We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Plaza
Nearby Hotels
USD 212
USD 162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Elite Hotel(Mestre)
USD 149
USD 119
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 169
USD 143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,306)
Filter reviews
2,306 results
Traveller rating
696
1,136
328
87
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
696
1,136
328
87
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streettrain stationsoul kitchen restaurantvisiting venicefrequent trainsexcellent locationmarco polo airportscrambled eggsthe ground floortrains runbreakfast roomsuperior roomconvenient locationsanta luciagrand canalbreakfast was includedvenice island
Filter
Updating list...
884 - 889 of 2,306 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The hotel plaza is situated in an excellent spot opposite the train station and just down the road from the bus depot.

From the front it looks impressive and modern with a full glass frontage. We were dealt with promptly at reception and although not over the top with the friendly approach, they were pleasant enough and not rude.

We were on the 7th floor so went to get the lift which was clean and in very good condition. Our room was spacious and clean with a well stocked mini bar, safe and storage a plenty. There are very informative FAQ leaflets in the rooms which have lots of useful info and you can buy any train or bus tickets you may require for your stay at reception. Although there is free wifi as standard in the hotel we found it to be very slow so don't expect to be uploading your daily photos to Facebook! The channel list for the tv does only have 2 English speaking channels but lets be honest, you don't come to Venice to sit in and watch tv!

The only issue we found that proved to be a problem was that our room was constantly hot throughout day and night and when we reported the fact that the air con wasn't working in the room, we were told by reception that the facility is seasonal and was not yet on but they would turn the heating off completely for us. This however either didnt happen or didn't work, as all 3 of our nights sleep were spent on top of the covers trying to get cool! The positive to this was that we spent more of the evenings in the hotel bar which was good value and with friendly staff and a nice atmosphere.

Overall a thoroughly pleasant stay and if we were to visit Venice again we would definitely stay at the hotel Plaza!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reuben1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

this hotel is situated across the road from mestre station and an ideal base to get to and from central venice. the train takes less than 10 minutes and costs 1.20 euros each way. the restaurant serves a good variety of food that is reasonably priced but the service appears to vary. breakfast is plentiful and continental. our room was spotless and very quiet, the beds are very comfortable too. However, make sure you are explicit when asking about buses and /or taxis to and from any where. we asked for a taxi to treviso airport but the driver took us marco polo and then when we informed him of the mistake he tried to charge us double. the hotel then implied we had ordered it for marco polo! NOT! and not a very happy end to our trip

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blakefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plazavenice, General Manager at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

dear blakefamily,
thank you for posting your review. we are sorry to know there was a misunderstanding with your transfer to the airport and we regret the inconvenience this caused to you. thank you again for writing, I do ensure we'll pay more attention in the next future. take care and see you soon again at the Plaza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

this was our first time in Venice and it was a pre-night stay before our cruise. It is a lovely, comfy hotel. It is literally across the road from the train station at Mestre and local bus stop. It took 10 mins on the train to the centre of Venice, it cost 2.20 euro return. The hotel has a little bar and restaurant attached which is very reasonably priced. We had 2 capachino coffees and 2 pastries for 4 euro. We don't know how much the hotel cost as it was part of a package with 'Ideal cruising' but we were talking to a scottish couple who paid 49 euro for their room. Breakfast is also included, very nice buffet style. The staff were very helpful, rooms clean, comfy and quiet. Other than being in the middle of Venice you couldn't get a better location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank atlantis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My mom and I stayed at the Hotel Plaza during our trip in December 2011. It is literally right across the train station and hence it's super easy travelling to Santa Lucia. The staff were very polite and helpful; the rooms were impeccably clean and we had absolutely no trouble during our stay there.

Oh, while you're there, try out Soul Kitchen - the Tiramisu is to die for!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PinkMartini268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Our stay at the Hotel Plaza was very pleasant. I asked for a room at the back of the hotel as I heard from previous travellers that it can be noisy being at the front of the hotel due to the busy main road. We were pleased upon arrival that they listened to our requests and our room was at the back of the hotel and the location was very quiet. The room was very clean and tidy, on arrival at reception we felt welcome. The location of the hotel is superb for using public transport ie train and bus and both are very cheap, it takes roughly 10 minutes to get to Venice on the train and 15 minutes on the bus. The only other area in Mestre is Piazza Ferreto which apparently has a few bars and restaurants however when we visited one evening everything was closed. This area also offers a department store which during the day is worth a visit. In our opinion the only two places worth visiting are Hotel Plaza and Hotel Bologna (next door) in Mestre, although maybe during the summer months Mestre has more to offer. We have no fault with the hotel, however if we did visit Venice again we would probably stay on the island of venice as it would be nice to be able to walk to local bars/restaurants close to the hotel following a busy day on the island of venice. We ate in the hotel on our first evening and the food was excellent. Continental breakfast was also good.

Room Tip: It is best to request a room at the back of the hotel to avoid noise from the busy road at the front. However the views from either side arent the best.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HenEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews