We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoking Allowed!”
Review of Federico's Cafe

Federico's Cafe
Ranked #19 of 92 Restaurants in Pula
Price range: USD 11 - USD 46
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Guess in Europe this is the case, but not very pleasant if you’re seated near anyone doing it!
Food was quite nice, I had pork fillet, as I’d heard another person saying how nice it was, and it didn’t disappoint.
The atmosphere could have been nicer, as there’s a bar on a corner not far from this restaurant, which was playing really loud music, spoiling any ambience there could have been in Frederico’s. Also a second restaurant abutting this one was very busy. Only went on one occasion, as it wasn’t our favourite, and there were nicer restaurants nearer to our hotel. The restaurants in any of the squares seemed to be more expensive too.

1  Thank skipper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter john n, Direttore at Federico's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Sono D accordo con lei, il frastuono della musica troppo alta e veramente fastidioso e poco si addice alla location, centro storico, fronte chiesa, sarebbe un bel salotto con la musica adeguata, all interno del nostro ristorante vie e' sempre trasmessa musica jazz soul dai ritmi rilassanti che meglio si accompagna ad una buona cena, ma la piazza non e' di nostra propieta'e tutti hanno il diritto di lavorare nell interesse della loro clientela.....da questo anno abbiamo una terrazza sovrastante il ristorante con una vista magnifica sul paese, al riparo dal rumore e dal caos estivo, alla prossima volta, prenoti in terrazza, sara un esperienza diversa, tantissimi saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We came here for lunch as our flight back to England was an evening take off from Cagliari. We’d noticed it the day before while enjoying an ice cream from the blue and white ice cream shop almost opposite. Directly next door to another restaurant and thinking for a moment it was all one, it looks idyllic. The tables sheltered from the searing heat under a large tree, a chance to watch people go by in this sleepy little Sardinian town. We were the first for lunch, arriving just as a smoking couple at a nearby table were finishing their coffees. We tried to avoid their unpleasant wafts by choosing a table away from the plumes, and were shown to a table below a giant branch of the tree. My wife, being shorter than me had to crouch down to sit down and when she did her head was just inches away from the stout branch. Great for a photo - not so good for a carefree laid back meal. “I best watch out when I get up,” she said as the petite waitress arrived with menus, taking the long way round as the tree branch prevented a direct route. I thought to myself Health and Safety would never allow this restaurant to place a table in such a position back home. Indeed the restaurant itself would have avoided it for fear of being sued by someone with a bump on their head.
My menu in the form of a brochure had come away from its cover but it was varied and detailed and there was a loose page with the day’s specials. The obligatory bread arrived - crisp Sardinian style, white and some integra or whole meal which was different and welcome. It was delivered in a brown paper bag. Very environmental, I thought. I tried to order Grandma’s Spaghetti as I wanted something substantial and creative and it certainly fitted the bill from the description. However the waitress came back to say in Italian that it wasn’t possible. Instead, avoiding all choices with cheese, cream and wine vinegars as they spark sinus attacks, I went for one of the day’s specials, tickled by the description of crispy boiled bacon with mint sauce and celeriac. I ordered potatoes as well as they seemed to be missing from the meal. They were pricey for what they were - a bowl of boiled chunks sprinkled with chopped chive - 6 euros! I should have guessed - the boiled beef came up in three fat small size burgers coated in a crispy shell, looking pretty unappetising like something from out of a freezer. I cut into one and found the meat delectable - very tender. However the taste was bland. It was asbif the meat flavour had been boiled away and there was no flavour in the drying crispy coating. The celeriac was chopped small and coated in a creamy mixture with a taste of white wine vinegar or something similar. I wasn’t too pleased - neither ingredient had been included in the menu and my sinuses suffered later as a result. The mint sauce came in three pale green blobs which I just very faintly could determine a hint of mint. Fortunately, being a special, the price included a bottle of water and a coffee but I was told it had to be an espresso rather than an Americano. My wife had a tuna salad that came with sliced boiled egg, anchovies, olives, tomato sliced, lettuce and some other salad. My wife thought at 12 euros it was overpriced for the relatively small portion. As we neared the end of our meal, another couple arrived and took a table near us, ordered coffee and cake ..... and lit up. This time no escaping the fumes so we paid the 37 euros and left sharpish. It was a shame - not a fine final meal to remember Sardinia by. It’s taught me to do research via tripadvisor first rather than choose a place by its looks.

1  Thank tgtheradiOman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter john n, Direttore at Federico's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Dopo avere letto questa bella recensione.... credo di avere capito che il mangiare le e' piaciuto, anche se probabilmente non aveva capito cosa mangiasse, la location le era piaciuto uguale, non e' piaciuto il fumo dei vicini e dei nuovi arrivati....ma purtroppo in italia non esiste una legge per i fumatori all aperto, spetta al buon senso dei fumatori evitare malumori, non possiamo farci nulla....strano che le abbiano detto che gli spaghetti della nonna fossero terminati....mha che dire...la saluto e spero e le auguro abbia modo di tornare ed assaporare meglio i nostri piatti...saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

This is potentially a great place with a nice atmosphere and ambiance with a good, innovative menu and friendly staff.

The food was excellent and not too expensive given that it was prepared very well and presented equally well. We had the pasta with mussels and mozzarella and pesto to share followed by the pork with mirto for my wife and rabbit for myself.

This place would easily deserve a 5 rating if it were not for the fact that other diners could smoke where they put everyone. We are so used to not having to deal with this problem any longer that it was a spoiler to our meal.

Thank Dokieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter john n, Direttore at Federico's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Grazie siamo onorati della vostra gentile recensione, purtroppo quando si mangia all aperto, e nella pubblica piazza non abbiamo armi per contrastare il fumatore maleducato, abbiamo all interno una terrazza magnifica nella quale e' vietato fumare ai tavoli, ma quello e nostro territorio e le regole le dettiamo noi..;))))) saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

This is a delightful restaurant: you sit under a tree next to the church with jazz playing in the background.
The menu is very original and it was hard to choose what to have: it all sounded interesting and tasty. We settled for sea bass with a curry sauce and linguine with squid. The service was very prompt and professional and food was very well presented and so so tasty. Puddings were also good as was the coffee.
Shane we have run out of time to revisit.

Thank Kippur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter john n, Direttore at Federico's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Grazie e sara-felici della vostra gentile recensione, saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Had the pleasure of experencing a very good meal at the Pula market square at Federico's. Nice ambience at this lively outdoor restaurant. Nice setting amongst the trees. Grilled octopus was great as a starter, then seafood stew in a spicy red tomato broth. Pasta menu had many options. Wine and drink list were both really good with some great selections.

Thank waynep747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter john n, Direttore at Federico's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Grazie siamo onoratissimi della sua magnifica recensione, spero di riaverla presto presso il nostro ristorante, saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Federico's Cafe also viewed

Pula, Province of Cagliari
Pula, Province of Cagliari
 
Pula, Province of Cagliari
Pula, Province of Cagliari
 
Pula, Province of Cagliari
 

Been to Federico's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing