424 reviews
0.3 km away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#16 of 21 in Ravello
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288

Property: Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Address: Viale Gioacchino d'Anna 5, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
#2 Business Hotel in Ravello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#5 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price range (per night): $253 - $280
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parsifal - Ancient convent built back in 1288 by the Augustinian friars and converted into Hotel Parsifal around 1948. 17 rooms with private bath and a central cloister with delightful terraces and gardens overlooking the superb panorama of the Amalfi coastline. Rafael's restaurant and Cloister Bar overlooking the Amalfi coast, offering classical and Mediterranean cuisine with a little touch of creativity. Traditional specialties from the region. Optimal indoor or outdoor seating 60 guest. A three star hotel run by the Mansi family from Ravello. Special winter packages with lodge, board and excursions from November to March. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsifal Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing