We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 1st visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Onda Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Onda Verde
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great 1st visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We decided on a 1st Amalfi coast trip to spend 3 days Positano, take water taxi to Amalfi (3 nights also) before moving to the mid point Praiano for a final 2 nights.
It worked well but on a return visit we would make it revolve around Praiano - the best location on the coast. Onda Verde has an excellent location - it is not a long walk to the centre of Praiano 20 mins (and all downhill on the way back!).
This was one of the finest hotels I have stayed in, and although we did not want a car - the SITA buses (stop outside) are fine, i noted the parking was free.
Cuisine was excellent and the whole hotel had a very sociable feel and made many new friends sitting on the sun terrace a 90 second walk from the water.
I would have one small criticism only - that the service charge of 15% preapplied to the food bill is slightly excessive but negoitable i am sure.
We do not do any tours as we felt that Herculaneum or Pompeii are best visited on arrival day or the day after if you arrived Naples in the evening, or maybe on departure day with a driver.
With an evening arrival you can either debunk to Naples or go to Sorrento (75 mins on the excellent Curreri Viaggi coach shuttle 10Euros) and then use the Circumvesuviana train next morning to go to Herculaneum or Pompeii which both have left luggage facilities or alternatively leave luggage at Sorrento hotel for a few hours.
Can't wait to go back - thank you Milano family.
Steve P

Room Tip: Room location not terribly important - they all seemed good and you will only sit on your balcony fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    160
    24
    13
    8
See reviews for
121
586
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Have just returned from Italy finishing off with a week at Onde Verde. It is far more fabulous than in the pictures!! Rooms have been updated and are beautifully clean with views to die for! Location is fantastic, wonderful to be able to escape from the crowds. Thank you to Giuseppe for picking figs from his Mother's tree for my breakfast and to the chef for showing me how to make real Ravioli - a fair trade was to get him to taste Vegemite! We have left behind friends, and brought home wonderful memories.

Room Tip: Handy to have a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis Tn
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My first three days in Italy I stayed at Hotel Onda Verde. I am so glad I chose the smaller town of Praiano over Positano or Amalfi. The area is beyond belief gorgeous and I spent hours just looking at the views. The hotel is wonderful and restaurant is excellent. I walked to town, about 20 minutes, but there is also a small beach next to the hotel and several other bars and restaurants within a short walk. My single room was small but comfortable and the views from my shared balcony made it impossible to stay indoors. I will return here and would recomend this hotel for all travelers. It has easy access to the other Amalfi towns without the large amounts of tourist.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with seaview and a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonner1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

After our first visit to Onde Verde our dream was to return and we did! We spent a perfect ten days there in August and were not disappointed. The Milano family are so welcoming, Miro and Frencsco can't do enough for you, whether it is helping to organize a tour, bus ticket or just to have a chat, nothing is too much trouble. We did half board so each morning we enjoyed choosing our evening meal, there was plenty of choice and the food is delicious. Nicola, the chef produced the most amazing meals, fresh pasta, seafood, I could go on and on!! My only regret is that I didn't ask for a couple of recipes!

Two other people that helped to make the trip so much fun are Raphael and Guiseppe. They are the best waiters we have come across, so friendly, always remember what you like and certainly make each guest feel very special. They are a real asset to the Onde Verde.

The hotel itself is a true getaway. From the moment you step into the lift and go down to the sixth floor you know something special is about to happen and when you step out and see the most beautiful view, it couldn't be more magical. The rooms are lovely, no complaints there either!

We used both the bus and the water taxis to get around, Amalfi and Positano are only a short, of course a trip by water is a great way to see the beauty of the coastline. The tours to Capri, Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius are well organized and worth doing. You really are in another world when you stay at Hotel Onde Verde and once again, we want to go back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazzieBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Onda Verde has got to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in! It has a spectacular view and beautiful rooms. Adding to the surreal and natural beauty of this hotel dug deep down into the mountain, the chef, Nicola and waiter, Giuseppe truly made this experience one I will never forget! They are truly accommodating and just want to make you happy. This hotel is incredibly picturesque and it's beaches are inhabited by the locals of the area which makes it truly authentic. Despite the number of stairs, the hotel is situated only a short walk away from the spectacular mediterranean sea where you can take a water taxi to any one of the other towns along the Amalfi Coast. This hotel, with all its staff make for a truly phenomenal stay for any occasion.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loriana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.8 km away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.9 km away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.4 km away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onda Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onda Verde

Property: Hotel Onda Verde
Address: Via Terra E Mare 3, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price range (per night): $248 - $465
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Onda Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Onda Verde" hotel, situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, offers an unforgettable stay for nature lovers in search of tranquillity. Like a perfectly set diamond, Onda Verde is in an enchanting location among the beautiful inlets of the coast; 7 km (4.2 miles) equidistant from the towns of Amalfi and Positano. The Hotel boasts an exclusive panorama of the Amalfi Coast; views include the Saracen Tower of Praiano, and that of the Conca Promontory, as well as Paestum, Capri and the Point of Campanella. The hotel is very near the cliffs and the beach. Its facilities and amenities enable guests to enjoy the sea and soak up the sun in the most inviting, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. When each guest arrives, they are greeted by a friendly reception. The Hotel has twenty five (25) private rooms nestled in five (5) mountainside villas as pictured here with bathroom, hair dryer, safety deposit box, minibar, telephone, free Wi-fi connection, satellite TV, air conditioning and breathtaking panoramic view. If you are a lover of beauty and nature, and you wish to watch breathtaking sunrises and romantic sunsets, Onda Verde is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Onda Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onda Verde Hotel
Onda Verde Praiano
Hotel Onda Verde Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing