We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Cicolina
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Granducato(Montepulciano)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Il Rondo(Montepulciano)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Il Marzocco(Montepulciano)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L' Agnolo(Montepulciano)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Il Borghetto(Montepulciano)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camere Bellavista(Montepulciano)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meuble il Riccio(Montepulciano)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
338
37
11
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
37
11
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolcooking classour honeymoonil caminocourse mealtuscan countrysideonsite restaurantfour coursestop floorwonderful restaurantbreakfast and dinnerlovely poolbeautiful placewine cellarother guestspastaeach morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Villa Cicolina was absolutely gorgeous. We were looking at Trip Advisor before we booked and thought, "these pictures can't be real. Everything is so gorgeous." Oh my gosh it looks that beautiful in person. The flowers were in bloom, staff was so helpful and friendly, and the room was very clean. You drive up and know it's going to be an amazing stay. Our favorite part was asking for a bottle of wine out by the beautiful infinity pool. We sat outside and drank wine and enjoyed the view. Such a perfect night. We also spent one night eating at their restaurant. The food was amazing and we were glad to just stay in after several nights of travelling. I would 100% recommend this place.

Room Tip: We had a suite. Very nice!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annclaireh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We've been to Italy many times but not Tuscany outside of Florence. We chose Villa Cicolina for it's proximity in the region, the good reviews on Trip Advisor and the reasonable pricing. It was everything the good reviews said and more. Finding it was at first tricky as the address on GPS and iPhone comes up somewhere downhill. We called and found it right away. Sayed welcomed us with open arms and made us feel always at home. It is an old, well maintained mansion with stunning views, beautiful gardens, pool with a view and just rustic enough to make you feel you are in "the country".

We were first checked-in to a very large suite on the ground floor but asked for a smaller suite on an upper floor for the view of the valley. Beautiful, older furnishings with a flat screen TV - which we never used as we rarely watch television when on holiday. There is wifi throughout but mostly strongest on the bottom floor. No big deal since we were on holiday but before a big conference in Rome and had to check in once in a while.

The breakfast spread was great, with limitless, super cappuccinos and espressos for the asking. We wanted to try the local restaurants the first two out of three evenings of our stay and will review those later. The last evening we dined at the Villa's garden tables outside and and were again not disappointed. Good food, great service and we had a bottle of wine we purchased from one our days out in wine country. If I had any complaints (more of a suggestion), the pool area was great for relaxation after a warm day touring. *They should offer poolside service for added revenue. They were happy enough to bring wine and nosh when asked but you had to go in, find someone and ask. I think they should just rove the pool area and take orders and make it a profit center while providing another level of service. I think I would have given them that fifth star!

Thank you again Sayed!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. They only have 11 rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nesorttocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. It was very quaint and charming, with a flair of rustic (don't bring good shoes to wear on the grounds!) My husband and I were on a self-guided bike tour, so our needs were a bit more scheduled than most for a vacation. The breakfast was served at 8am and dinner at 8pm. This was challenging for our riding schedule. The walk into town was 30 minutes, so it wasn't a quick trip to get snacks. If we knew the schedule, we would have planned accordingly and packed waters, snacks, etc. The staff was very helpful and the pool was fabulous!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your appreciation of Villa Cicolina.

We are very proud to see that all our efforts make this place special.

Best wishes from Villa Cicolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Villa Cicolina is paradise on earth. We went for our honeymoon and it was perfect. The staff and service were excellent and friendly but without being fussy, the villa is beautifully rustic and the gardens are just incredible with amazing views.
We did a cookery class which was brilliant, and what we made ended up being served to all guests.
It is on the pricey side but if you were to go you would see why. Considering how amazing Villa Cicolina is, it is actually very good value.
You would need a car as 5 minute drive from the centre of Montepulciano.

Room Tip: We booked late and were upgraded to a junior suite but only had to pay for standard room!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind comment and for sharing you experience at Villa Cicolina with T/A users.

We look forward to welcoming you again, we hope very soon.

Best regards from all the hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We arrived at Villa Cicolina after spending a few days in Florence. The grounds of the Villa are beautiful and the service was extremely attentive and helped us plan a day in Montepulciano (including making restaurant and vineyard reservations). The room was "charming" with a more modern yet tasteful bathroom, although the bed itself wasn't the most comfortable. The dinner at the Villa was nothing special and a little too oily. Overall, Villa Cicolina was a very nice place but I don't know if it was necessarily worth the price ($360 per night for a junior suite).

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NYCTravelReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Direttore at Villa Cicolina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor readers, we thank you for your nice comment on the grounds and rooms and our services, but we would like to clearify two points:
1 - Villa Cicolina has 350 olive trees, we produce our own olive oil which is D.O.P Terre di Siena; if you make a research, you will find out that this is one of the best olive oils in the world; Olive oil is a basic element in Tuscan cuisine, appreciated by culinary experts; all good kichens use excellent tuscan olive oil for cooking; please read the previous review which talk about our chef and kichen.
Every year, the number of our guests who get dinner in our restaruant increases because of the good food, people decide to stay at dinner for two, three times; if you don't eat well in a place, you will not come back to the same restaruant... right? Villa Cicolina opens its own restaurant to give to our guests the comfortbalitity of having a nice dinner and good wine without being stressed to take the car to the centre, look for a parking and walk to a restaurant; we retain the prices very resonable if you compare them with those of the restaurants outside.
2 - It is not true that you paid 360 USD for the room, because our max price for the junior suite is 230 euros, and if you reserve directly with us, you may have a discount.

We also read a comment in French that breakfast costs 33 euros per person, this is not true at all, as a very rich breakfast is included in the room's rate.. so please before commenting our property, be sure that the information which you give to TripAdvisor readers are true and could be helpful to select theire destination.

Best regards

Villa Cicolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews