We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and quite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Cappugi
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Pistoia
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and quite hotel”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The staff was very friendly and toloreable with my 2 1/2 year old daughte. The room was very clean, bathroom spacy enough a nice balcony, but the bed was a bit hard if you like hard beds than it should be alright (too hard for my back). Outstanding breakfast the food there were fresh and delicious. Very close to Sienna, Florence, Pisa and great connection to the highway. Very quiet place to stay and we will definitely try to stay there again.

Room Tip: Junior suite is quite spacy enough for three people (2 adults, 1 child)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    273
    36
    8
    3
See reviews for
171
236
18
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We always refer to tripadvisor when booking hotels and it has never let us down. It's so great to get honest reviews and advice and has been our best travel guide for years.

But we were so disappointed with our five night stay in Villa Cappugi in the first week of July this year, despite the fact that it was voted No 1 for hotels in Pistoia. Not surprisingly it has slipped down the pecking order a little!

It would be fine for commercial travelers, but not for people on holidays. From the start we did not feel welcomed at the hotel - which is a first for us in all our holidays in Italy.

The pool was so busy during the day, with loads of non residents enjoying noisy water aerobics classes. I felt terrible as when we came down looking for sun beds, the pool attendant made her friends give us theirs. We felt really uncomfortable, like we were intruding, not guests in the hotel. We just wanted to chill and relax, but we felt like we were gatecrashing someone's party that we weren't invited too! Not guests who had paid premium for a little relaxation!!

Our room was only OK, even though we paid extra for a larger sized room - shower was absolutely tiny. The room was very clean, but it did not live up to the description on the hotel website. The air conditioning kept on cutting out at night and when we told the girls at reception, they didn't come and check it out, just told us we didn't have the door closed properly. Finally by day three when we were so tired from lack of proper sleep in a really hot room, we asked to be moved. Instead the girl on reception, just make an adjustment at the desk, in literally one minute she was able to adjust the temperature control. It has been set too high. Just don't understand why this wasn't done from day one.

The level of customer service did not live up to the reviews it got on tripadvisor, by any means. We really felt like we were a nuisance, when we asked about the air conditioning and then it was so frustrating to see they could have fixed it straight away for us.

When we returned from holidays we discovered we had left my husband's expensive shirts in one of the drawers at the hotel. We rang immediately, but the hotel said they could not find them. They were not very pleasant on the phone and not a bit helpful when we asked them to check again with the Head of Housekeeping or re-check lost and found. We definitely left them there. We rang again and again and then gave up. No one ever came back to us.

We have been to Italy every year for the past seven years and stayed in a wide range of places, all of them we would definitely return to except Villa Cappugi.

The hotel did not live up to expectations, but that would have been OK, but the level of customer service at the front desk was appalling.

The missing shirts was just the final straw and summed up what we found to be a very poor experience, not worth the money.

We are already planning our next holiday to Tuscany, but will definitely not stay at Villa Cappugi again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deirdre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacappugi, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cappugi, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Dear Deirdre Kerry,

I was very sorry to read your negative comment about our hotel. I have carefully read every point of it and I cannot figure out how, while we received other excellent reviews, your experience here at Villa Cappugi could have been so unfulfilling.
Of course we understand that, trying to give the more detailed oriented service to our guests, sometimes would not be the best choice for some of them. I now refer to the chance to get water aerobics classes during summer time. Timetables, as you know, were very limited: 50 minutes at lunch time, 50 minutes in the late evening, 3 days a week. Out of it, silence and relax were always guaranteed.

We found out that, not always but some day, sun beds where not enough. We took it as important point for next summer to have some more, in case of high attendance as last summer.
I personally think that our pool attendant was very kind to do that for you, I would have taken it just as an example of cordiality.

Your reservation was for a classic room, if you require a deluxe room once here in hotel, it is very usual to pay a difference for a superior accommodation.

About the air-conditioning system, by check-in time we always give a welcome letter as well as detailed oral information to explain how this and other systems work. I am displeased to know that you found our information letter not useful.

We sought the missing shirts without success. It is usual for us to send lost items, sometimes insured as they are valued items, to our guests. It would not have been a problem for us to send it, if we would have found them.

I also quite upset at the words you had about the hotel and the staff. Because of that I personally invite you to spend a 2 nights stay at Villa Cappugi, as my guests, to demonstrate you our willingness and our staff aptitude.

With best regards
Stefania Cianni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sprockhoevel, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Best choice, very friendly staff, always helpful. Outstanding breakfast, spacious and comfortable room. We've had half-board for one week; all meals were fresh and delicious. Don't miss a look to the wine list! In spite of a fast connection to the highway very calm and restful. Alla prossima, ci vediamo :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norbert_Oe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

we stayed with some friends for 5 night at Villa Cappugi.
the hotel is very clean, very nice the personnel very helpful and warm welcoming.
the pool is excelent, breakfast the same.
the rooms are a little small but it is ok.
we really enjoy staying there and we'll try it again if we'll have the chance.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexM1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I was told this place was built about 2007. It shows! The place seems almost new and is tied into technology like no other place I've stayed in Italy. Your key card opens the door, then you stick it into a reader on the wall to turn on the room's power and air conditioning. Take your card when you leave and the power goes out and the AC goes to vacancy mode.
This was a very comfortable place to stay - with a wonderful "Tuscan" feel to it. It's just outside the town of Pistoia at the edge of the "countryside" so it feels like a hotel dropped into someone's Tuscan villa.
This is a "resort" with recreational facilities and grounds to stroll. Nice pool. Curiously, they have tennis courts - but there are no racquets to rent. So bring your own, I guess. Open air bar. There is a very classy restaurant on the site. Very pricey - but excellent food!
Rooms are modern, comfortable and clean. Staff are very pleasant and helpful.
It is easy to reach this place off the highway (not a lot of twists and turns to worry about.) It is about a 20-25 minute walk into Pistoia - but there is taxi service available. Get the taxi through the front desk to avoid being ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sssster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pistoia hotels
2.1 km away
Hotel Patria
Hotel Patria
#2 of 12 in Pistoia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
3.2 km away
Antico Convento Park Hotel et Bellevue
3.6 km away
Villa Giorgia - Albergo in Collina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Agriturismo podere Montaglioni
2.3 km away
Hotel Piccolo Ritz
Hotel Piccolo Ritz
#11 of 12 in Pistoia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Il Boschetto
Hotel Il Boschetto
#6 of 12 in Pistoia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Cappugi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cappugi

Property: Hotel Villa Cappugi
Address: Via di Collegigliato 45, 51100 Pistoia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Pistoia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Pistoia
Price range (per night): $117 - $204
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Cappugi 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Cappugi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cappugi Hotel Pistoia
Hotel Villa Cappugi Pistoia, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing