We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

All'Ombra del Gabbiano
Reserve with
All'Ombra del Gabbiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 392 Restaurants in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 52
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At "all'ombra del gabbiano" we work to do our best to offer an high level ethical and quality service, in order to answer the needs of our customers.
Reviewed 17 January 2018

I ate here with family on Christmas day when they served a special menu that happened to be entirely gluten free. I forget how many courses were brought to our table, so many were there, but dishes included octopus salad, raw Sicilian prawns with grilled scallops and salt cod puree, risotto, cheese gnocchi, apple sorbet, grilled sea bream, and cheese cake. The food was stunning - I wish more restaurants served up multiple course menus like this where you are encouraged to try dishes you wouldn't normally order. The service was attentive and friendly. The atmosphere was also lovely - filled only with Italians, enjoying a Christmas meal together. The price was 60 euros per person, with drinks included. I'd come back to Venice for Christmas to eat here again!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SZ_Marzola, Direttore at All'Ombra del Gabbiano, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Hi Peter, it was a pleasure for us to have you and your friends for the last Christmas Eve’s lunch. We really hope you’ll come back to Venice in the future and you’ll be welcomed again in our restaurant.
Best wishes to you all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

Managed to get the last table indoors. Food was excellent, Wife had Grilled Se Bass and I had Large Spaghetti with Anchovy Sauce. If you like anchovies this is the dish for you, had as a starter, good portion.
Wife had the Creme Brulee which came with a flaming liqueur on it, she loved it.
Highly Recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SZ_Marzola, Direttore at All'Ombra del Gabbiano, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review and above all for your appreciation for our kitchen.
Best regards to you and your wife as well.
Sincerely hoping to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

A very good food. A family restaurant with the best food and deserts. The owner is nice and the dishes are very good! Recommended!!

Thank Livnatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SZ_Marzola, Direttore at All'Ombra del Gabbiano, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you so much! It was really a pleasure to treat you all with our professionalism!
You'll be welcomes if back again to visit us!
Enjoy your vacancy in Venice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We choose this restaurant on trip advisor and it was really good. They have typical meals and good choice of vegetarian meals. They have a menu and also spécial dish of the day. The cooker describes and explains the meals with all her heart and professionalism. You feel like you want to try everything. Prices are aligned with quality and even not very high compared to the quality. It is also very convenient to park nearby. We highly recommend this place !!

Thank flolefranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SZ_Marzola, Direttore at All'Ombra del Gabbiano, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you so much for your visit and for your fantastic review! You focused on our mission because we are completely involved in our job, head and heart! Best regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

This place it's a gem, the cousine is delicious and Elisa, the waitrees, is very kind and helpfull with the tourist. This place has to be known

Thank Fabiola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SZ_Marzola, Direttore at All'Ombra del Gabbiano, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thank you so much to appreciate our restaurant, the cousine and Elisa, our beautiful and clever waitress. She want to say good bye to you all. Thank you one more time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed All'Ombra del Gabbiano also viewed

Mestre, City of Venice
Mestre, City of Venice
 
Mestre, City of Venice
Mestre, City of Venice
 
Mestre, City of Venice
Mestre, City of Venice
 

Been to All'Ombra del Gabbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing