We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying dinner”
Review of Bombay Spice

Bombay Spice
Ranked #39 of 398 Restaurants in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 17 - USD 40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

When in Italy for a week it is nice to have some variety in your food. Bombay Spice offered the perfect alternative to pizza/pasta. Staff spoke brilliant English and were friendly and helpful. The menu was good and the portions were huge. The decor is a little dated but the music was not typical Indian restaurant, which was nice. The food was nice not the best Indian we have had. The mango lassi was a nice addition to the drinks menu. Nice little sweet selection afterwards.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank johnandlizb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay S, Owner at Bombay Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

It literally took 2 hours from when we sat down until our food arrived. The food itself was goid, portions are quite small.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank brigittemeyer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay S, Owner at Bombay Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Client,
My sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused as there was a delay in our service.
We had too many people coming in and ordering at the same time.
Couple of tables did complain about the delay but no one complaint about the quality and quantity of the food.
I request you to review only the thing that was not up to the mark but not as an overall rating.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

We ate here last night staying about 10 minute walk and didnt want to travel back into Venice for dinner and we was pleasantly surprised had tikka masala and a Korma. Reasonably priced and lovely atmosphere in the restaurant would definietly reccomend to anyone staying in the Mestre area.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay S, Owner at Bombay Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Thank you very much for your visit and your precious time for the review. Hope to c u again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We had last eaten at the Bombay Spice when it was called Gourmindia, some 8 years ago. In Mestre again staying at the Hotel Elite next door, the Bombay Spice was the obvious place for dinner. We were very pleasantly surprised at the authenticity and excellence of the food. We were made to feel really welcome, and enjoyed a thoroughly satisfying meal at a remarkably reasonable price..

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank uropwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

The restaurant is big and appealing but the food is absolutely not. We ordered starters and Chhole masala for main dish, none of which even qualifies as average Indian food.

Even the Wine was really bad considering you get quite decent wine just about everywhere for very cheap price in Italy. I would recommend any other small joint that sells basic indian rice/dish (there are a few around venice/mestre) over this waste of time and money.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank s-h-l-yyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay S, Owner at Bombay Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your review.
I think you should have pointed out the issue at the very moment.
We have been serving Wines for quite some time now and none of our customers have complained about the quality of it.
As for the food we have always maintained our quality. It could be that the curry lacked something but as said earlier you could have asked at the same time and we could have happily replaced it.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bombay Spice also viewed

Mestre, City of Venice
Mestre, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Mestre, City of Venice
Mestre, City of Venice
 

Been to Bombay Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing