We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for real Japanese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Cicolina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Cicolina
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place for real Japanese food”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Villa Cicolina is located approximately 1 kilometer from Montepulciano. It is a great place with nice green gardens and fruit trees. The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean with all the necessary facilities. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and it was just excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martijn_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    34
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
281
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Villa Cicolina was absolutely gorgeous. We were looking at Trip Advisor before we booked and thought, "these pictures can't be real. Everything is so gorgeous." Oh my gosh it looks that beautiful in person. The flowers were in bloom, staff was so helpful and friendly, and the room was very clean. You drive up and know it's going to be an amazing stay. Our favorite part was asking for a bottle of wine out by the beautiful infinity pool. We sat outside and drank wine and enjoyed the view. Such a perfect night. We also spent one night eating at their restaurant. The food was amazing and we were glad to just stay in after several nights of travelling. I would 100% recommend this place.

Room Tip: We had a suite. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annclaireh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We've been to Italy many times but not Tuscany outside of Florence. We chose Villa Cicolina for it's proximity in the region, the good reviews on Trip Advisor and the reasonable pricing. It was everything the good reviews said and more. Finding it was at first tricky as the address on GPS and iPhone comes up somewhere downhill. We called and found it right away. Sayed welcomed us with open arms and made us feel always at home. It is an old, well maintained mansion with stunning views, beautiful gardens, pool with a view and just rustic enough to make you feel you are in "the country".

We were first checked-in to a very large suite on the ground floor but asked for a smaller suite on an upper floor for the view of the valley. Beautiful, older furnishings with a flat screen TV - which we never used as we rarely watch television when on holiday. There is wifi throughout but mostly strongest on the bottom floor. No big deal since we were on holiday but before a big conference in Rome and had to check in once in a while.

The breakfast spread was great, with limitless, super cappuccinos and espressos for the asking. We wanted to try the local restaurants the first two out of three evenings of our stay and will review those later. The last evening we dined at the Villa's garden tables outside and and were again not disappointed. Good food, great service and we had a bottle of wine we purchased from one our days out in wine country. If I had any complaints (more of a suggestion), the pool area was great for relaxation after a warm day touring. *They should offer poolside service for added revenue. They were happy enough to bring wine and nosh when asked but you had to go in, find someone and ask. I think they should just rove the pool area and take orders and make it a profit center while providing another level of service. I think I would have given them that fifth star!

Thank you again Sayed!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. They only have 11 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nesorttocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. It was very quaint and charming, with a flair of rustic (don't bring good shoes to wear on the grounds!) My husband and I were on a self-guided bike tour, so our needs were a bit more scheduled than most for a vacation. The breakfast was served at 8am and dinner at 8pm. This was challenging for our riding schedule. The walk into town was 30 minutes, so it wasn't a quick trip to get snacks. If we knew the schedule, we would have planned accordingly and packed waters, snacks, etc. The staff was very helpful and the pool was fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your appreciation of Villa Cicolina.

We are very proud to see that all our efforts make this place special.

Best wishes from Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Villa Cicolina is paradise on earth. We went for our honeymoon and it was perfect. The staff and service were excellent and friendly but without being fussy, the villa is beautifully rustic and the gardens are just incredible with amazing views.
We did a cookery class which was brilliant, and what we made ended up being served to all guests.
It is on the pricey side but if you were to go you would see why. Considering how amazing Villa Cicolina is, it is actually very good value.
You would need a car as 5 minute drive from the centre of Montepulciano.

Room Tip: We booked late and were upgraded to a junior suite but only had to pay for standard room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind comment and for sharing you experience at Villa Cicolina with T/A users.

We look forward to welcoming you again, we hope very soon.

Best regards from all the hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montepulciano
4.7 km away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
232 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
712 reviews
2.1 km away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
381 reviews
25.6 km away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
603 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cicolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cicolina

Property: Villa Cicolina
Address: Provinciale 11, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price range (per night): $262 - $402
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cicolina 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored villa dated back to the 16th century with charming gardens and endless pool located in from of the secular olive grove, some of the rooms have an amazing view to the tuscan countryside, Villa Cicolina offers daily tuscan dinner with chef Mimmo, cooking lessons, wine tasting in the historical cellar, organization of wine tasting tours in the countryside, wedding at Villa Cicolina is a dream which can be realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Cicolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cicolina Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing