We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's my tuna?”
Review of Il Portico

Il Portico
Ranked #70 of 92 Restaurants in Pula
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Visited without a reservation. Party of 6. We only wanted pasta which was just as well because we were told on the way in that the pizzas were off the menu. Staff didn't speak English and service was really slow, especially when it came to getting the bill! Food was ok, but my son ordered pasta with tuna and we're still looking for the tuna! Wouldn't recommend this place.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017

We were invited in by the restaurant 's bouncer. We sat down and experienced that there was nobody who spoke English serving. When we were going to order drinks, only one type of beer amongst several local Italian beers on the menu was available. We experienced the same when we wanted to order soft drinks, sold out for sprite! We order beef and when we got it, it was a strange taste to it. After finishing dinner we wanted to order some dessert from the menu, again the answer was sold out.
The atmospher in the restaurant was not relaxing as the music was to loud and stressful

Date of visit: July 2017
2  Thank Tore Gunnar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Avoid!Expensive food which was below average. It took more than an hour to get the main dishes.
Even then calamari was replaced with shrimp (that had gone bad). The wine we requested had "run out" so we were brought one that cost 1/3 more.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank Ulla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Welcomed by a lovely waitress who did her best to explain the menu in English. It's a typical Sardinia menu with fish, pasta and meat. For some reason we can't find a restaurant that does chicken ! Being a no. Red meat eating person it's a bit limiting to be eating cheese and pasta all the time. The fish is fresh but not filleted so again for me not an option but the rest of my party it's fine. The puddings were lovely I had profiteroles and the others had tiramisu. On a par with most of the good restaurants to be fair so worth a visit. Hard to get to by car due to one way system so park up and walk thru is my advice.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

We had dinner here on Saturday night after looking at a few options nearby. The tables are in a pleasant courtyard set back from the street. We were offered a glass of free prosecco on arrival and our order was taken quickly. FYI we were informed when we arrived that no pizzas were available, not sure if this is a permanent change as previous reviews suggested they used to serve pizza! Starters came out within a reasonable time frame as did our drinks, however the restaurant had become quite busy by that point (9/9.15pm) and we didn't receive our main courses (steak and lobster pasta) until 10.45pm. There was no explanation from staff as to the cause of the delay so we just had to wait it out. I noticed that other tables were also becoming restless at the lack of food. When the food did eventually arrive it was really nice but unfortunately I don't think it warranted the long wait.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank RachaelD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Portico also viewed

Pula, Province of Cagliari
Santa Margherita di Pula, Pula
 
Pula, Province of Cagliari
Santa Margherita di Pula, Pula
 
Pula, Province of Cagliari
Pula, Province of Cagliari
 

Been to Il Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing