We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, facility and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Poseidonia Mare
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2015

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Poseidonia in October 2015.
The location is perfect. Within an easy bike or walk to the Greek temple relics.
Which are, with the museum there, a mind boggling experience,,,,,,!!!!
And, there is a very nice sand beach also within a short walk.
The staff was very pleasant and helpful.
The morning breakfast provided, superior,
The facility overall clean and well designed.
Only criticism, the bed could have had a better mattress.
Did not matter though as we were both asleep in minutes due to our busy and active
outings of that day.
Paestum is a must for anyone who enjoys history and antiquities.
This Hotel a great way to experience that.
Only regret, we did not have the time to explore south to the Cilento coast which also
enjoys great reviews. That's for next time!

Room Tip: Be sure to also have dinner in their restaurant. Surprisingly good for a relatively small hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akSteve2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

6 - 10 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2015

Six of us spent a night at this hotel when we visited Paestum to see the amazing ancient Greek temples. As we drove up to the hotel, the proprietor directed us to the (free) parking area behind the hotel. Later, after we checked in and received our room keys and the password for the (free) WiFi, he opened a bottle of wine and poured each of us a glass to welcome us. After our visit to the Greek temple area, we returned to the hotel to a delicious meal in a friendly setting. The next morning, the breakfast featured a full buffet. We were then asked by the waitress if we would like some eggs and bacon. These were presented in a beautiful fashion. All in all, we all enjoyed our stay and would heartily recommend this hotel to future visitors to Paestum.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Norman_Raleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Our family of three stayed for two nights in August 2015. We wanted something close to the beach and near the ruins. The staff at the hotel make this a special and welcoming place. Beginning with pickup at the train station to the first class service at dinner. Alessandro is terrific and makes sure that guests are taken care of.

Our reservation included dinner which was first rate.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCfamily_20015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

We've been in this hotel in summer 2015, main goal was to have beach vacation. The hotel is 5 min walking from the beach, but I can't say that beach was that super good.. The room was quite nice, simple, but comfortable. Good conditioning, specially in summer. The restaurant offers really tasty food, of Italian cuisine, different dishes every day. So it's better take it with food, specially that it's quite cheap for such delicious food. The stuff refused to speak English to us at all, and they were serving mostly Italian people. In the end started to ignore us totally.. Strange that people can speak English around country, but only not in this hotel.. Also I had a feeling that they just don't want to help and explain it with language misunderstanding. Totally nothing to do in city, except ruins, which are really boring.. It's more fun to go just 100 km by train from there and visit Pompeii.. But whole around area of hotel looks like a big gypsy market and air sometimes smelled liked cows poop.. And in all this stuff behave like their hotel is the most classy and elite..
My thought that it's better go there for family vacation.. Cheap and nice quality in hotel, but nothing more..

P.S. Not all pics made exactly in this hotel. In fact looks little worse..

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Olya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

This friendly and welcoming hotel is mere steps from the beach. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff is warm and friendly. The food was delicious and our stay was just too short. I hope to get back one day.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
Thank DonB_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Villa Rita
Hotel Villa Rita
#5 of 33 in Paestum
416 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Schuhmann
Hotel Schuhmann
#20 of 33 in Paestum
177 reviews
4 km away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#2 of 33 in Paestum
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.6 km away
Il Granaio dei Casabella
1.7 km away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#9 of 33 in Paestum
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidonia Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidonia Mare

Address: Via Torre di Mare 16, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Price Range: $118 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poseidonia Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 3-minute walk from the beach and 1 km from the archaeological site of Paestum, Hotel Poseidonia Mare offers free private parking, free bicycle rentals, and a free fitness area. The air-conditioned rooms feature free WiFi, a minibar and satellite TV. Poseidonia Mare Hotel's restaurant, open for dinner, serves delicious local cuisine including homemade pasta, buffalo mozzarella and organic vegetables. An American-style breakfast is prepared daily. The wine bar offers an interesting regional selection. During spring and summer aperitifs can be served in the garden near an ancient water spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Poseidonia Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing