We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Hospitality and stunning views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Monticello

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Positano, Amalfi Coast, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Dr John K
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality and stunning views”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
4
people found this review helpful

It all starts with the view. You've seen the photos. They're true! Absolutely stunning.
It's not easy to find at first. Google maps has the property placed much lower down - keep going up the road, and then some more and the property is on the right (downhill from the road) If you get to Montepertuso (there's a football pitch there, and the steps down to Positano) you have gone too far.
Teresa warmly welcomed us (she had to come and help us find the place because we got lost) showed us our apartment and was very helpful in suggesting a restaurant for the first night (Il Ritrovo... just go), and for booking us taxis to get to the beginning of walks we wanted to do one way. She responded to whatsapp and telephone calls to help us whenever we needed but otherwise left us to enjoy the peace, quiet and awesome views.
The apartment is well laid out, reverse aircon for cool or heat and a selection of very good value, nice Italian wines so you don't have to lug them from the mini market yourself.
They help with the bags using a hoist so we didn't have to carry our suitcases up or down the plentiful steps.
Parking is easy and secure just below the road.
Very very good value. Yes, it is a good walk down to Positano and the hourly bus service is punctual.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredthefi...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Divine view from a lovely appartment”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This rental has it all - the apartment is compact but well equipped, the owners are charming and helpful, the view from the terrace is extraordinary, it has private parking (a must in busy Positano if you rent a car) and there are facilities a short walk away.
We spent a week here exploring the Amalfi coast, and loved having this apartment to come back to. There is a bus that stops just outside to take you down into Positano (the 1300 or so steps down to the town are quite a challenge!) but you don't need to go into town for a restaurant. There are four in and just outside Montepertuso, and two more in Nocelle. The little shop a short walk away provides everything you will need to cook for yourself, and the kitchen in the flat is well equipped. The owners provide a good selection of wines and spirits in the flat for you to buy if you would like them.
But the big thing here is the view - the property is impossibly high above Positano, it is a magical spot to watch the sun illuminating the valley. And it's lovely to come back to the peace and quiet of this view after a busy day in the crowds below.
Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: 60+ steps up/down from the entrance!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IamLindyL...
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Quiet & Relaxing Vacation Spot”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I had the most enjoyable, quiet and relaxing week at Casa Monticello - away from the crowds and bustle of Positano, but with the most breathtaking views of the town and sea. The apartment is spacious, clean, and very well equipped with all the amenities we could possibly want. The terrace was indeed the highlight for us as we spent many, many hours there, soaking up the sunshine and the amazing vista before us. The days were hot during our stay, and the sun shower was definitely appreciated and well used! As with most properties on the Amalfi coast, there were quite a few steps to the apartment, but it is cleverly equipped with a hoist which took the luggage directly to the apartment level. It is an easy walk from Casa Monticello to Montepertuso and we walked there daily to buy groceries from the local market (which was well stocked with most provisions). We can suggest Il Ritrivo and Donna Rosa restaurants in Montepertuso - both serving delicious meals with very good service. One day we walked to the next village, Nocelle, which took us about 45 minutes - a bit longer than the 20 minutes estimated by young locals :) I'd highly recommend the walk for the stunning views of the Amalfi coast . If you wish to visit Positano, the local bus runs hourly and stops right outside the apartment gates. Raffaele, Teresa, and Fabrizio were incredibly gracious and helpful hosts. They kindly arranged our transportation in from the Positano ferry and onward to Naples, and we were very thankful for their help with both of these trips. A bonus delight is Cooper their adorable, friendly little dog!! Hopefully we'll be able to make a return visit one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing terrace and the amazing views
Liked least: I can't think of anything we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groves97
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Would go again tomorrow”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A perfect holiday base. We were able to use this place as if it were our home. Teresa speaks good English and the whole family are there if you need them. The views from the veranda are spectacular. You do not need a hire car Raffaele can organise transfers to/from the airport. The local bus stops at the end of the drive and buses and ferries from Positano can get you every where else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful views
Liked least: When sun went behind clouds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thanks for the wonderful review.
The Groves Lords have proved kind and nice on the first day, I hope to avrli again as guests

Raffaele and Teresa Guida
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra B
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment with amazing views”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We spent 10 days here and it was a wonderful experience. We got a warm welcome from the owners, Rafaelle and his daughter Theresa, and they were always available for help and advice; while not being intrusive at all.
The apartment is extremely well equipped even having things such as a kettle and a toaster which you don't always get outside the uk. There was also a selection of wines and other drinks which you could purchase at very sensible prices.
It is however the location which makes this holiday home so special. Perched above Positiano the views are breathtaking; and a large terrace gives you the means to enjoy them to the full. Being so close to the mountains means you are in good walking territory but for sightseeing there is a local bus which is cheap and reliable, and gets you down (and back up again) to Positano itself.. The only slight downside to the bus is that it does get very packed which can be uncomfortable in the heat.
There are a couple of good local restaurants within walking distance, and the local mini supermarket while small is friendly and well stocked.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing