We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
367
25
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
25
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arienzo beach the bus apartment laura amalfi coast short walk italian mother apartment was spacious speaks excellent english fully equipped kitchen fruit trees family running fantastic hosts lovely family croissants private beach guest house breathtaking views of positano
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2018

This is much more than a B&B. Gilda, Guiseppe and Rosa made us feel like part of the family.
The guesthouse is located on the outskirts of Positano so the view from literally everywhere is of the town and the bay, and absolutely spectacular. There is parking on the premises (at a small extra charge) which is necessary and very convenient. It is a 20 minute walk into the center of town, a little bit hair raising for a non local (along the narrow main road) but very natural in this area. Most walks (including to the beach) include quite steep down and uphills and/or steps, but that is the character of this town and the whole Amalfi Coast. The complex is large and spread out with terraces filled with vegetables and fruit growing as well as other garden areas.
The breakfast is good with something for everyone's taste. The coffee, which was offered to us at other times as well, is wonderful.
The apartments are spacious, clean, functional and comfortable. They have spectacular views. We had a fully equipped kitchen and if you choose to cook, you'd do well to stop and stock up at a supermarket before entering the Amalfi Coast villages where you'll only find expensive minimarkets. We were happy to eat at trattorias recommended to us by Rosa, taken and returned by shuttle services offered by the restaurants. The recommendations were good, prices very reasonable and the transport very convenient.
The best and most unique feature of this guesthouse is without a doubt the loving and attentive family running it. I have traveled a lot but have yet to encounter the warmth, the care, the patience and generosity of our hosts. (This was apparent already in the month preceding our visit, during which I communicated with Rosa by email asking her questions about the area in order to plan properly). Gilda and Guiseppe communicated beautifully with us through sign language (and google translate!) and Rosa in fluent English giving us explanations, recommendations, directions, maps, timetables and advice as if she were our tour guide. There is also an impressive collection of tour guide books on the region, available for guests' use. We felt comfortable to spend all of our "at home" time on the large common patio overlooking the bay, in the company of the friendly cats and dog taken in by this special family. They spent time chatting with us but also gave us (a group of friends) ample privacy.
I will be back and I highly recommend that you go too!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tammy0364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

My family and I had a wonderful time staying in Holiday House Gilda! The place is so beautiful, tucked away from touristy town center but close enough. You can walk to the center and back. There’s also a bus.
We loved the beach down below our room...It’s a magical place!
We loved getting to know Gilda and Rosa! Their hospitality, warmth and thoughtfulness made us feel at home there! Rosa kindly arranged a driver pick us up in Pompeii, bring us to Positano, and at the end of our stay drive us to Naples train station to catch our train to Florence. She was so sweet and helpful making our dinner reservations, giving us suggestions, answering our daily questions. We also enjoyed talking to Rosa and learning about life in Italy, Positano, her background and experience working at Gilda’s for ten years. It truly felt like a family there.
We loved petting their numerous cats, especially fat Tommy, an aloof pup Miguel. We made some wonderful memories at Holiday House Gilda and can’t wait to come back there!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GalinaR103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

My husband and I recently stayed at Holiday House Gilda for two weeks during our vacation in Positano. Like everyone else who leaves a review of Holiday House, we can't say enough about how special Rosa, Gilda and Guiseppe made our stay. Each morning we would be greeted at breakfast by smiles and warm greetings of Buon Giorno and a delicious assortment of breads, yogurt and fruit, and if you had a request for eggs, as my husband always did, Gilda would cook them to your liking. While we leisurely enjoyed our breakfast and the lovely view from our table, we might be entertained by a sweet kitty cat who came to visit, or perhaps Miguel, their friendly and adorable little dog would make an appearance.
The apartment we rented for our stay was perfect for us. We had a small kitchen with table and chairs, a stove and mini fridge which was all we needed, and the living room/bedroom was more than adequate for our needs and best part - opened up onto our own private terrace over looking the bay of Positano. To be greeted each day by the beautiful sight of the ever changing colors of the water, the pretty pastel colored houses on the hills of Positano and the Le Galli Islands in the distance is something we shall never forget, it always brought a smile to our faces. In the afternoon we would sit out on our terrace enjoying our view and a drink and we could hear the sounds of laughter and conversation (in Italian so we didn't understand) coming from the house. Sometimes, while taking a walk around the garden area, you might run into Guiseppe planting potatoes in his garden. Holiday House made us feel we were part of a family, not just tourists at an impersonal hotel.
Getting around from Holiday House is easy, the bus into the center of town stops just a short distance up the road, as does the bus to Amalfi. If you feel like walking into town, it only takes about 20 minutes.
We have nothing but the highest praise for Rosa, the manager of Holiday House Gilda. She speaks excellent English, she responded to all our requests, answered all our questions, never appeared impatient, and to top it all off, she has a great sense of humor. She's the best!
We would love to go back to beautiful and lively Positano, but only if we could stay once again at Holiday House Gilda with Rosa, Gilda and Guiseppe.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

I am almost reluctant to review as I want to keep this location a secret. Our stay in Positano was over the top. The location of our apartment was idyllic...away from the hustle and bustle of Positano but with easy access to it along with access to neighboring Amalfi Coast towns. Rosa was exceptional in giving advice and arranging transportation to restaurants that provided a free shuttle which is necessary if you are unfamiliar with the area. Breakfasts are provided at a small fee if desired. The view here is amazing. I spent many hours after sightseeing on the veranda with a glass of wine and a great read. Thank you, Rosa, and the staff of Gilda’s Holiday House, for making our holiday simply magical!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Travelbug30189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

This place is a bit older and dated but the location is convenient . The place was easy to access and they had a parking spot for our vehicle.. We stayed in an apt not just a hotel room. The view was exceptional and the common sitting area was bright and airy. The breakfast was decent. You can walk to the town center which is just over 1km away. The biggest plus is the hospitality of Gilda and her husband as well as the staff. They make you feel like family.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ElviraD527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews