We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa San Giovenale

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of San Giovenale, the quarter hosting our holiday house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The view of San Giovenale, the quarter hosting our holiday house
Orvieto is the city of the Duomo, the beautiful Gotic cathedral
Orvieto is also famous for its network of caves, tunnels in the underground of the cliff
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Orvieto, Province of Terni, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
LizM441
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Casa San Giovenale is an absolutely fantastic location and apartment., We have rented many places in the past and this was our all time favourite. Ornella has done the decorating herself and the love shines through. We loved being able to look out the large front window at the most beautiful view or to sit in the courtyard and have a glass of wine. There was so much to see in Orvieto that we will have to go back. Ornella and Piero are fabulous hosts that couldn't have been more accommodating. Not only were we were picked up and delivered back to the train station but they took the time to suggest many sites to see and recommended restaurants. You will not be disappointed if you rent this apartment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne...
2 reviews
“Casa San Giovenale was better than we would have imagined.”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Casa San Giovenale is located in the oldest part of Orvieto. The view was amazing, the bathroom completely updated, beds were comfy and the little stone courtyard was perfect for enjoying wine and antipasto. Ornella and Piero told us what to see, gave us an excellent map of Orvieto attractions and even made us a dinner reservation for our first night.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Amazing hosts, lovely apartment, gorgeous town!”
Reviewed 17 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Casa San Giovenale is absolutely lovely! We stayed there for three nights during a month-long trip in Italy. Had I known what I would find there, and had any inkling of what lovely people Piero and Ornella are, I would have booked a much longer stay.
But we enjoyed every minute of our time in Orvieto and came to enjoy our five minute walk to great restaurants and shops as part of our daily ritual-- getting to know little landmarks and the faces of neighbors.
The apartment is outfitted with books,a bowl of candies, quality linens, a well stocked kitchen, and Ornella' s whimsical paintings.
We have been home a few weeks now and continue to rave about beautiful Orvieto and the lovely Casa San Giovenale.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2016
LOVELY Gail!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill H
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What an amazing place!”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It is so great to be able to stay right on top of the cliffs overlooking the beautiful valley below, farms and distant hills. Orvieto is a very special place to stay with its ancient architecture, cobbled streets and historic way of life. No dishwasher, but it is nice to embrace the authentic way of life. The hosts, Ornella and Piero are warm and welcoming.
As there is a fair amount of walking over cobbled hilly streets I wouldn't recommend it for disabled people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rb99
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Imagine spending a week in a 1000 year old building with the best view in Orvieto. Having your morning coffee watching the swallows flying below you as the fog rolls in the valley below. Later having a glass of your favorite wine, as the sun sets.
Orvieto is a wonderful town with plenty to do and many good restaurants. Many towns to visit nearby. Most of all Piero and Ornella are both wonderful host.
Next time we're staying longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing