We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Gea

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Double room with en suite bathroom granted only when there are more than 5 guests for a small fee
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Jan H
Ankeny, Iowa
2 reviews
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Villa Gea is beautiful! We stayed for a long weekend and wish we would have booked for a week! Anita was a wonderful hostess-very helpful and accommodating. She greeted us on arrival and made sure we had everything we needed. We used all of the bedrooms as we are a family of five. We really appreciated the two sets of keys and the snacks and toiletries that were available for our use. The nearby grocery store was great! Reasonably priced and well stocked. Be warned-Praiano is built on a cliff so you will climb, and climb, and climb! a lot of steps. Wear your Fitbit and rack up the steps! The pebble beaches are lovely -small but so clear!! Everything is clean and beautiful. We highly recommend Praiano and Villa Gea!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina G
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful home away from home”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (2 adults and 2 children, ages 10 & 13) stayed at the villa for 10 nights in June and had a wonderful time! The villa is very comfortable and offered us a great base for day trips to Pompei, Capri, Ravello and the beach. Anita and her boyfriend were very friendly and helpful with the luggage upon arrival and departure. We hope to return and stay at this beautiful villa again in the future. Climbing the steps is definitely a challenge, so would not recommend this location to the elderly or people with small children. Thank you Anita!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goneagain...
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not pass up this spectacular villa”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Gea offers you everything you need for a perfect stay on the Coast. The Villa is immaculate and has every amenity including two balconies over the sea and a back yard with patio furniture, bbq and views of the sea. For those who like to boat, there are daily excursion from the Port of Praiano and you can also take a bus to Positano or Amalfi to enjoy more beaches and shopping. For those who want to relax, there is a market just down the street and the villa has a gas stove, oven, fridge, freezer and all the pots, pans and dishes. Free Internet worked great. Tv's in the bedrooms and living rooms... but you really won't be looking anywhere but at the stunning views. We have stayed on the Amalfi coast before.This location was even better than our wonderful stay in Positano in 2011. Easily the best accommodations of a 6 week tour in Italy. Our host Anita was kind and generous and met us on the street. She arranged a parking pass for us along the roadway about two streets away. We were helped with our luggage up the stairs to the villa and given a thorough tour of the property. Very private and secure location with a locked gateway. Do not pass this one up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: privacy, security, location, views, amenities, luxury.
Liked least: steps
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngaKrits
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beyond all expectations”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've had an unforgettable vacation thanks to the excellent accommodation at villa Gea.
It was one of these rare cases when the reality beats the internet pictures. We sought for a comfortable place to sleep and the most important for us was to have 3 bedrooms with 3 bathrooms. In fact we got an exceptionally clean, modern, very well kept villa equipped with all appliances and utensils you can imagine. We liked that each room and bathroom is at a different level, so each couple enjoys maximum privacy. The location was perfect, Priano is just in the middle of the Amalfi Coast and it was very convenient to reach every place we wanted to visit.
Anita, the owner was very friendly and helpful, ready to answer every question and assist in every matter.
Frankly, I cannot list anything we didn't like in our stay. Even the famous stairs that almost all the guests mentioned as a drawback can be seen as an advantage - they keep you fit after all the abundant Italian food.
I would definitely recommend this villa for extended family with grown up kids or f group of friends. There is one more small single bedroom, so the place can accommodate up to 7 people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Villa Gea is perfect for a glorious holiday on the Amalfi coast”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of three spent 3 weeks at Villa Gea and loved every second of it. The villa is managed by the incredibly thoughtful and helpful Anita. Her family owns the villa. Clearly, they are proud of their property and proud to be Italian. Staying in Praiano will reveal the glories of Italian people and the Amalfi coast.

First of all, the villa is situated in the heart of Praiano, on a cliff overlooking the Mediterranean Sea -a view you will never tire of! Guests are close to terrific restaurants and a fine market. As you walk to restaurants and markets, flowers cascade down cliff walls, and the walkways are lined by fragrant lemon trees and and small gardens. The villagers are helpful and friendly -- and tolerant of attempts to speak Italian! Everyone will wish you "buongiorno"! Anita may bring you fresh potatoes and lemons -and perhaps a basil plant!

Daily, a succession of small buses will take you up and down the coast to Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc., in 10-20 minutes. The views of the sea and cliffs are spectacular.

The local beach and tiny harbour are launching points for daily trips to Capri, etc. Our favourite day was a day-long trip to Capri. We were picked up at the harbour and had a wonderful boat ride that involved islands, grottoes, and a dip in the sea, as well as 4 hours on the island itself.

If you're willing to drive, Pompeii, Naples, Herculaneum and Paestum provide fascinating day trips to spectacular historical sites and ruins.

One side-note is that exploring Praiano (and the Amalfi coast in general) involves going up and down many steps (500 steps up and down to the beach, more or less), so you need to be reasonably fit to get around.

The villa is spotless and comfortable. The romantic Anita has rose petals and candles by the tub-for-two.

I'd go back there tomorrow, if I could! Instead, I'll go to work and save money for my return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Living in an authentic Italian village.
Liked least: The stairs!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing