We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel not in Venice”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The best hotel not in Venice”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Although Mestre is on the mainland it is only 10 minutes away by train and is far simpler than staying on the island and much more civilised, unless you can afford the Cipriani.
The restaurant was good for dinner and equally good for breakfast.
All the staff we came into contact with were helpful and efficient.
The price was the startling factor: a four star hotel with cooked breakfast at a cost of £45 per room per night!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not near children
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richardmilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plazavenice, General Manager at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
hello richardmilner,
thank you, thank you for posting your review. we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope to see you very soon again at the Plaza. warmest wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    1,010
    294
    76
    52
See reviews for
403
966
90
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alcala de Henares, spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Plaza is a good value for money hotel in front of the Venice Mestre train station, clean and offering ample rooms. It is specially convenient for those using train as their transport, because it is just oposite the station. However, the area is awful at nightime, with prostitutes and all kinds of dodgy people around.

Rooms are clean and the bath is fine, however there are no AC outlet near the bed which seems to be fashion these days. Average breakfast, free Internet connection working fine and a good numbers of international channels on TV. The business traveler will like the ample working space in the room that allows comfortably working with your laptop.

I satyed here in my way to Trento so I can't give any advise on the experience of having Plaza as your base to explore and visit Venice, an option that many seemed to have considered because of the nearby train station and the short trip to Venice Santa Lucia.

I would like to finally say that my room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet, so no worries about this if you are looking for a silent place to sleep. I can't say anything about the rooms facing the station though.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel are very silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssalonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The hotel plaza is situated in an excellent spot opposite the train station and just down the road from the bus depot.

From the front it looks impressive and modern with a full glass frontage. We were dealt with promptly at reception and although not over the top with the friendly approach, they were pleasant enough and not rude.

We were on the 7th floor so went to get the lift which was clean and in very good condition. Our room was spacious and clean with a well stocked mini bar, safe and storage a plenty. There are very informative FAQ leaflets in the rooms which have lots of useful info and you can buy any train or bus tickets you may require for your stay at reception. Although there is free wifi as standard in the hotel we found it to be very slow so don't expect to be uploading your daily photos to Facebook! The channel list for the tv does only have 2 English speaking channels but lets be honest, you don't come to Venice to sit in and watch tv!

The only issue we found that proved to be a problem was that our room was constantly hot throughout day and night and when we reported the fact that the air con wasn't working in the room, we were told by reception that the facility is seasonal and was not yet on but they would turn the heating off completely for us. This however either didnt happen or didn't work, as all 3 of our nights sleep were spent on top of the covers trying to get cool! The positive to this was that we spent more of the evenings in the hotel bar which was good value and with friendly staff and a nice atmosphere.

Overall a thoroughly pleasant stay and if we were to visit Venice again we would definitely stay at the hotel Plaza!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reuben1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

this hotel is situated across the road from mestre station and an ideal base to get to and from central venice. the train takes less than 10 minutes and costs 1.20 euros each way. the restaurant serves a good variety of food that is reasonably priced but the service appears to vary. breakfast is plentiful and continental. our room was spotless and very quiet, the beds are very comfortable too. However, make sure you are explicit when asking about buses and /or taxis to and from any where. we asked for a taxi to treviso airport but the driver took us marco polo and then when we informed him of the mistake he tried to charge us double. the hotel then implied we had ordered it for marco polo! NOT! and not a very happy end to our trip

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blakefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plazavenice, General Manager at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
dear blakefamily,
thank you for posting your review. we are sorry to know there was a misunderstanding with your transfer to the airport and we regret the inconvenience this caused to you. thank you again for writing, I do ensure we'll pay more attention in the next future. take care and see you soon again at the Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isles of scilly
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

this was our first time in Venice and it was a pre-night stay before our cruise. It is a lovely, comfy hotel. It is literally across the road from the train station at Mestre and local bus stop. It took 10 mins on the train to the centre of Venice, it cost 2.20 euro return. The hotel has a little bar and restaurant attached which is very reasonably priced. We had 2 capachino coffees and 2 pastries for 4 euro. We don't know how much the hotel cost as it was part of a package with 'Ideal cruising' but we were talking to a scottish couple who paid 49 euro for their room. Breakfast is also included, very nice buffet style. The staff were very helpful, rooms clean, comfy and quiet. Other than being in the middle of Venice you couldn't get a better location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank atlantis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.1 km away
Best Western Hotel Bologna
0.1 km away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,276 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#13 of 58 in Mestre
420 reviews
1.3 km away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#15 of 58 in Mestre
2,206 reviews
2.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Viale Stazione 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#16 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price range (per night): $148 - $284
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia APAC, ACCOR, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Mestre
Hotel Plaza Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing