We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Terrific Pick” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Pick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We selected the Hotel Poseidon in Positano after much research before our trip last May, and could not have been more pleased with our choice. Service and attention to detail were impeccable, including a sumptuous breakfast each day (offered in the dining room or served on our private terrace). Samer and the guest services team were most friendly, professional and accommodating, especially when our laptop experienced connection problems all week - they even offered their own laptop for our use. The view overlooking Positano and the sea was exquisite. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckAndJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for this review. We are very happy to know that your experience at Hotel Poseidon was up to your expectations. I have extended your comments to our staff members and they all send their warmest regards.
I personally thank you for your kind remarks and am happy to know that you consider returning to Hotel Poseidon. I am already looking forward for that.
Best regards
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    139
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
102
498
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Just over a week ago my now wife and I had our wedding at the Hotel Poseidon. But our relationship with the hotel started far earlier via email with their guest relations manager and now someone I consider a good friend, Samer. Countless emails including location, menu, music, and flower arrangements were sent back and forth. Samer was always very accomodating, and handled the situation perfectly. He arranged live music, local flowers, custom built a menu for our party, and made the overall experience flawless.

When we arrived at the Hotel Poseidon we were greeted by the most welcoming hotel staff I have ever encountered. Samer then introuduced himself, and we set up a time to meet and go over and finalize wedding plans. We were shown to our room which was amazing, with original tiles from when the hotel was built back in the 50's. The pool, terrace, and bar location became our favorite hangout and even people who were not staying at the hotel were always welcome to join us for a drink. (Sit out here at sunset and have some wine!)

Fastforward 3 days and it's wedding time. The weather is horrible, and yet there is the staff of the Hotel Poseidon all smiles, setting a table for 18 people outside and another inside just in case. Talk about taking care of your guests. The weather cleared and my wife and I had a beautiful ceremony. After that a prosecco toast and finger foods were passed around.(The staff never let a glass go empty!) The dinner began and it was out of this world, and the hotel staff and restaurant staff could not have been better. After dinner and some live music the hotel presented us with a local made from scratch lemon cake that was to die for. On top of that, we were given 2 bottles of Veuve Cliquot to toast our marriage with our wedding party. We invited the staff to join us for cake and champagne as they greatly deserved it. We had also become very close with other guests staying at the hotel (Reg, Laurie, Mark, Paige, Jonathan) and they joined in the festivites. After dinner, cake, music and some drinks the party really started. Marco the owner brought out a laptop (and some vintage beatles records) and a group of us sang Dean Martin, Sinatra, and some old italian songs while sipping (or slamming..) limoncello and sambuca. The staff behind the bar, Nino, Maria, and Salvatore were the best and I cannot thank them enough. Gaetano, the manager of Il Tridente was so graceful and accomodating it blows my mind.

What I noticed about the hotel is that if you are having a wedding or just staying a night, the staff was so great and they knew everybody by name.

Overall this will always be the best hotel I have stayed at. They have my business, and the business of my family for life. The memories made at this beautiful location will never fade. This, in my opinion is heaven on earth, and what makes it even more special are the people who work here. It's never too big or too small, and whatever you need will be taken care of swiftly and with a smile. If ever in Positano stay here, you will NOT be disappointed.

Thank you all at the Hotel Poseidon for everything.

Connor + Lauren

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Connor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Lauren & Connor,
Thank you for such a heartwarming review. We can't be happier to know that you fully appreciated the Poseidon experience.
It was our utmost pleasure having you all here and sharing with you such a special occasion
I have extended your comments to Monica, Marco and all our staff members and they all send their warmest regards.
Personally I enjoyed every single moment with you all and it was an absolute joy for me seeing you having the time of your life and will always cherish the memory of those days.
We look forward to having you with us again in the near future ( perhaps for you first anniversary?!) and congratulations again! Wishing you the happiest life together.
Sincerely
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Poseidon for 3 nights in August and we wish we could have stayed longer! We arrived via rental car from Naples and pulled up to the front of the hotel and the staff quickly unloaded our luggage and took our car to the garage so we didn't have to worry about a thing.

Check in was quick and Marco gave us great information about the area and took us on a quick tour of the hotel and showed us our rooms. My husband and I stayed in the funny room which was on the 4th floor, the super large terrace is accessed by a small set of stairs and you have a panoramic view of the sea and town of Positano - simply stunning! My parents had a room on the 3rd floor which I believe was a superior room (they were upgraded at check-in) - with beautiful terrace and similarly stunning views. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The entire hotel was absolutely charming with antique furnishings and flowers everywhere. The staff was incredibly friendly, professional and helpful in every way possible.

Breakfast was on their beautiful terrace and the spread provided so many options from eggs to meats and cheeses, pastries, fruit, yogurt, juices, mimosas and bloody marys, exceptional cappuccinos and more!

One of the afternoons we decided to drive to Ravello and Angelo at the front desk helped orient us and gave us detailed suggestions for our day trip along with a wonderful restaurant recommendation (Cupma' Cosimo) and sites to see. Our rental car was quickly brought up to the front entrance and off we went.

We wanted to take advantage of the boat trip the hotel offers during our stay, but unfortunately it's only offered three days a week and we were leaving the day that they offered it next.

On our last full day we spent it by the hotel pool as the beach was so crowded. We had a nice peaceful day by the pool and quick and friendly drink service to go along with it. Later that evening there was live music on the pool terrace and we had our aperitivo and went out to another great restaurant recommended by the hotel - Mediterraneo.

At the end of our stay, Samer chatted with my family and asked about our stay. We said we'll be back again and WE WILL. It's so refreshing to visit a hotel where the staff truly cares about your experience and goes out of their way to make it as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eatdessertfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for such a heart-warming and detailed review.
I have extended your comments to our staff members particularly Marco and Angelo and they all send their warmest regards.
I am glad that your experience at Hotel Poseidon fully met your expectations and this means a great deal to us.
We wished you stayed here longer but we' look forward to having you again here in the near future.
Sincerely
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located in the middle height of Positano, making it not too far from the beach and town center ( which is important as it is all steps!). The views are stunning from the rooms and the beautiful pool restaurant terrace. The staff is very professional and friendly. In all this is the perfect choice for a stay in Positano.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rpean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your review.
I am happy to know that your stay with us met your expectations and we hope to see you again in the near future.
I have extended your comments to the staff members and we all send you our warmest regards.
Best Regards
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton MA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

A week at the Poseidon was like a week in heaven! We found the hotel to be perfect in every way; service, location, features; food and overall ambience. The staff was incredibly attentive to us and our needs and made us feel like family. The pool was a welcome respite from 104 degree weather (it was August afterall!). I highly recommend this hotel and envy anyone that goes before we can get back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieGarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your warm and generous review.
We can't be happier to know that your stay with us was fully satisfying and we can not thank you enough for recommending Hotel Poseidon.
We look forward to having you among us again in the near future.
Sincerely
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#7 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.1 km away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#20 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#6 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.2 km away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Property: Hotel Poseidon
Address: Via Pasitea, 148, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Positano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price range (per night): $405 - $827
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poseidon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Poseidon, once a beautiful Mediterranean villa in the heart of Positano, is today a historical hotel in a green area overlooking the “vertical village“ and the Amalfi Coast, in a privileged position.Poseidon has offered for 50 years, thanks to the Aonzo family daily commitment, a discreet and elegant hospitality and the personnel politeness help to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing their guests to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon Positano
Poseidon Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing