We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel, Not too Pricey”
Review of Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Savoia
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel, Not too Pricey”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We visited Positano in October and chose the Savoia as a treat as the whole Amalfi Coast does not do cheap hotels as a rule. Service was very good on arrival, pointing us to the parking garage just down the road, NOTE Before the hotel on a long one way road so park before checking in or its a 15 minute round drive back again, or if its late in the evening and quiet just reverse like the Italians would do!
It has a nice location a few minutes walk down to the beach thru shopping/restaurant streets, free wifi (with code) in the comfy lounge area which is very rare in Italy, a brilliant breakfast, in a very nice restaurant with great breakfast selection (best of trip). Rooms were spacious and the bathroom was clean and tidy and relatively modern. Only downside but we found this in most hotels on the trip was the traffic noise, This was off season and it was loud, so in season it must be very bad.
Overall the best hotel of our trip but it was the most expensive so you would expect that.

Room Tip: Maybe higher up is quieter and maybe further around the road corner and the entrance side of hotel h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPHarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    229
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
169
372
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This hotel is everything we wanted. Great location, wonderful room, pretty view of the city and water. We were so glad we decided to stay there and would definitely stay again. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DB6CAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed at Hotel Savoia for a full week. Three couples in three adjoining rooms. The experience was exceptional from every aspect. Regina and her daughters are genuinely warm and welcoming hosts. They were helpful with restaurant recommendations, instructed us on how to use the Sita bus system, and welcomed us with big smiles upon each return.

We felt this hotel is perfectly situated on Via C. Colombo. It's a short uphill walk to the Sponda bus stop, and a downhill stroll to the shops and restaurants on Via Mulini, and to the beach. Of course, you still have to walk back uphill eventually, but that's how it is in Positano.

Our rooms were bright with beautiful tile floors, and spacious outdoor decks. One room even had double sinks, which isn't something you typically see in small European hotels. The breakfast room is spacious and light, and the service was very good. The hotel is so clean, it sparkles.

It was a wonderful "home base" for day trips to Ravello (highly recommend it... we walked down to Arani and Amalfi from there), Amalfi Town, Sorrento and Capri. We would not recommend visiting Capri. It was overrun with with thousands of tourists. In a gentle way, our hotel hosts tried to warn us about this.

On a future trip to Positano, we would go right back to Hotel Savoia, and not even research other properties because we so enjoyed the family and our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maija E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Fantastic room with a view balcony. Jacuzzi tub well worth it. Very helpful and courteous staff. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Definitely get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Super hotel. Excellent value. The friendliest, most helpful staff you could wish to find. We felt at home as soon as we arrived.
Large room with superb balcony with spectacular 270 degree view of sea, town and mountains. Hotel is right in the heart of the town but not at all noisy. Spotlessly clean. Excellent quality breakfast with wide choice of food plus extras if required.
Loads to do but staff can always suggest alternatives.
Would highly recommend to anyone and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I could not wish for better than the third floor end room with large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
840 reviews
0.4 km away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.6 km away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,229 reviews
0.5 km away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.4 km away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 39 in Positano
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia

Property: Hotel Savoia
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 73, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Positano
#18 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price range (per night): $175 - $375
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Hotel Savoia è affacciato sul panorama incantevole di Positano e si trova in una posizione privilegiata al centro del paese sulla “Piazzetta dei Mulini”.Banche, negozi e ristoranti sono a breve distanza e in 5 minuti si raggiunge la Spiaggia Grande, dalla quale si possono fare gite in barca all’Isola Dei Galli, alle spiaggette sulla costa e con le barche di linea, raggiungere Capri, Amalfi, Sorrento e Ischia. La comoda posizione centrale e a livello stradale consente di raggiungere tutte le destinazioni in breve tempo.Saremo lieti di darvi indicazioni per visitare Pompei, Ercolano o Ravello oppure indicarvi le passeggiate sui sentieri di montagna che sono famosi in tutto il mondo come il “Sentiero degli Dei”.L’Albergo è a gestione familiare da 3 generazioni è completamente ristrutturato ma mantiene lo stile originario mediterraneo con volte a cupola e pavimenti in ceramica locale.I confort moderni si armonizzano con la discreta eleganza degli ambienti e il tutto vi offre un soggiorno piacevole e rilassante.La ricca colazione a Buffet viene servita nella nostra sala con aria condizionata oppure in camera sui terrazzini che si affacciano su Positano e sul mare della Costiera Amalfitana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing