We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, very good food and atmosphere”

Osteria Callegherie
Ranked #2 of 212 Restaurants in Imola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 43 - USD 67
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is located in the historic center of Imola and is located across the street of the same name, which formerly housed the workshops of the tanner, from the Latin 'callegarius'. The modern furniture, sober and elegant, enriched by statues Florentine terracotta and illuminated by soft lighting creates a warm and welcoming environment, edited by Arch. Franco Rosignolo that has created a twin in New York. To welcome you, Leonardo and Luke, while Antonio and Marco serves creative dishes in the kitchen and processed. Interesting selection of wines and spirits.
Reviewed 31 December 2015

The restaurant is situated in a very quiet street with nothing to give away the great experience that awaits inside. You're greeted at the door with a smile and very courteous staff. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxing, no annoying music or loud staff and the lighting is perfect.

The food was exactly what we expected based on the TripAdvisor reviews ( the reason why we chose the location in the first place ) the fish tasted fresh and all servings were delicious, filling and fairly priced. We weren't sure on the wine and the one we were after wasn't served by glass but only by bottle which wasn't a massive issue as the friendly and knowledgeable staff quickly recommended something based on our requests.

The staff seemed courteous and knowledgeable, always maintaining eye contact, a subtle smile, constantly careful at giving you just enough space not to listen into your conversation but not too much to become invisible.

Would definitely recommend and will probably come back on our next trip to Italy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Average J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM63, Proprietario at Osteria Callegherie, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2015
Google Translation

Davvero grazie per aver lasciato il suo commento. Sono contento che si sia trovata bene da noi e mi auguro ci sia una prossima occasione di rivederla. Magari avrò un bianco alsaziano da poterle servire al bicchiere! Buona permanenza in Italia e ... Auguri di uno strepitoso 2016 !!! leonardo mantovani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2015

We were driving around hungry, used trip adviser, got a great find.
The service was excellent and the food was really great. If in Imola, this is the place!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM63, Proprietario at Osteria Callegherie, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2015

Tank you very much for your review and we were very pleased to have you here.
Best regards leonardo mantovani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Nice and discreet located. Quite small. Top of the art owner/Maitre D’ . Friendly but upper class atmosphere. Quite interesting cooking. A special note for Fiori di Zucchine prepared differently from the one we had few years ago in the Jewish Quarter of Rome. Started with fried baby squids excellent done. Also the home made pasta with prosciutto was very good. I’ll suggest to start with a bite of the excellent home made bread and few drops of the local olive oil. For me was a surprise to find such a robust taste and balanced acidity so farther north. Maybe a bit less perfumed than the southern oils, but, again good touch in the mouth. Portions a bit small. Price decent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicolae I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM63, Proprietario at Osteria Callegherie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Dear sir
First of all let me thank you very much for your review on trip Advisor, i am very happy you appreciated our restaurant.
As regard your concern about the portion size and price i would like you to note that you were five people in your table and shared two appetizers, you only ate the "TORTELLI",off course they might look small but in fact they are not because they are meant to be for one person.
However i hope to see you again in Imola.
Best regards
Leonardo Mantovani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I loved my experience at Ostera Callegherie. I was on my first trip to Imola, and I decided to look for restaurants on tripadvisor for lunch one day. As it was the closest in terms of walking distance to my hotel, decided to take my mother there to try it out. We weren't disappointed. The restaurant looks and feels very lux, which immediately made me wonder about the price point. But the food was reasonably priced, especially for the quality we got. We tried to grilled squid to start, which was fantastic, and then had the duck risotto and the scallops for our mains. Both were very, very good, if lacking a little oomph that would have made them perfect. Best of all was the service; our waiters were prompt, attentive, and incredibly friendly, and the manager - perhaps the owner? - stopped by our table for a little chat. His command of English was impeccable, and he emphasised that only the freshest ingredients were used in the restaurant. That freshness and that passion both come through in the food, and make for a wonderful experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank epicflailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM63, Proprietario at Osteria Callegherie, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review. I am very glad you have found us as well and I've enjoyed the food and the service.
It was a pleasure talking with you because even the wife of the chef Antonio (now in Hong Kong) is from  Singapore and I have learned about your island from his stories!
I would like to visit it soon.
I hope to see you again in Imola.
Arrivederci, leonardo mantovani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We ate here as part of a tour with a chef from our town. Everything about the meal and overall visit were perfect. The restaurant is stunning. Very clean lines and lighting. Feels like a very expensive New York restaurant, but very comfortable and inviting. I just kept looking around the room admiring how well it looked. As others have mentioned, Leonardo is the perfect host. He just made you feel welcome, and took such pride ensuring everything went well. The food was absolutely fabulous. We had a variety of different dishes, all of which were wonderfully presented. Everything from the Pumpkin soup appetizer to the roast pork tenderloin were excellent. During our tour of Italy we ate at some of the top restaurants in the area, including the #3 ranked in the world. This restaurant was one of the group's favorites of all that we visited due to its charm, excellent food, and welcoming host. Search it out. You will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kazootripper410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM63, Proprietario at Osteria Callegherie, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review.
I'm really happy that you and your group enjoyed staying with us.
John is a dear friend of mine and i wanted to look good also because you are all lovers and cooks across the ocean! I love american people !
Even Alessandro (the chef) was very happy reading yours words,
I hope to see you soon ... maybe in Kalamazoo!
Thank's again for taking your time to describe our work ... see you soon!
leonardo mantovani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Callegherie also viewed

Imola, Province of Bologna
Imola, Province of Bologna
 
Imola, Province of Bologna
Imola, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Osteria Callegherie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing