We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
133
59
23
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
59
23
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We chose this hotel as a result of other trip advisor reviews, but were still a little doubtful that a hotel could be this good for the money. How wrong we were. After a long hot journey from Rome, we were received with such warmth by the manager Fabio, we immediately felt relaxed. Our room was spotless, and the decor, while if you are fussy might seem outdated, for us only reflected the same degree of hospitality and warmth as the people. 5 minutes later the hotel owner, Allessandro knocked on the door with the most refreshing non-alcho cocktail - the perfect antidote to our journey down. This first 10 minutes or so characterised our whole stay. Perhaps because we were there at the end of the season, the staff team was small, but were always available, and we got to know them, and they us very quickly.
The location is perfect for accessing the 8 mile long beach, and only 2-3 km to the museum and ruins. The view of the garden, sea, and mountains from our balcony was beautiful. The food and the house wine were gorgeous, apparently made in house or resourced locally. According to the waitress Kasia, the buffalo mozzarella came from a farm about 15 minutes walk away.
The most important thing for us though, was the non-intrusive, considerate, and genteel friendliness of the people. We really did not want to leave, and genuinely want to return.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel during our 3rd year in Paestum. The location is great - about 100 meters to a very good beach. On your way you can pop into small shops, purchase all necessary small stuff and excellent local food. The hotel provides free bikes to use. for a few times we spent time in the evening in very cosy backyard garden. Although the hotel is located in the center of touristic life there is no noise of anything disturbing around. Hotel staff can give you contacts of very efficient local car rental as well as provide any help and guidance if required. Breakfast is OK, if you miss something in particular (they don't expose cheeses etc on open tables which is pure efficiency I believe) simply ask the waiter for what you need. Tried dinner on our first evening and it was also good in general with fair selection of local wines. You can still pick on some minor shortcomings but considering 3* declared and the cost after all the property left us with very warm impression.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chernox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Simply put, Hotel Poseidonia Mare is our favorite hotel in all of Italy, and we have traveled to Italy about a dozen times in the last 15 years (a total of at least 250 nights). It has a unique elegance that combines the rustic life of its early years with expected comforts of the high-tech world travelers. They even loan bikes to enable guests to cruise the area, including local beaches. But best, its location is perfectly situated just a couple of short blocks east of a beautiful, wide, sandy beach and less than half a mile west of the magnificent 61+ acre archaeological park and its museum.

Its staff at Hotel Poseidonia Mare is wonderful and attentive to a fault. We were treated like long-lost friends by the staff – Nino (the owner), Fabio, and Alessandro. They are remarkable, both for their knowledge of the area and their willingness to be of assistance in any way they can. With an unparalleled knowledge of the local history and superb English-language skills, Fabio has provided us with invaluable assistance many times, including what we should be sure to see, places to avoid, driving directions, and telephone numbers. He has even printed information from the Internet that he thought we would find useful. We have always found his suggestions to be right on, even the details about where to eat, to shop, and even park when visiting nearby towns.

In May 2012, when we first stayed at the Hotel Poseidonia Mare, the Ristorante Poseidonia, the restaurant in the hotel, wasn’t scheduled to open for dinner until June, so we were not able to try their dinners at that time. We were only able to eat breakfasts at the Hotel. The breakfasts in 2012 were personally prepared by Nino, the owner, and were fantastic; they are no less fantastic in 2014. In May 2014, however, the Ristorante Poseidonia was also serving dinners. Unfortunately for us, we were not expecting that and had made reservations at other restaurants in the area for part of our stay. However, we were able to eat dinner at Ristorante Poseidonia on our last night in Paestum. Our dinners were moderately-priced and every course was beautifully prepared with extraordinary care and attention to detail; it was all excellent. In fact, the next time we’re in Paestum, probably next year, eating dinner at Ristorante Poseidonia will be at the top of our list.

We will always look forward to our return to Hotel Poseidonia Mare whenever we visit Southern Italy and can’t recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paolo-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Servicii excelente, camere curate, cu balcoane, cea mai bună locație în Paestum! Este foarte aproape de plajă, de magazine alimentare . De asemenea, aproape ruine antice și ferme de bivolite care fac o mozarella delicioasa .

Multumin stafului petru ospitalitate .

Excellent service, clean rooms, with balconies, best location in Paestum! It is very close to the beach, grocery stores.
Also close to ancient ruins and to buffalo farms that make a delicious mozzarella.

Our sincere appreciation for the hospitality of the personnel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Alessandro, Nino, Fabio and the whole gang--they make you feel like "famiglia". Nicer people simply don't exist on this planet. I bring a group there every year. The food is hands down the best for any hotel/restaurant I take my groups to. The fish is fresh, pasta, superb. And the breakfasts there have gotten better and better over the years. Accommodations are very nice; hotel is clean as a whistle and the proximity to the beach and the ancient ruins--can't beat it.

Recommend this super hotel without hesitation! Prices are fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rasmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews