We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (880)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
526
198
83
38
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
198
83
38
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolshuttle servicethe main hotelli gallishuttle busour honeymoonamalfi coastamazing viewsrooms are smalldeluxe roomperched highbreakfast roomwalk upthe hotel offerscommon areasmagical placebeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
527 - 532 of 880 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Villa Franca is perfectly situated overlooking the ocean and Poitano itself. Our deluxe room had a tiny balcony, and was beautiful. Though small, and with little storage the high ceilings and bright white decor made it feel larger and very cheery!

Breakfast was included and is lovely. We ate in the hotel restaurant one night and found the service friendly but slow, the food excellent, and the setting spectacular.

Some minor issues, the front desk act as the concierge and follow through was lousy. Reservations were not alwaysb made, and one night they made the reservation at a place with a shuttle, told us where to go for the shuttle, but never told the other restaurant to send a shuttle!

Second, the hotel shuttle does not run between noon and five pm. The walk up and down is very doable. There is a shortcut taking the stairs, 204 stairs. This is fine going down. I did it going up the first time, not fun, unless you are in very good shape and prepared!

We would happily stay here again if returning to Positano.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view, the rooms can get warm and the breezes make it pleasant, we kept our balcony door open all night.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bookslut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed for two weeks in Villa Franca. Room 20 if you want the details!
Staff were brilliant, pretty pricey food and drink.... but look where you are.
Room was clean and bright. We paid for the sea balcony.... which you really don't need. I think we only ever stepped onto it to check the weather.
Our bathroom was a little grotty and run down considering the class of the hotel. Mould around the shower etc. And we lost hot water for 3 days and then the cold water for another.
Worst thing? THE NOISE. Don't plan on sleeping past 7.30am. The maids will see to that,
They bang, crash, drop metal buckets, drag things, bang the mop from wall to wall and chat away really loudly like giggling school kids.
It all echoes around the tiled building like you would not believe.
If that maids have not woken you, then the 7.45am power drills will.
If its not the hotel doing maintenance, then its one of the many building sites near the hotel. With all the buildings in Positano being stacked up so close, you just can't get away from it.
Saying that..... very nice hotel, very nice staff, very nice experience.

Oh, and if you are planning on getting married in Positano in 2012.... they are rebuilding half the town hall! Thankfully we only had pictures at our wedding. If we had a video, all you would have heard is the concrete breakers and pile drivers going

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the lift mechanism, It makes a right racket. Those would be rooms 19,20 and 21 I think. The higher up the building you can get, the less noise you will suffer from the room above. We know EVERYTHING the couple above us were up to.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve2381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Lovely hotel with attentive and caring staff. Angela and Franco were outstanding in the dining room. Front desk staff were and excellent and very helpful at all times. Small intiment pool which afforded magnificent vies of the water and landacape. Food in the dining room was outstanding and better then most local restaurants.
George & Cathie T

Room Tip: Check out drawer space
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This was our favorite hotel during our two week trip through Italy. Our room on the top floor had a balcony with a stunning view overlooking Positano, and the sunrises over the hills were spectacular. The bed and room were very comfortable, and we enjoyed the large tub and shower (after feeling cramped in some other hotels). The staff throughout the hotel was friendly and accommodating, and the restaurant was very good, both for breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms overlooking the beach and town offer awesome views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elpndj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I would certainly recommend this hotel. It has great views and the class is evident as soon as you enter. It also has a wellness centre where you can be pampered if you would like to.

There is also a restaurant there, however we didn't have a chance to try it out. We had a room with the sea view and it was amazing. There was a bust of Caesar and other nice pieces. The hotel was always super clean, as was our room, especially considering we had a lot of our junk everywhere.

I would suggest this hotel if you were going to Positano. There is a shuttle service that runs very often as this hotel is at the top of the stairs and the walk up can be a challenge after eating a scrumptious meal. My partner and I walked up each time, however you don't need to do this.

I will post pictures up soon.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Zesshhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews