We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (948)
Filter reviews
948 results
Traveller rating
89
288
329
141
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
288
329
141
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel shuttle hotel restaurant decent hotel bus stop residential area one night stay buffet breakfast grand canal min walk piazza roma euros return venice city stayed here for nights water buses marco polo airport croissants cruise
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 948 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

I was traveling to 8 Counties over one week, that involved lot of driving and only few hours sleep in hotels in major European cities, being an employee of the same company I’ve had received excellent welcome experiences in the every other hotel I stayed in. As soon as I arrived at Holiday Inn Venice Marghera, receptionist/night manager Francesco did not make us feel welcomed, that also involved copying and scanning our passports. Checking passport or form of ID to determine identity is acceptable, but scanning was unnecessary practice. Hotel doesn’t need to explain me as I work at the flagship hotel of IHG, where we set standard for the rest of the properties. Also this hasn’t happened in any other cities across Europe. There was no recognition, he did not bother telling us a minimum “enjoy your stay”. After paying the whole cost of accommodation upfront at the check in, he did not even give printed bill, when I asked for it, he told us to return next day to collect bills without explaining the reason. Please note I practiced same in every other hotel I stayed and as soon as I paid, bill was given to me with receipt. Hotel was very old, but clean and breakfast was decent. Restaurant staffs were welcoming. I did not compare between hotels, as I am not not snob, and pretty much see everything in the eye of a colleague as I am an employee of same company. During check out receptionist was very helpful with direction and polite. Only the check in with night manager was not very unfriendly, Even though he was formal and not rude per se, but made check in experience like a criminal investigation. it is disgraceful to see such practice in an IHG property and minimum welcome experience was to be expected in an IHG hotel.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank shafinshafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDTeam, GEC at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear shafinshafi,

Thank you for sharing again your experience also on Tripadvisor. It's apparent in this case that we fell short of your expectations particularly the way you were greeted when you arrived. We utilize all comments not only for improvement of our product and services but also to improve ourselves every day. We are sorry that in this case you felt the excessive professionalism as a detached attitude towards you. Your comments have been shared with our management team to be able to take action on this.
Once more, thanks for leaving your thoughts despite some setbacks. We will continue to work towards the highest standards for our guests and I hope that you will consider us again if your travels bring you back to our area

Sincerely,
Elisa N.
Guest Experience Champion
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

A wonderful option to stay in Venice. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfast is always replenished and the range of different food options is impressive. We also dined with them for one evening and the food was both of good quality and reasonably priced. We used the hotel transfer service to get into the city, which we found very useful. There are other public transport options available within walking distance of the hotel. Having read the other reviews of this place, I would agree that it is a distance out of the city, but it is easily commutable and actually it is nice being out of the busy city. The room size and facilities are good, indeed they could do with some updating, but it was all very clean and the room was made up every day when we returned from sightseeing.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank RoyalButler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDTeam, GEC at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear RoyalButler89,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, it is so pleasant to hear how positively we met your expectations by granting you such a great experience. This is something our team takes great pride in as we value so much your feedback and should you return to visit Venice we would be delighted to welcoming you again

Sincerely
Elisa N.
GEC
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

We travelled as a couple for a few days break in Venice.
Few tips:
Bus number 5 from Marco Polo Airport takes you directly to Venice Bus Station, then take Bus number 6 and alight at Pescapola and Hotel is 10 minutes walk. This is assuredly cheaper than taxis, 15 euros return each. Plus we spent 40 euros each on 72 hour Vaporetto passes, saved a fortune as we used the water buses a lot to get around.
Stay away from the touristy areas as prices rise incredibly, eating and drinking on the outskirts is a lot cheaper. There is a lovely pasta and pizza restaurant 5 mins walk from hotel ' Casselle' lovely food.
Alas we didn't eat in the Hotel, but staff are courteous and the rooms are spacious and well looked after. Would definitely return on a second visit.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDTeam, Front Office at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear Chris L,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, it is so pleasant to hear how positively we met your expectations by granting you such a great experience. We'd like to thank you also for your valuable tips as taking a cue from the experiences of other travelers helps customers to get the most out of their stay. With the hope that your recent experience can be a valid reason to keep choosing our brand and visit us again in the near future

Yours sincerely
Elisa N.
Front Office Dept.
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Holiday Inn is s a quite hotel but it is very far from the city and from the public transportation and shuttle services is very limited I feel that I accommodate at the no place.
no services available around as well

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Ramy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDTeam, Front Office Dept. at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Dear Ramy H,

Thank you very much for choosing Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera and for commending your previous stay on Tripadvisor, we are sorry to learn your dissatisfaction with our position. We are aware of not being located in the central town but there are several options you can consider to reach Venice, as also listed on our website, and our team is committed to ensuring that customers we welcome every day feel at ease, like at home, and get the most out of their experience. We regret that none of these met your needs. Unfortunately the hotel cannot be moved elsewhere and we hope that your recent experience will not deter you from choosing us again in occasion of your next trip to Venice

Yours sincerely
Elisa N.
Front Office Dept.
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Stayed here for one night. The room was clean but dated in style and looked tired. It is not that close to Venice Island compared to other hotels. The staff were helpful during my stay. The area that the hotel is located in is not the best.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDTeam, Front Office Dept. at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear paul a,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are truly sorry to hear of your disappointment and for any inconvenience you may have had during your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We unfortunately are not located inside Venice island as mentioned also on our website, we suggest for next occasions to contact the hotel directly. As a matter of fact our reception team always keeps in mind to provide all our customers with all the informations and assistance you need to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Anyway, rest assured that your feedback will be shared with the management team to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. . Should your travels bring you back to the area, we would love nothing more than to welcome you back and deliver an experience you'll be sure to remember

Yours sincerely
Elisa N.
Front Office Dept.
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews