We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It - Perfect for Venice!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 August 2008

It's not in central Venice, but that's the best part! Who wants to load and unload luggage from a gondola or water taxi? This is literally directly across the street from the train station (about 25m). The 8 minute ride to Venice (on the comfy Eurostar train) is only 1 euro! You can enjoy beautiful Venice all day long and have a wonderful retreat to come back to!
If you are staying in the area, walk about 10 minutes and you will find a piazza (town square) with tons of restaurants and quite a bit of shopping.
This is a great hotel, and I strongly recommend it for seniors, honeymooners, friends, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JAG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,138 - 1,142 of 2,376 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2008

If you don't like this hotel and it's location then you should probably stay at home. This hotel is perfect for Venice, 10 minutes away by train, the hotel is relaxed and luxurious far above expectations for the price we paid. Short distance from the hotel you catch a bus to either airport ( we flew from Treviso ) 6 euro's . Allow plenty of time for the buffet breakfast it's fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mancrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Recently returned from the Hotel Bologna at Mestre and totally enjoyed our stay there. Room was immaculate, very spacious, quiet and modern. The staff were friendly, helpful and speak english. Only a 5 minute train journey into Venice so this was a bargain compared to the price of a same standard hotel in Venice itself having paid 110 euro per night. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

Stayed here for a total of 3 nights before and after a cruise. It was an overall great experience. Booked it based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and very low rates compared to staying in Venice proper, and it lived up to its reputation. We were a group of 8. Took the ATVO bus from Marco Polo Airport, and it was fairly easy. The bus passes the hotel than stops a few blocks down in front of train station. We had a lot of luggage and we were undecided about taking the bus or taxi from airport, but bus worked out fine, just made two trips once off bus. Rooms are a fair size. We had 2 triples and 1 double (Look Rooms). The triples were kind of small, but comfortable enough. Other members of our cruise party had an Avant Rooms. The Avant Rooms are far nicer, if you can swing it go for an Avant Room. We booked on the hotel's website far in advance and booked one of their special packages. If you book one of the specials that inlcude train tickets or airport transfers, I strongly recommend you email them a few days in advance to determine how they will be redeemed and then bring the emails with you. We almost ran into trouble redeeming our special offer, but in the end mangement was good about resolving the matter. Breakfast was pretty good considering that it is included in the price. The area of Mestre was nothing fab. but it wasn't all bad. We eat in couple of restaurants in the area the Chinese restaurant about 2 blocks away and and Italian place about 3 blocks down. There is a newly opened supermarket that was good for snacks and wine. The hotel arranged transportation for our group of 15 people in total to the cruise port for 160 euro. At the end of cruise back to hotel we took taxis that were waiting there for 80 euro. The companies they use can be a little pricey.

I would highly recommend this hotel over staying in Venice proper. Took the train into Venice and it was very easy, all trains leaving the station go to Venice. On the way back had to get a little help getting on the right train, but still easy. Once in Venice roaming the streets, I couldn't imagine navigating the areas filled with people and steps to get to one of the hotels there. If you are maybe just one or two people with a little to no luggage, then staying in Venice might be best for you.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank scandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We have just returned for a 3 night stay in Venice ( Mestre). I can say that the hotel lived up to it's internet billing.
We picked this hotel in Mestre because we had an early flight hom from Treviso and wanted to ensure we would not miss our bus connection (the bus stop is a 2 minute walk from the hotel). Also, we did not want to be dragging cases around Venice looking for a back street hotel!

The rate was reasonable ( compared with hotels in the heart of Venice) and the room was great. It looked like it had had a refit recently and it had all mod cons.
The breakfast was okay and if you left it late to go to the breakfast room it tended to be every man for himself! This is the one area which could probably do with improvement.

Incidentally, there was free internet use for 30 mins every day - a nice touch.

The entrance to the train station was literally across the road and it only cost 1 EUR each way on the train into Venice. The trains run every few minutes and it's best to purchase them from the hotel reception otherwise you will be queuing in the station at the ticket office all day....

Overall, I would highly recommend it and would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Muller1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#16 of 58 in Mestre
2,208 reviews
3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
1.3 km away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#13 of 58 in Mestre
2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#7 of 58 in Mestre
1,412 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
793 reviews
3.2 km away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna

Address: Via Piave 214, 30171, Mestre, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mestre
#3 Business Hotel in Mestre
#4 Green Hotel in Mestre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: $122 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is located right across from Mestre railway station, and is ten minutes by train or bus from the center of Venice and the Grand Canal. It's easily accessible from the airports of Venice and Treviso and from the motorway. If you leave your car in the parking lot of the hotel you will be able to go and discover the wonders of Venice very easily. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is also at the center of many tourist itineraries of great interest and fascination, as - for example - the villas of the Riviera del Brenta, the artistic cities of Padua, Vicenza and Verona, the beautiful view of the hills around Treviso, not to forget the nearby beaches and the beautiful Dolomites. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna has been operating for more than a century, with a strong passion for hospitality and with a recognized high standard in competence and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bologna Hotel
Best Western Mestre
Mestre Best Western
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing