We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view in Positano”
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marincanto
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best view in Positano”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed four nights in June and can't wait to return. The hotel is beautifully located over the sea with breathtaking views of Positano and the Amalfi coast. The grounds are very well kept and maintained. Everywhere you turn, it's a view to die for. The infinity pool is very nice, sparkling clean and refreshing. It was a bit on the nippy side and we were told the pool heater is not working. There are plenty of sun-bathing areas and chairs, and umbrellas for shade. We did not use the beach at all. The breakfast terrace was gorgeous. It was a short walk downhill to shops and restaurants - not a problem at all. Great location! Another positive about the location is that there is no noisy road in front of the hotel, just the sea.

Our room was a Jr Suite, very large, very clean. The bathroom was very large with a jacuzzi as well as shower. The room was quiet and private. Beds, very firm and comfortable. Turndown service was a nice touch too.

Breakfast was wonderful, nicely presented, fresh and a nice variety each day. Light meals were also available the rest of the day until 10:00 PM. We had salads for lunch, which were very fresh and tasty. Bar service was also available.

The service was exceptional. All of the staff went out of their way to be accommodating and efficient and they should be commended. They were on it! We had to leave at 4:00 AM to catch our flight out of Naples. They made arrangements for the Taxi and even packed us a breakfast for the road.

This was our favorite spot in Italy. We also visited Venice, Florence/Tuscany, but wished we had planned more time in Positano. We will definitely be back to Hotel Marincanto!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Critic46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    210
    38
    14
    10
See reviews for
156
779
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2011

To stay at the Hotel Marincanto is a joy. The views are incredible. The location the perfect distance from town. The rooms are kept immaculate. However, the most amazing part of the Hotel Marincanto experience is the staff. Never have I encountered a more devoted, charming and welcoming group of employees, especially Antonella and Monica. Traveling to Italy has been a dream of mine for my entire life, and the people and experience at the Hotel Marincanto exemplified the Italians' perfection of hospitality and went above and beyond my expectations. It was a dream come true and from now on, it will be my dream to return to Positano.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gconti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The fragrance emanating from the cascading jasmine bushes lining the outside staircase was the cherry on the top for me and my husband...

I surprised my husband with a trip for his 45th birthday - we wanted a place that was tranquil and beautiful to have a complete break from reality (and from a busy household with four young children!). I could not have picked a more perfect destination.

Monica and Antonella, the two women who run the show, are warm, kind, hospitable and absolutely professional. Monica the owner, has been running this business for many years, having taken over from her father, the founder of the hotel. Hospitality is obviously in her genes, and we could not have been welcomed more warmly by her and by Antonella, Monica's extremely capable assistant. Both Antonella and Monica answered emails (many) with humour and patience, and answered many questions and made reservations for us regarding restaurants, boat schedules, shopping, you name it. Always, with a smile and with a genuine desire to help.

Aside from the staff, including the wonderful Rita and Lisa who served breakfast with a smile on the stunning breakfast terrace surrounded by lemon trees and with a view of the gorgeous bay and the breathtaking town of Positano, the hotel itself is beautiful. The views from the rooms, from the sundeck, from the amazing infinity pool, and from the breakfast terrace, as mentioned, are SPECTACULAR. Each morning, my husband and I woke up to breathtaking beauty. We would sit on our terrace, in awe, almost speechless, at the overwhelming beauty that we had the privilege to absorb. Despite that we stared out at the view for hours a day, we never tired of it. I think it would be impossible to. And what tranquiity....

The room that we were in (212) was spacious and beautiful, with a colourful painting on one square of the domed ceiling, so that when we lay in bed, we looked up at further beauty. The room was full of light and had two terraces, one stand-up terrace facing the bay that was directly opposite our bed so that as soon as we woke up we looked straight out at the water and at the blue sky, and another terrace with a table and chairs facing Positano and on which we relished having a bottle of wine in the evenings in the peace and quiet. The bathroom was large, accompanied by all the amenities (including plush bathrobes and slippers) and a huge window, overlooking that incredible Positano view. Of course, everything was spotless. The friendly cleaning staff came in to clean twice a day, with evening service including little pillow chocolates.

We could barely tear ourselves away from breakfast because of the setting. The food was abundant with delicious fresh mozzarella (in several versions) and other cheeses, fresh fruit, juices, vegetables, bread, eggs (hard-boiled), different cereals, and home-made desserts including fantastic tiramisu. Of course, Rita or Lisa would come around as soon as we were seated to ask us about our coffee selection (great cappuccinos). It was hard to get up and leave to get on with the day when we were seated at tables overlooking the bay and the gorgeous town.

When we finally did tear ourselves away to return to our rooms (after stopping by the jasmine on the stairs, always standing there for a while to inhale the fragrance!), it was after a meal that was so filling that we really did not need to eat anything else until dinner. We would then either go to the sun deck and relax, again, staring out at the views of the bay and of Positano, dipping into the beautiful pool when we were hot or go for a walk into town either down the steps of the hotel (it's just a few minutes down the steps from the hotel to the beach and then right into town, extremely convenient) or through the streets. On other days, we took a boat to Capri for one day and a boat to Amalfi and Ravello on another day. Both trips were amazing.

The beauty of Positano is breathtaking. There are mountains, flowers, incredible architecture and a lot to feast your eyes on. The place is so friendly and so much fun, with fantastic restaurants and great shopping. But what really made our trip perfect was the warmth, the beauty and the hospitality of the Marincanto and its fabulous staff.

We want to thank Monica, Antonella, Lisa, Rita and all the others at the hotel for making our trip a true dream come true. We have been back for only a couple of weeks, and are already dreaming about returning. When things get hectic in our lives, we close our eyes and think back to the serenity of this beautiful paradise and for a moment, we're back there among the lemon trees and the jasmine, smiling.

with much love, Tamara and Uli

Room Tip: Room 212 was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This is my first TA Review, but since I selected the Marincanto after doing research on TA Positano hotels with a swimming pool, I wanted to share my experience. I was impressed with the Marincanto since before we even left for Italy. They staff was so responsive to any of my questions over email and even were able to accomodate my room request (224), which I got from TA as well.
My husband and I are shocked this hotel is not in the top 5 in Positano! This hotel is adorable. They keep the grounds very well and we loved the lobby and breakfast terrace. The sundecks and pool were well managed by the pool boy on staff. One day, they even came around with little treats for the guests. Breakfast was ample and sufficient. They tried their best to mix up some of the options daily. We found the location to be perfect - the stairs to the beach was a plus, and it is right near the bus to Amalfi.
The view was the absolute best thing about this hotel! We just couldn't get enough of it. The Marincanto is on the less populated side of Positano, so our view was of all of the colorful hotels and houses on the other side, the sea and the beach.
If I had to pick a negative, it was that the furniture in the room wasn't updated. But that didn't bother us in the slightest because we spent most of our room time outside on the terrace.
I'm hoping to get back to Positano again one day, and no question that we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 224 was incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyctravelergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

There are very nice rooms and very bad rooms. Be careful. Need to be refurnished

Room Tip: try to book from the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bulent95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Hotel Marincanto, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Dear Valued Guest
We were disappointed to read your negative review of your stay at our hotel, but thank you for taking the time to write as we continually strive to improve both our services and our guests’ stay and it is with criticisms, both positive and negative, that we are able to do so.
However, we do feel it needs to be pointed out that the room you refer to is one of our standard rooms, which you requested, and which, despite your negative criticisms, also has many positive features, such as a Jacuzzi, a lovely large terrace of 10sqm and an enviable position overlooking the sea with an all-encompassing view over the Positano bay – these though, you fail to mention.
As the room did not meet your expectations, on the second day of your stay, we upgraded you to a superior room (Room 211), which is one of our most popular, but again, no mention is made of this.
Making comment about an experience is all very well, but it is pertinent to give the full story and as we went out of our way to improve your stay and allay your disappointment, we are ourselves equally disappointed that our care, hospitality and effort extended to you has not been reflected in your comments.
We trust that you will take this into consideration when you visit Positano again as we would very much like to see you once again amongst our guests – and we’re sure your comments will be of a more favorable nature!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 km away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#11 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Property: Hotel Marincanto
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price range (per night): $280 - $1,160
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing