We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime serenity set in a Mediterranean garden”
Review of Relais San Damian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais San Damian
Ranked #4 of 22 Imperia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The smell of the flowers and trees, the color of the bouganvilla and the pool, the number of cakes at breakfast, the spaciousness of our room, the air of calm and peace- this is my time at San Damian. One can just gaze out to sea sitting at a table with Frette tablecloth sipping a fine wine under the palm tree and contemplate where to go next. We swam in the sea, visited Monte Carlo and dined by the yachts having fresh shrimp. Our host, Pamela, is most charming- she knew it was my birthday and when I went for breakfast- there was a cake, large bouquet of flowers and a birthday candle. When we arrived we found a beautiful plate of sandwiches and wine waiting for us. It is truly a jewel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peacethroughtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed for five nights on a short holiday in Italy and had an excellent stay. We arrived without a car via Nice. For those who'd like to know, one bus to Nice Gare de Ville, one train to Ventimiglia, one train to Imperia Porto Maurizo and then a taxi to the hotel which is on the SP39 road to Vasia.

Our hosts (Pamela & Roberto) were very welcoming and happy to see us. Although they were a little surprised at our lack of transportation they were full of advice for which buses we could take and taxis to order. In the end we could take a bus at 14:20 down to Imperia and catch one back at 18:50 from Imperia Oneglia both of which were easy to catch! Also the walk to the nearby village of Dolcedo was absolutely amazing in terms of its views and the sights you pass as you walk. If you walk back in the night then prepare to be delighted by the night being lit by firebugs and the little lights in the many villages below. Also the little village which lines Via S.Michelle looks positively atmospheric at night.

The hotel itself was a small but gorgeous affair with very large and airy rooms complete with a raised bedroom area, living room (with fire), kitchinette (I'll cover this later) and toilet/shower. It also had a private garden area outside. The pool area with infinity pool commanded epic views of the valley below but is not heated. If you like a cool pool (like I do) then you'll be delighted.

The hotel offers breakfast only but the breakfast is also pretty epic with lots of meats, fruit and cakes on offer to satisfy any breakfast fan. Also it seems to last until 11-11:30 so time for that relaxing lie in! ;-)

The place also has lots of lovely sunbeds and seats overlooking the valley and providing a comfortable place for people to relax and soak in the views.

The location as you may imagine is hilly and if you're driving, please be advised that the road up to the hotel from Imperia is pretty steep and can be difficult to drive in the dark. The bus driver seemed to take it in his stride and drove like the mental child of Colin McRae and Richard Burns around most of the hilly roads in the valley! It is this hilly location however which provide the hotel with peace and quiet as well as those incredible views.

And now the nit picks. This is an excellent hotel but there are a couple of things I'd need to point out.

Firstly the kitchen. Our room (number one) had a large kitchen area with a four ring hob and a large fridge with ice box. Also consider that the hotel only offers breakfast and basic food during the day such as salads. Despite all of this however there are no extra utensils such as kitchen knives or saucepans for example. This severely curtails one's ability to cook your own meals if you have neither the ability or the motivation to go out for dinner in the evenings. The ability to cook your own meals would encourage people to enjoy those spectacular views. It was rather baffling as to why provide such a large gas hob and nothing else. In our view if you don't want people to cook then just provide just a kettle and nothing else.

Also another issue: no milk. We're British and whilst we understand that Brits aren't the number one visiting nation to Relais San Damian we *love* milk with our tea. Thus it was simply cruel to provide such a spread of gorgeous teas in the room, the ability to brew tea but no milk to make it complete! Even little those little tubs of coffee creamer would be great!

Finally, we'd love to see more information in English. There was a well researched information board in the hotel but mostly in French, German and Italian which was disappointing as it seemed people of other nationalities were getting information about the area that english speakers weren't. We'd love to see this place marketed more in the America, Canada and the UK which would be a huge market for the hotel and to enable this the hotel needs to cater more for the Anglo-Saxon market!

Finally if you're young or able and happy to walk and use the bus then it is perfectly possible to have an immensely enjoyable time at Relais San Damian. As I mentioned, the walk to Dolcedo is absolutely brilliant so why not provide a nice mapped route for visitors? Also it looks as though there are other walking route through out the valley. We were happy to "road test" as it were the links to Imperia and walking link to and from Dolcedo and hope our feedback will be given to families and couples visiting who also intend to leave the car in the car park and strike out on their own :)

The above nit picks are strictly nit picks. We loved Relais San Damian and hope to visit once more!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are absolutely excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prestwickuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandamian-slowliving, Proprietario at Relais San Damian, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Peter and Alex,

we are very pleased that you had great days here in San Damian and that you found the time to write about us! Liguria is a wonderful region, the sea and the hills offer beautiful sceneries and walks, though often steep!
Our House was originally established as a farmhouse; then, at the beginning of the 90's we made a small country hotel out of it. Our rooms were originally individual apartments, this is the reason why they are very spacious. Of course we kept the little corner of the kitchenette ( as Roberto says , you never know !......) and as we explain on the pages of our website, they are not equipped for cooking but just to prepare hot water for tea and for cold meals.The rooms are provided with a minibar in the fridge; our guests of course can use the fridge to storage their own food in case they eat cold meals in the room.Each room has a small picnic basket with plates, knifes and forkes for cold meals ( salads or cheese plates for exp.).
We offer rooms with a hotel service and not selfcatering apartments, this should be quite clear from the web! This is the reason why the kitchenettes are not equipped for cooking!
As you can see on the web, however, we have an apartment, the apartment that we rent weekly as "Terrace Suite Apartment" with a kitchen fully equipped for cooking.
As for the milk I'm sorry you did not come to the bar where we have all day someone to fulfill your wishes !! We would have given you fresh milk!
Unfortunately this year the temperatures were colder than usual ( as in all Europe!), and the pool was a little cool .....but now the mild climate that distinguishes our region is back !
We look forward to your next visit and send our best wishes,
tanti cari saluti,
Pamela and Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here for one night on a driving holiday to Italy. What a find. (Actually has it's issues on directions, but worth a bit of a detour and it pays to really study their directions carefully). The location is on a hill looking over the valley and sea with great views and very peaceful. They have a beautiful garden and pool and the breakfast was execllent. The owners are friendly and helpful.
The rooms we had (we travelled with friends) were huge and have their own kitchen area, dining table and sofas as well as the compulsory en suite shower room. There is plenty of outside seating away from the pool.
San Damien does not have a restaurant but when we arrived the owners had left us a substancial snack which was lovely. If you have had a good lunch this would probably be enough but if you are relying on an evening meal you need to drive back to Imperia which coming back along narrow lanes in the dark could be a bit nerve wracking. We had not eaten sufficently at lunch so drove back to Imperia and went to the supermarket and bought salad, bread etc which we were able to prepare in our rooms. Although there is a kitchen there is no oven and only a hob to heat the kettle and no pans to cook with and they do state only cold food to be consumed. If I have a slight critism it would be that due to the location and providing a more than adequate areas to eat in/at, at San damien there is a shortge of crockery and glasses provided. Yes we would certainly return and would like to stay longer.

Room Tip: The whole place is quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Medstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Relais San Damian is a beautiful agriturismo in the hills overlooking Imperia. Our room was huge & tastefully furnished, with a mezzanine bedroom, large bathroom (no bath), a large private terrace with outdoor furniture & fab views, a handy fridge and even a four-ring hob. Really outstanding accommodation. The breakfast, as everyone has said, is exceptionally good, one of the best I've ever had in Italy. Owners & staff very warm, friendly and efficient. Loved it. The only thing to note is that, because the agriturismo doesn't do evening meals, you always have to drive somewhere to get dinner. The owners' recommendations for restaurants were all very good. San Damian is about a 20 min drive into Imperia (which is a great working city by the way, with lovely centro storico and working port area of Oneglia with good Saturday market).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettyBlueCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We have been several tmes to this fabulous and tranquil place off the busy riviera track. Family owned and run with a lovely couple who keep the place tidy and always do their utmost to help our every wish. Breakfast al fresco with a nice view of Imperia and the sea is highly recommended. Nice and clean rooms and several good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xyzzy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imperia hotels
3.1 km away
Villa Giada Resort
Villa Giada Resort
#1 of 23 in Imperia
412 reviews
6 km away
Rossini al Teatro
Rossini al Teatro
#2 of 14 in Imperia
356 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#3 of 14 in Imperia
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Albergo Nella
Albergo Nella
#10 of 14 in Imperia
38 reviews
6.6 km away
Kristina
Kristina
#9 of 14 in Imperia
77 reviews
0.6 km away
Agriturismo Benza
Agriturismo Benza
#7 of 23 in Imperia
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais San Damian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais San Damian

Address: Strada Vasia 47, 18100, Imperia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Imperia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Imperia
Price Range: $206 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais San Damian 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine to be on the deck of a ship, able to dominate the sea… but still, deepened in the green of a magic forest… Relais San Damian is hidden among the hills of Liguria’s countryside. You have to move slowly to search and discover this discrete oasis, which is wholly dedicated to travellers, aiming for silence and total relax.Light and fresh air outside, warm and welcoming inside, these are the spacious suites of San Damian, tucked away under a vaulted porch, facing the garden, or with their own private terrace. All designed and decorated tastefully, with antique furniture, a fireplace for autumn and winter evenings, and attention for the smallest details.Bedrooms as protected under ancient brick arcades, or on a separate level with pine parquet floors. Every small detail meant to make guests feel safe and protected, like at home, but free as it should be on a holiday. Marble, wood, cotto, handcrafted linen all materials used are precious yet entirely natural, creating a charming atmosphere and allowing guests lingering thoughts of times back then... when things were less hectic and life more relaxed. Breakfast, served on the veranda facing the pool, is the first caress of a new and sunny day, tasting the home made specialities enjoying life just one bit more.You will be awakened by the aroma of fresh brewed coffee and cakes from the oven. A rich breakfast buffet prepared in the veranda by the swimmingpool will help you start a wonderfull day. Fresh fruit and home made jams to go on the morning rolls, a choice of cheeses, salami, hams and eggs .You may have a day of leisure just choosing to relax with a book of our library while sitting under tha palms, or, by taking a refreshing dip in our pool.Or perhaps seeking out beaches, coastal bike paths or mountains, refreshing hikes in the woods or medieval villages nestled on the slopes with towers, historical dwellings and old churches. Don't forget to wear comfortable walking shoes!If you need to work on your laptop, we have a wifi connection by the pool and in the veranda.For dinner we will then recommend the best hostarias to learn about old-fashioned cooking with garden vegetables and fresh cought fish so to appreciate the semplicity of ligurian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Relais San Damian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing