We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, Lovely Choice for an Orvieto Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Piccolomini
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Overdue review for the Palazzo Piccolomini - we stayed here last November for a couple days over Thanksgiving during a Rome vacation. This was not our first time in Orvieto but it was our first time at the Piccolomini. Our room, a Junior Suite, was spacious, clean, modern, and tastefully done. We had a slight view of Oriveto rooftops from our window. Orvieto itself is not a large place and the hotel was not difficult to find. It's a little off the main tourist route through town on a quieter feeling street, but it was a lovely meander through medieval cobblestones in the evening returning after dinner. Reception service was professional and friendly. It was intermittently rainy while we visited and the desk staff provided us with umbrellas for our strolls through town. They were also very helpful with dinner reservations in advance. All in all, I would not hesitate to recommend Piccolomini to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Orvieto. I would certainly stay there again during our next visit!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank psaseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Piccolomini
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

We spent one night at Palazzo Piccolomini. It's located very close to the Duomo.

Pros: very clean, comfortable beds, and friendly, helpful staff. Our room was vary spacious. You can't beat the location. You can walk everywhere. Free wifi and breakfast. The breakfast had all the basics, bread, meats, eggs, fruits and some sweets.

Cons: if you're coming by train you'll need to hire a taxi. I'm not sure about the parking situation.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgdow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We had a difficult time navigating our rental car through the very narrow streets of this medieval city trying to locate this hotel. Thankfully, one of the locals showed us the way to this hotel. Once we reached it though, they had parking facilities and we were in a great location to the main square, and all the nearby restaurants and shops. We didn't need to utilize our car again until we left three days later. The hotel overall was great.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

the hotel is so clean and lovely. staffs are very nice and friendly. located very convenient for sightseeing and visiting. taxi can leach to the door and bus stops near there but also quiet area. I love the hotel room. so comfortable. breakfast was good, too.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank わんわんにゃんにゃん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

We ended up in Orvieto unplanned and on a whim. Found the hotel online and drove up to check it out. Decided to stay there within a minute of speaking to Jude, who attended to us.

The hotel was lovely but what swung the whole experience was the exemplary service all thanks to Jude and team. He recommended the nicest restaurant for dinner which is within 20 metres of the hotel. It is centrally located so you can walk to anywhere and back.

Best breakfast- with eggs which are difficult to get in Italy. And best of all it was managed by Jude's wife.

The hotel has a paid parking service about 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

Overall a great place to stay. And thank you Jude.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank MKash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
760 reviews
3.2 km away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 30 in Orvieto
301 reviews
1.2 km away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#11 of 30 in Orvieto
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
377 reviews
3.8 km away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 30 in Orvieto
605 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#21 of 30 in Orvieto
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Piccolomini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Piccolomini

Address: Piazza Ranieri 36, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Orvieto
#5 Family Hotel in Orvieto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range: $156 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Piccolomini 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Piccolomini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Piccolomini Orvieto
Palazzo Piccolomini Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing