We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Corallo(Imperia)
USD 137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 128
USD 124
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 86
Booking.com
View Deal
Albergo Nella(Imperia)
USD 69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 80
Booking.com
View Deal
Albergo Costa(Imperia)
USD 80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 94
Booking.com
View Deal
Arcadia Marina(Imperia)(Great Value!)
USD 80
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Internet
USD 80
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
70
14
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
14
6
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2015

The B&B is about 15 minutes driving down a windy road from the city of Imperia where all the action (beach, restaurants, grocery shopping) is. Getting our tiny rental car up the hilly entrance turned out to be quite an adventure. Be sure to turn off the airconditioning when you need a couple of extra horsepower!

Upon arrival Pamela took the time to show us around and explain al the things to do in the area. Very clean apartment, loads of privacy and the property is very spacious which creates a tranquil atmosphere of pure relaxtion.

The breakfast is a treat with an amazing view. The ladies preparing the breakfast are the greatest, very friendly and the food is delicious. Only suggestion would be to offer a bit more variation, especially for the non-meat eaters.

Note that although there is a kitchenette, including a fridge and stove, it doesn't cater for preparing any food. There are no pans or any cooking utensils.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at Relais San Damian for 3 nights in August and would thoroughly recommend this charming B&B to anyone who wants to get away from the noise and stress of the world; to savour some stunning Ligurian mountain views and just relax in peaceful surroundings. Our split-level room was spacious and cool. The infinity pool provides a welcome, cooling dip when the sun gets too hot. Roberto, the owner, made us feel extremely welcome and gave us some great tips about local restaurants. Please see out review on TripAdvisor for Trattoria della Etta - it was wonderful. All-in-all, a great place to spend a relaxing few nights. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The smell of the flowers and trees, the color of the bouganvilla and the pool, the number of cakes at breakfast, the spaciousness of our room, the air of calm and peace- this is my time at San Damian. One can just gaze out to sea sitting at a table with Frette tablecloth sipping a fine wine under the palm tree and contemplate where to go next. We swam in the sea, visited Monte Carlo and dined by the yachts having fresh shrimp. Our host, Pamela, is most charming- she knew it was my birthday and when I went for breakfast- there was a cake, large bouquet of flowers and a birthday candle. When we arrived we found a beautiful plate of sandwiches and wine waiting for us. It is truly a jewel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peacethroughtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed for five nights on a short holiday in Italy and had an excellent stay. We arrived without a car via Nice. For those who'd like to know, one bus to Nice Gare de Ville, one train to Ventimiglia, one train to Imperia Porto Maurizo and then a taxi to the hotel which is on the SP39 road to Vasia.

Our hosts (Pamela & Roberto) were very welcoming and happy to see us. Although they were a little surprised at our lack of transportation they were full of advice for which buses we could take and taxis to order. In the end we could take a bus at 14:20 down to Imperia and catch one back at 18:50 from Imperia Oneglia both of which were easy to catch! Also the walk to the nearby village of Dolcedo was absolutely amazing in terms of its views and the sights you pass as you walk. If you walk back in the night then prepare to be delighted by the night being lit by firebugs and the little lights in the many villages below. Also the little village which lines Via S.Michelle looks positively atmospheric at night.

The hotel itself was a small but gorgeous affair with very large and airy rooms complete with a raised bedroom area, living room (with fire), kitchinette (I'll cover this later) and toilet/shower. It also had a private garden area outside. The pool area with infinity pool commanded epic views of the valley below but is not heated. If you like a cool pool (like I do) then you'll be delighted.

The hotel offers breakfast only but the breakfast is also pretty epic with lots of meats, fruit and cakes on offer to satisfy any breakfast fan. Also it seems to last until 11-11:30 so time for that relaxing lie in! ;-)

The place also has lots of lovely sunbeds and seats overlooking the valley and providing a comfortable place for people to relax and soak in the views.

The location as you may imagine is hilly and if you're driving, please be advised that the road up to the hotel from Imperia is pretty steep and can be difficult to drive in the dark. The bus driver seemed to take it in his stride and drove like the mental child of Colin McRae and Richard Burns around most of the hilly roads in the valley! It is this hilly location however which provide the hotel with peace and quiet as well as those incredible views.

And now the nit picks. This is an excellent hotel but there are a couple of things I'd need to point out.

Firstly the kitchen. Our room (number one) had a large kitchen area with a four ring hob and a large fridge with ice box. Also consider that the hotel only offers breakfast and basic food during the day such as salads. Despite all of this however there are no extra utensils such as kitchen knives or saucepans for example. This severely curtails one's ability to cook your own meals if you have neither the ability or the motivation to go out for dinner in the evenings. The ability to cook your own meals would encourage people to enjoy those spectacular views. It was rather baffling as to why provide such a large gas hob and nothing else. In our view if you don't want people to cook then just provide just a kettle and nothing else.

Also another issue: no milk. We're British and whilst we understand that Brits aren't the number one visiting nation to Relais San Damian we *love* milk with our tea. Thus it was simply cruel to provide such a spread of gorgeous teas in the room, the ability to brew tea but no milk to make it complete! Even little those little tubs of coffee creamer would be great!

Finally, we'd love to see more information in English. There was a well researched information board in the hotel but mostly in French, German and Italian which was disappointing as it seemed people of other nationalities were getting information about the area that english speakers weren't. We'd love to see this place marketed more in the America, Canada and the UK which would be a huge market for the hotel and to enable this the hotel needs to cater more for the Anglo-Saxon market!

Finally if you're young or able and happy to walk and use the bus then it is perfectly possible to have an immensely enjoyable time at Relais San Damian. As I mentioned, the walk to Dolcedo is absolutely brilliant so why not provide a nice mapped route for visitors? Also it looks as though there are other walking route through out the valley. We were happy to "road test" as it were the links to Imperia and walking link to and from Dolcedo and hope our feedback will be given to families and couples visiting who also intend to leave the car in the car park and strike out on their own :)

The above nit picks are strictly nit picks. We loved Relais San Damian and hope to visit once more!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are absolutely excellent!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prestwickuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandamian-slowliving, Proprietario at Relais San Damian, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Peter and Alex,

we are very pleased that you had great days here in San Damian and that you found the time to write about us! Liguria is a wonderful region, the sea and the hills offer beautiful sceneries and walks, though often steep!
Our House was originally established as a farmhouse; then, at the beginning of the 90's we made a small country hotel out of it. Our rooms were originally individual apartments, this is the reason why they are very spacious. Of course we kept the little corner of the kitchenette ( as Roberto says , you never know !......) and as we explain on the pages of our website, they are not equipped for cooking but just to prepare hot water for tea and for cold meals.The rooms are provided with a minibar in the fridge; our guests of course can use the fridge to storage their own food in case they eat cold meals in the room.Each room has a small picnic basket with plates, knifes and forkes for cold meals ( salads or cheese plates for exp.).
We offer rooms with a hotel service and not selfcatering apartments, this should be quite clear from the web! This is the reason why the kitchenettes are not equipped for cooking!
As you can see on the web, however, we have an apartment, the apartment that we rent weekly as "Terrace Suite Apartment" with a kitchen fully equipped for cooking.
As for the milk I'm sorry you did not come to the bar where we have all day someone to fulfill your wishes !! We would have given you fresh milk!
Unfortunately this year the temperatures were colder than usual ( as in all Europe!), and the pool was a little cool .....but now the mild climate that distinguishes our region is back !
We look forward to your next visit and send our best wishes,
tanti cari saluti,
Pamela and Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here for one night on a driving holiday to Italy. What a find. (Actually has it's issues on directions, but worth a bit of a detour and it pays to really study their directions carefully). The location is on a hill looking over the valley and sea with great views and very peaceful. They have a beautiful garden and pool and the breakfast was execllent. The owners are friendly and helpful.
The rooms we had (we travelled with friends) were huge and have their own kitchen area, dining table and sofas as well as the compulsory en suite shower room. There is plenty of outside seating away from the pool.
San Damien does not have a restaurant but when we arrived the owners had left us a substancial snack which was lovely. If you have had a good lunch this would probably be enough but if you are relying on an evening meal you need to drive back to Imperia which coming back along narrow lanes in the dark could be a bit nerve wracking. We had not eaten sufficently at lunch so drove back to Imperia and went to the supermarket and bought salad, bread etc which we were able to prepare in our rooms. Although there is a kitchen there is no oven and only a hob to heat the kettle and no pans to cook with and they do state only cold food to be consumed. If I have a slight critism it would be that due to the location and providing a more than adequate areas to eat in/at, at San damien there is a shortge of crockery and glasses provided. Yes we would certainly return and would like to stay longer.

Room Tip: The whole place is quiet!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Medstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews