We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but not convenient to Venice”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 9 April 2012

If you are staying for Carnevale, it could take you a while to get to the main piazza. The trains are so packed that you have to plan carefully when you are going to and leaving from Venice. The hotel itself is a very good hotel. Spotless rooms and excellent, plentiful breakfast. We also had dinner one night at the hotel's restaurant and was excellent. It also has a very convenient little bar for coffee and pastries during the day and wine and drinks in the evening.
Beware, since it's across the train station, we saw quite a few "ladies of the night" looking for business:-)
All in all we liked it but not if we are going to Carnevale in Venice.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter than facing the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 53marialadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 832 of 2,174 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the hotel. No greeting from reception staff, all were talking amongst themselves when we arrived and waited to be served. Dismissed and unhelpful. No directions to room just 'take lift to 6th floor'. Room is a bit larger than most. Clean. Bathroom cramped. Water was tepid warm. When asked re this reception sent up a repairman who ran the water for a few minutes and left. No feedback. Second night shower exactly the same....except nearly cold.
Breakfast was ordinary but met all the food groups e.g. fruit, cereal
Free internet/computer on mezanine floor.
Advertises rooms are soundproofed - we found it very noisy not from traffic but other guests.
Hotel is across the road from Mestre station (about a 15 minute ride into Venice by bus number 2 that stops across the road from the hotel). If this stop is buy walk around the corner to the next bus stop which usually does not have any tourists waiting.
We had dinner at the Soul Kitchen restaurant next door to the hotel - lovely meal - recommend the mango soup dessert - divine and different.
Stay in another hotel but eat here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street that is across from the station for a quieter outside noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lozza08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We took the Mestre train station bus from Marco Polo airport and will take a cab to our cruise (which, hopefully won't be captained by the Chicken of the Seas). Although we paid for a bus ticket, no one seemed to care about collecting them! We came in a day early for our cruise to give us time to see Venice. The train to Venice is very conveniently across the street from the hotel, and again, no one cared to collect our tickets! I would recommend you buy just in case the Italians get their act together to collect them. The hotel itself is very clean, the rooms are very adequate. As Americans, it took us a while to figure out how to turn on the lights-- they require you put your room key in a slot by the door, which must also be why they only give you one key.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank canbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Wonderful service a Massive thanks to the staff on reception who help me sort a problem booking a palace visit very quickly. Breakfast tasty and filling, room clean and overall great location just opposite train station. I would recommend the Plaza as opposed to paying 3 times as much in the expensive centre of Venice

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave281267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stay in Mestre if you are visiting Venice for more than a day, much more reasonable prices and it is a quick train ride to get into the city proper. No cars, buses or planes into Venice so this is the way to go--and save money.
Right across from the Mestre train station. It was quite while we were there. Two stops away from old Venice at a much more reasonable price. Several restaurants are within easy walking distance. Friendly staff that caters to English speaking people.

Room Tip: Even rooms facing the street and train station were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Planemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
0.1 km away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#7 of 58 in Mestre
1,386 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
1.3 km away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#15 of 58 in Mestre
2,433 reviews
3.3 km away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Mestre

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Viale Stazione 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#16 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: $92 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Mestre
Hotel Plaza Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing