We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Didn't want to leave”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Rondinaia

View from the terraces.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the terraces.
Peschici seen from the beach. Looking down on seagulls and sailing boats.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
View from the terraces.
Peschici seen from the beach.
Looking down on seagulls and sailing boats.
Best lunch spot ever?
Sitting room with sofabed.
Terrace in front of the living room.
Livingroom terrace.
Master bedroom with fireplace.
A cosy place to write or read, even with english books.
The new double bedroom with ocean view
Ocean view from the new double bedroom
Bedroom with view
The new bathroom
Kitchen seen from the outside balcony.
Ambience
Well equipped kitchen, the heart of the house.
All day sun-deck on the roof terrace. (furniture may differ from photo)
Pepito, our friend, always having the most beautiful clients in the world..
Beautiful and clean beaches with crystal clear water.
Centro Storico, safely positioned 80 m above sea level.
A cosy stroll through the ancient streets to the beach.
Best lunch spot ever?
Tasty delis dayli at the local market.
History written in the walls.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Peschici, Province of Foggia, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Stacy37
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 14 February 2013 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We booked one week, which turned into two, which turned into three! The apartment is perfectly situated on a high cliff overlooking the sea. We were there in the "off season" in November and still loved the area. The kitchen for us was the core of the apartment. We did not have our own vehicle and shopped at all the local shops and mainly did our own cooking. Kitchen is stocked will all amenities including a dishwasher. The sitting room is small and cozy. There are two bedrooms and you need to walk through the middle of one with single beds to get to the master room. We were a couple on our own so no problem for us. The beds were supercozy and Anita made sure the feather duvets were brought out for the cool weather. We had some initial issues getting the floor heating working but a number of emails back and forth quickly resolved and was adequate to heat the house in November. The bathroom has one of the best views of the ocean! Washer and dryer are a bit old and noisy but worked (we tried as much as possible to use the roof deck to dry our clothes. Wifi worked great which was good for us as we were using it for business. A few disappointments which didn't mar our experiences - there was hardly any toilet paper upon arrival so it was urgent for us to get to the shops immediately the next morning (would be nice if a couple rolls were provided), none of the two fireplaces were operational which was one of the things we were looking forward to staying here, we left a day early and although Anita let us know a few times she would arrange to get our one nights' refunded back to us it never did happen.
Anita was very responsive to all emails very quickly. We ran out of propane and arrangements were immediately made for full bottles to be dropped off. Peschici is an amazing village and we were so lucky to have made many friends. We loved the walk down to the beach which we did everyday. The walk up is a lot of stairs but nothing to be put off by. My partner even went into the ocean...we did have a lot of sun thankfully.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and the kitchen
Liked least: we couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 8 October 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LordPeter
Victoria Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A fabulous apartment in a fabulous place”
Reviewed 21 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

My partner & I have just returned from an 8 week holiday in France & Italy. Neither of us has the slightest doubt that "La Rondinaia" was the best accommodation we stayed at (amongst some pretty good places). The only other review as yet available is, I think, fair enough in its assessment. There are indeed two bedrooms & one can only be reached by walking through the other. The problem about the television & reception is cured - there is no longer a tv. Along with a substantial number of comments in the guest book, we were delighted to not have a tv. As to toilet paper - there was plenty, & the local contact Michela (who speaks about as much English as we speak Italian) was delightful, & I would have to say that I believe she would have immediately rectified this if she had known.
The apartment sits atop a dizzying cliff giving extraordinary views across the Adriatic via some ground floor balconies & a large rooftop balcony. The apartment is indeed accessed via some small laneways which are (not surprisingly in a village this old) cobbled. We had a small rental Peugeot car which I had little problem getting to within maybe 50 or 60 metres of the apartment. Transferring our luggage was not a problem.
Neither was parking for that matter - there were many car parking spots available near the square.
Any description of the apartment would be I think totally unfair if it neglected to point out that the apartment itself is stunning. It is exceptionally well kitted out with just about any appliance or implement you could imagine. One exception: there is no kettle, electric or otherwise. Again my partner & I did not find this problematic - we simply boiled water in a pot. Other than that I cannot think of anything that wasn't provided. Seeing that Italy is pretty much a tea free zone & that the apartment has 3 coffee pots, the lack of a kettle was understandable.
There is a cd player with an iPod port. There is an excellent washing machine & a dryer. The stove hob was modern & immaculate. The oven was likewise. A huge fridge/freezer.
In addition the apartment is furnished beautifully. More like a private home than holiday accommodation. Oh, & I should make mention of the Wi-Fi access which we found very useful.
We certainly made great use of the rooftop balcony. There are two, small, solid-fuel burning barbecues provided, which we made great use of. Coke & fire-starters were available & easily replenished from the hardware store in the village. We also collected wood from the roadsides, as well as pine cones, & with branches of rosemary which grows wild in much of the area. if there is a better place on earth to enjoy a glass of wine and a barbecue than "La Rondinaia" I would definitely like to see it.
The village too made our stay even nicer. The natives were definitely friendly & invariably helpful. Lack of language was not a problem. We could heartily recommend the toy-shop near the apartment, the small supermarket off the village square, the cafe/gelateria on the square by the tower, the pescheria, the macellaria, the fruit & veg. Peschici is a great place to stroll, or sit in the afternoon to watch the passegiata commence.
The area surrounding Peschici was another pleasant surprise - the Foresta Umbra is stunning, as is so much of the Gargano peninsula. Some of the beaches with their 'torres' & 'trabuchis' were just beautiful. The water crystal clear & warm enough for me to swim in late October/early November.
"La Rondinaia" is the only place where I have ever been loath to write a review for Trip Advisor. In planning our trips Trip Advisor has been a great tool in assisting us choosing excellent places to stay/visit/eat. A selfish desire to keep "La Rondinaia" a secret is hard to resist. We spent a blissful week there & could have happily stayed for months.
We would have no hesitation in booking again.
P.S. The owner: Anita Knai was delightful to deal with, providing great information & virtually instant backup.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation of the apartment with views over the Adriatic
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2011
Thank you for your kind feedback! As you were there in early November Peschici wasn't at it's best, sun & weather wise, but as a place to be heartly welcome and excel in the tasty local produce; indeed!! We'd like to welcome you back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM157
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Views to die for, but unacceptable issues”
Reviewed 15 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
3
people found this review helpful

la Rondinaia is exactly what you see in the photo's, stunning views from every angle.
The apartment is spacious but is only suited to 2 adults and 2 children at the most, the bedrooms are adjoining, therfore you have to pass through one to get to a bathroom, not ideal if all adults are staying here.
Arrival is difficult if you have lots of luggage, parking close to the house is not possible and dragging suitcase's over the bumpy cobbles of old Peschici can be problematic.
I believe the owner has taken her eye off the ball regarding the details,
there was not even toilet paper on arrival, one roll atleast would be good.
the TV does not pick up channels, the antenna cable is in another room, this was noted in the guest book a year ago so why has nothing been done to rectify it, 10 days without a TV is not acceptable for this kind of money.
There was building work in the house next door which started at 8am, I was told the police would stop them, but it continued.
This could be one of the best rentals in Italy, but it is let down by silly faults

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thom_H_89
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing