We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Family Run Hotel on the Amalfi Coast features Great Food & Excellent Location on the Mediterranean”
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Garrison, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small Family Run Hotel on the Amalfi Coast features Great Food & Excellent Location on the Mediterranean”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Our week's stay at Villa San Michele in October was a lovely experience. The breakfasts and 3 course gourmet dinners were delicious, the sevice personal and engaging, the value incomparable.The location, in Ravello, on the Mediterranean, provided fabulous views from our balcony, the ability to walk down the steps to the sea level terrace to swim, a car park, short drives to Amalfi, Ravello, Positano and, for the more adventurous, an hour's drive to the Greek Temples in Paestum. The warm, charming manner of Nicola, Emiliano, Rosa, and all of the extended family was beyond expectation. We would not hesitate to recommend the Villa to couples or families with children. All are given welcoming, first class treatment.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony facing the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry-Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    91
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
93
420
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahti, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a week last autumn. Had chosen it because of the location and the views. Overall we were very satisified with our stay. The room was ok, basic but nothing to complain about, view from the terrace was very beautiful. Lots of steps from the street, but that´s not a problem if you are ok with your feet. Finally dining was every night a wonderful experience. We still miss Nicola´s presentation of the night´s menu. " The first plate tonight is....and the second plate tonight is...." And the food cooked by his wife was every time just excellent. If only we coild, we would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Foodlover83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed just 2 nights (sadly0 at the Villa San Michele in early Novmeber and fell in love with the place. This is a special place, not luxurious rooms but outstanding views, landscaping, and lots of character. The rooms are simple but clean and have nice colorful tiled floors. The balcony was fabulous - sitting there we did feel luxurious! There is also a nice large sunbathing terrace, and a small terrace at sea level where you can swim in the clear blue water. Even in early Nivemeber my husband was able to swim. There are wonderful details at every turn going down the many levels (and steps!) through gardens and terraces. As much as we loved exploring the Amalfi Coast towns, we made time to spend at the hotel each day, and it was one of the highlights of our trip.
We had the most contact with Emiliano and his service is first class, and he is warm and charming too. He was helpful, courteous, and patient, from the moment he magically appeared to help with our bags when we arrived.
Their restaurant had closed in Nov. so we didn't get to try the food everyone raves about. It is about a 15 minute walk to get to restaurants in Atrani (a small fishing village with a cozy square) but not a lot of choices there. Amalfi is about a 25 minute walk, but at night the road is even more treacherous, so we took the bus to dinner - a bit of a wild ride!
I do agree with a few other reviewers that the only small thing that could be improved is the breakfast. Great coffee and juice, and the rolls and croissants were good, but that's all that is served, and we felt having fresh fruit or fruit cups, and/or cereal and yogurt would have been nice.
The rates were very reasonable, and that only caps off the many reasons this is a wonderful place to stay. Can't wait to go back - really.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony large enough to sit on, especially one with room for table and chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The best way to describe how good our time was with Nicola & Emanuela and the Deppino family at Villa San Michele is to simply show you the reader the email I sent to them not long after we returned to the UK........needless to say we will return one day for sure.

Emiliano e Nicola,
It has been two weeks since my wife and I stayed with the Deppino family. We both wanted to let you know that we really did enjoy ourselves and thought Villa San Michele was the perfect base from which to explore the Amalfi coast. Your hospitality, local knowledge and your willingness to assist us in having a good holiday was always so courteous and forthcoming even if most of our questions we had were about the times of the bus and the ferry!! Thank you again for a wonderful stay.
Have a good Christmas season and we wish you all well in 2012.
Speriamo di rivedervi presto.
Grazie mille
Steven & Denise

Room Tip: Sea view - but you will need to climb 269 steps - though the breathtaking views during the day and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This hotel is not in the centre of Ravello but on the actual Amalfi Coast road (5km down from the centre of Ravello town) so has wonderful views straight over the bay. It is possible to walk up into Ravello though using the 1000 or so steps. Very friendly, helpful owners/staff. We stayed the first week in November and had wonderful weather and so made good use of the sun deck and even swam. The hotel was shutting for the winter as we left and the restaurant was only open for our first 2 nights. Dinner was nice but a little expensive and not a lot of choice ( no menu - just a choice of 2 dishes). Our room was beautiful with fabulous balcony. It was great to have a mini bar/fridge in the room. The bathroom was fine but the shower was a bit neglected.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roundwooddivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
1.4 km away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
728 reviews
0.7 km away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
1.5 km away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
1.3 km away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
222 reviews
2.0 km away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Property: Villa San Michele
Address: Via Carusiello 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ravello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price range (per night): $181 - $326
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Michele 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele on Amalfi Coast is the perfect spot to spend a relaxing holiday relishing the sea the sun and the views of the Amalfi Coast. A charming refuge from which the most attractive towns such as Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento can be easily reached. The hotel built upon the rocks is in perfect harmony with nature situated in beautiful garden from here to the sea takes only a moment following a private route. The air and the eyes are filled with the fragrances and colours of the lemons and bouganville creating the right atmosphere for a romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Ravello
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing