We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B Resort in Imperia Italy”
Review of Relais San Damian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais San Damian
Ranked #4 of 22 Imperia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I recently had the great pleasure of visiting the wonderful San Damian resort in Imperia Italy. The B&B is located in the hills overlooking Imperia in a quaint village. The rooms overlook the town of Imperia as well as the Mediterranean Sea. The view at night is as spectacular as it is during the day. I could see the twinkling lights of the city at night. Imperia is a wonderful coastal city with lots of sightseeing available. The hosts Roberto Gardini & Pamela Kranz were gracious and charming. The pool is at the edge of the property and so has excellent views as well. A buffet breakfast was served each morning. An assortment of torts, breads, pastries, local meats, fresh eggs and other food items were served each morning. Comfortable chaises were located so guests could sit and enjoy the incredible view. The room was very comfortable and furnished with lovely pottery from the area. The B&B is located just a short drive from the Nice airport off of the highway running from Nice to Genoa. The beautiful plantings and flowers added to the charm. I will definitely return to this exquisite place.

Room Tip: The first floor suites are highly desirable. It is a small place so I imagine all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler29154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon and it was just what we needed. It was so relaxing and we both began to unwind as soon as we arrived.

This small hotel has the most stunning views, a fabulous pool and the service was superb. Breakfast was excellent. Its worth spending an evening in Oneglia - a 10 minute drive from Relais san damian - lovely harbour with superb bars and restaurants.

We also went to San Remo for the evening (plenty of shops, bars and restaurants). Go to Dolcedo (5 minutes drive) and try to pizza restaurant. Delicious! I would recommend this place to anyone looking to get away from it all

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We stayed at San Damian in September - just after the main vacation high season. We really liked this intimate, calm and peaceful haven overlooking the Med. The owners were very welcoming and delightful - they gladly spent the time to give us restaurant recommendations and intersting local information. We will go back there one day and have recommended it to many people

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WashingtonTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We stayed in one of the Garden Suites which was very roomy with a kichenette and nice bathroom. The bed was on a mezzanine level, just had to watch out for your head at times! It was a very nice space, decorated very simply. We enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere, the lovely garden with the aroma of lemon blossoms and breakfast by the pool. Home made cakes at breakfast were a real treat, but the coffee left room for improvement! There is a lovely infinity pool overlooking the valley and plenty of space to lounge around in the nice weather. Perhaps our only gripe was that once outside the valley is not as rural as we hoped it would be, as you can hear the traffic on the roads below. We were not crazy about Imperia town and missed out on the whale watching trip we hoped to take - they weren't sailing on Saturday! But we had great recommendations for dinner and particularly enjoyed dinners in the various charming villages dotted around in the valley. We really like L'Anima Golosa in Dolcedo. Also, a visit to Bussana would be recommended, it's quite a special place!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahB-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

We just came back from a weekend at the Relais San Damian, absolutely fantastic, extreamly relaxing quite and peaceful.
The owner Roberto is a lovely person and ready to help whenever necessary.
Our room was the garden suite lovely and spacious if only one minor problem the bed is on the top floor which is extreamly low.
My husband had to keep bended so as not to hit his head.
Breakfast was super every kind of thing possible.
The pool is absolutely lovely.
Its a bout a 15 min trip into town but worth it in the evening to go for drinks and then on to one of the charateristic restaurants.

The only thing I would suggest is to put on the gps and follow the explainations from the website on how to get there.

I would definitely return !!!

Stayed: June 2008
3  Thank ElaineCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imperia hotels
3.1 km away
Villa Giada Resort
Villa Giada Resort
#1 of 23 in Imperia
411 reviews
6 km away
Rossini al Teatro
Rossini al Teatro
#2 of 14 in Imperia
354 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#3 of 14 in Imperia
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Albergo Nella
Albergo Nella
#10 of 14 in Imperia
38 reviews
6.6 km away
Kristina
Kristina
#9 of 14 in Imperia
77 reviews
4.9 km away
Il Filo di Arianna B&B
Il Filo di Arianna B&B
#7 of 22 in Imperia
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais San Damian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais San Damian

Address: Strada Vasia 47, 18100, Imperia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Imperia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Imperia
Price Range: $208 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais San Damian 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine to be on the deck of a ship, able to dominate the sea… but still, deepened in the green of a magic forest… Relais San Damian is hidden among the hills of Liguria’s countryside. You have to move slowly to search and discover this discrete oasis, which is wholly dedicated to travellers, aiming for silence and total relax.Light and fresh air outside, warm and welcoming inside, these are the spacious suites of San Damian, tucked away under a vaulted porch, facing the garden, or with their own private terrace. All designed and decorated tastefully, with antique furniture, a fireplace for autumn and winter evenings, and attention for the smallest details.Bedrooms as protected under ancient brick arcades, or on a separate level with pine parquet floors. Every small detail meant to make guests feel safe and protected, like at home, but free as it should be on a holiday. Marble, wood, cotto, handcrafted linen all materials used are precious yet entirely natural, creating a charming atmosphere and allowing guests lingering thoughts of times back then... when things were less hectic and life more relaxed. Breakfast, served on the veranda facing the pool, is the first caress of a new and sunny day, tasting the home made specialities enjoying life just one bit more.You will be awakened by the aroma of fresh brewed coffee and cakes from the oven. A rich breakfast buffet prepared in the veranda by the swimmingpool will help you start a wonderfull day. Fresh fruit and home made jams to go on the morning rolls, a choice of cheeses, salami, hams and eggs .You may have a day of leisure just choosing to relax with a book of our library while sitting under tha palms, or, by taking a refreshing dip in our pool.Or perhaps seeking out beaches, coastal bike paths or mountains, refreshing hikes in the woods or medieval villages nestled on the slopes with towers, historical dwellings and old churches. Don't forget to wear comfortable walking shoes!If you need to work on your laptop, we have a wifi connection by the pool and in the veranda.For dinner we will then recommend the best hostarias to learn about old-fashioned cooking with garden vegetables and fresh cought fish so to appreciate the semplicity of ligurian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Relais San Damian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing