We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The epitome of Tuscan charm”
Review of Villa Cicolina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Cicolina
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The epitome of Tuscan charm”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Peaceful,secluded villa with wonderful attentive staff.It was a delight to see our wine waiter decant the wine with such a look of genuine passion on his smiling face.His joy in serving the stunning Tuscan wine and food was truly uplifting.
The pool area and view just needs to be experienced.One note of warning do take plenty of mosquito repellent as we did get profusely bit the day of our arrival as we chilled near the pool around 4pm.Once we realised the error of our ways and smothered ourselves in repellent we were ok.
Our room was very spacious and full of character,it had the feel of an apartment rather than a hotel room
Stay here if you want to experience genuine Tuscan hospitality in flower filled beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Responsabile reception at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your visit and for advising Villa Cicolina to everbody who wants to experience a beautyful peace of Tuscany.

Until we meet again, we send you our best wishes from Montepulciano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    36
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
42
285
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sssm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We made the right decision to stay at Villa Cicolina. It was so beautiful and so private and the staff was really helpful. We decided to stay and eat at the restaurant which was incredible. Afterwards we were given a tour of the wine cellar. The gentleman at the front desk was an expert int he area and full of great information. He sent us to a beautiful winery just minutes away. I am someone who really does my research and I am so happy with my decision. We stayed for two nights with our daughters ages 9 and 11 who say it was one of their favorite palces they have ever stayed.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sssm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Responsabile reception at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you very much for your very kind comment and for sharing you experience at Villa Cicolina with T/A users..
We look forward to welcoming you again, we hope very soon.

Best regards from all the hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

How to put it...? Villa Cicolina has exceeded our best expectations. We arrived the night of Dec. 30 and were welcomed with warmth by the owners, a typically tuscan family. The family's son led us to our incredibly beautiful room - a dream with views towards vineyards on one side and olive trees on the other. We immediately felt like protagonists of a Bertolucci movie. After a warm bath in the generous bathroom's vintage bathtub we went to dinner in the hotel's candle lit restaurant. That's were the real experience started. We cannot remember to have eaten that well - and that much - any time before. Angelina, Villa Cicolina's heart and soul put a hand herself in the kitchen to spoil us as if we were her own children. Wines were chosen by Cicolina boss Andrea, a real connoisseur of the sort... All the other guests seemed to enjoy their stay as much as we did and hence we altogether enjoyed the intimate and pleasant boutique hotel atmosphere. We lack words to describe the Gala dinner that should follow on new years eve... excellent. Silvie and Joel

Room Tip: We stayed at Il cammino!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Responsabile reception at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Silvie and Joel,

It was really a pleasure to welcoming you again in our property... your comment makes us very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.. the house owners Angela and Andrea send you their greetings and all the staff is looking forward to your next visit to Villa Cicolina.

Best regards.

Sayed
Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night en route from Rome to Venice, and the only disappointment...we only booked one night. The property is beautiful, an intimate resort in the heart of Tuscany. The gentleman that was working catered to our every need, and we felt like royalty. The grounds are lovely, and very relaxing. One of our favorite memories was our dinner in the garden under the Tuscan moon. 5 courses, delicious wine, and amazing service...it was one of the top 3 Italian meals we enjoyed!
Our room was beautiful, the canopy bed was very romantic, and there was a skylight above the bed so we could enjoy the night sky. The room was rustic but very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely, with amazing views of the Tuscan hills!
The breakfast was delicious, and the breakfast building was very quaint.
This was by far our best stop on our honeymoon, and we look forward to returning again, but next time for several nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My husband & I just returned from our first two week trip to Italy; Rome, Florence and two locations in Tuscany. We had done lots of research beforehand, and were quite excited to arrive at Villa Cicolina, which exceeded our expectations in every way. This is a magical, beautiful place; the photos of the infinity pool illustrate how it is situated on the edge of the hill leading up toward Montepulciano -- the views from the olive grove walking toward this lovely pool go on forever and ever. There are lovely little outbuildings for lounging, and dining, many place to stop and sit outside and inside, candles twinkling everywhere at night and unparalled views during the day. The interior is charming as well with gorgeous 500 plus year old frescoes in the office that seem fresh enough to have been painted yesterday. The wine cellar below is in caves which are much older -- very cool. Our room was up in the attic with a view towards the town, very charming, comfortable bed, the skeleton key was a little tricky to begin with, but my husband got the hang of it after a day or two!
I have to say that the staff was gracious beyond any possible expectations; Sayed and Alijah had been most helpful even before we arrived, and were truly two of the most polite, pleasant, kind people we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Just absolutely delightful, and made our stay so much more comfortable because of their kindness. We scratched our car in the small parking lot, and they took care of moving it for us from that moment forward; my husband wasn't feeling well one day, and Sayed made me a pizza, and was just genuinely concerned and helpful. The housekeeping staff and our waiter at dinner were also very friendly and extremely welcoming, which makes a huge difference when you are visiting a foreign country.
The town of Montepulciano was one of our favorite of the many that we visited in Tuscany, it is a nice size, lots of shops, both clothing and wine, near the bottom of the hill on the side closest to the hotel, the views are absolutely fantastic, we found a nice restaurant there one evening, underneath the cafeteria, which has wonderful views -- great food and service here too. The people in this town were really just very friendly, we loved it.
Oh, we also ate at Villa Cicolina one evening in the little outbuilding and it was great -- four courses, the first was a riboletta which we are still dreaming about. Don't miss this chance to have another unforgettable moment in one of the loveliest spots on earth -- we can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
4.6 km away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
241 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
743 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
266 reviews
4.8 km away
Sant' Antonio
Sant' Antonio
#12 of 29 in Montepulciano
193 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cicolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cicolina

Property: Villa Cicolina
Address: Provinciale 11, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price range (per night): $247 - $516
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cicolina 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored villa dated back to the 16th century with charming gardens and endless pool located in from of the secular olive grove, some of the rooms have an amazing view to the tuscan countryside, Villa Cicolina offers daily tuscan dinner with chef Mimmo, cooking lessons, wine tasting in the historical cellar, organization of wine tasting tours in the countryside, wedding at Villa Cicolina is a dream which can be realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Cicolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cicolina Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing